We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/23
Priceline
eDreams$159
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
11
20
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
20
13
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 52 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

5 minutes walks from Kinukawa onsen station, 10 minutes away from Edo Wonderland. Hotel staffs are very nice and helpful even they don't speak English. Didn't have time to experience outdoor onsen but private onsen is great. Also love both breakfast and dinner for Japanese set, totally value experience to try original Nikko food made from tofu. Excellent service from restaurant staffs.Good place to take you away from the clutter in the city. Overall it was very good to stay here, great river view and peaceful. Totally love it!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 8, 2015

This hotel is about 300m from Kinugawa Onsen Station and the famous Kinu-Tateiwa Otsuribashi bridge is about 500m south along the river. The hotel's interior was tasteful and well maintained. We booked the cottage with twin beds as the price was a steal. The only con is that there are a few small flights of stairs to walk from the hotel lobby/onsens to the cottage. A pleasant walk unless you have lots of luggage.

Pros:
1. Room: Well-maintained with comfy Twin beds, and with attached bathroom. The view overlooking Kinugawa River was fantastic.
2 Onsens: Enjoyed the onsen experience thoroughly after ditching the initial reservations and telling myself "when in Rome, do as the Romans do". Anyway, the users in the onsen basically just mind their own business. There are 2 onsen rooms (gender segregated, with gender switching at different intervals). It was not crowded during my stay there (only about 2 to 3 of us in there) I tried one of them and it came with 3 different pools (1 large indoor and 2 smaller outdoors). My favourite was the outdoor pool which was built with rocks to give it a natural setting. The washing and drying areas are well equipped with a good range of liquid bath ,shampoos (love the "horse oil" shampoo which felt really good for my dry hair), moisturizers, even hair and scalp tonics!

Cons:
1. a few small flight of stairs from lobby to the cottage
2. wifi is only available at the lobby

We did not eat at the hotel. Overall it was a very good stay and great value for money.

Cons: Staff speaks limited English but we get by and the use of google-translate app helps!

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is not located in Nikko city. It's located in the Kinugawa onsen town that away from Nikko around 30 minutes by train.
The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Kinugawa onsen station.

Lovely staff, wonderful onsen. Traditional Japanese room and adorable yukata made you feel very much in a typical Japanese ryokan despite the modern building.

The breakfast and dinner have to book in advance. You cannot decide after check-in.
So, we don't have the experience of the food of this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KritsanaP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had booked a 2nights stay at this hotel based on the reviews, however, it was a shockingly bad experience. My wife is japanese, and i have stayed at many hotels, ryokans in japan. This rates as one of the worst. This hotel had rave reviews, and a seemingly long history, but that is where it ends.

1) Check-in took a long time as there were many tour groups checking in. Apparently it is a popular hotel for tour groups. Hence, if you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay at a hotel. This is not it !

2) After i went to the room, the usual japanese hospitality of serving you tea whilst explaining the amenities of the hotel was carried out. The chair i sat on "zaisu" broke when i leaned back on it. What was going on ? Everything in the room was old and dated, and hinted of an old smell.

3) The bath in the room was another horror story. I was told that it would take some time for the hot water to come because the hotel was old....but after 2hrs of leaving the tap running...nothing came out but cold water.

4) Dinner - The food was cold and nothing fanciful. The worst thing is that they served you dinner in this big assembly hall. Makes you feel like you are eating in a school canteen. Me and my wife just left halfway through the meal.

5) Onzen - From the photos, i was expecting a nice onsen bath. But, like a i mentioned before...this hotel catered for tour groups...and the bath was packed...and dirty. My wife complained that there were those muscle sticky patches littered in the bath. How bad can it get ?

So, all in all, it was a terrible experience. We complained to the manager and managed to cancel the next night at the hotel and got a partial refund.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are many other better choices around.

I hope this helps!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Money54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 17, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews