We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Japanese Living”
Review of Nikko Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nikko Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty lodging in Nikko
HK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quintessential Japanese Living”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over Easter & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is an ideal size for two, is v uncluttered & simple - there was additional heating which made the rooms very warm & comfortable. I loved the small deep Japanese bath – great!

The kitchen was well equipped but we didn’t cook, we had beer & sushi delivered both nights which was divine!

The setup is great, help on demand when/if you needed it but really left to your own devices which was nice after a day out & about to just come back & chill. We even watched “Lost in Translation” on the ipad one night which was a tad surreal…

This part of the world is gorgeous with some lovely walks in close proximity to the house, the train is very convenient, literally a 2 minute walk....

Loved it & would definitely stay again – make sure you visit the noodle restaurant for Saba noodles & tempura – simply fabulous.

Room Tip: make sure you jump on a train from Tokyp that stops at the station (obvious!) - we got on one that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OB1Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The house is nicely designed and the local area is interesting. We had a rental car so it was easy to go to the store/restaurants etc. The noodle restaurant located close to Nikko inn is highly recommendable. I would have given the place 5 star if there had been a more secluded location with some views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nikko Inn is located right next to Shimo-goshiro station. It's a quick hop down the tracks to all the tourist spots you want to see, but away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.

The host was very amicable and even drove me to local restaurant to eat, and later to the station when it was time to part. Perhaps in the busy fall season this is not an option for all customers, but it is less chilly then, so less necessary.

The winter has its own charm in the Nikko area if you can handle the cold weather. it snowed while I traveled there, and it was very beautiful. Another advantage is that the area around the Tōshō-gū Shrine is not so busy during winter, so your travels can be more private and most restaurants are not full.

Nikko Inn does not have "rooms" but rather three modernized versions of traditional Japanese houses. The houses open space concept adapts to changes in weather and seasons very well. In the summer you can let the cool breeze in and bask in the shade, in the winter you can seal off all doors and curl up warmly in one room.

One trade-off of the open concept idea is that it (in the house I stayed in) lacks strong walls to lean on. So if you want to sit up lazily, for example to watch a movie, it can be a little uncomfortable (though watching a flicks is hopefully not your purpose in a place like this). In order to watch a video, I leaned against a stanchion/beam, but there was no room for more than one person to do that.

In your house you will have a kitchen, and the host offers a shuttle to a local grocery store if you want to get food to make some yourself. They also has some supplies on-hand. Please be sure to let the host know ahead of time if you would like this service!

Overall, my visit was very positive, and I would stay there again to avoid going to sleep in the tourist-trap area that will cost you twice as much for the same or less accommodations. Don't be afraid of the trains! They're easy to navigate!

Come to The Nikko Inn!

Nikko Inn,, 一個很傳統的日式建築的民宿,簡簡單單的設計,讓人很放鬆,忘記旅途的疲憊感。房子裡充滿塌塌米的香味、良好的採光設計讓陽光不吝速地分享冬日的溫暖。

生活用品是印良品的簡單。開放式的空間讓人以為這就是自己在日本的家,沒有陌生感,只有溫馨。民宿主人的日本式熱情,在我們還沒出站就感受到,他的工作室就在小火車站對面,所以火車一到他就會出來迎接。很sweet!

Nikko Inn在離日光大約四站的距離,雖然不在日光,但是是很值得注在那邊,享受小鄉村的寧靜、再到日光去逛逛。一種不一樣的旅行!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The house at Nikko Inn is by far my favourite place we stayed in Japan. As budget travellers, my boyfriend and I splashed out a little bit more than we usually would on accommodation, but not too much and it was worth every penny. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by the owner and offered green tea and sweets while we waited for the next train to Nikko.

Thee location is rural, and there is really only about 1 train every hour to Nikko so you have to take life a little slower and plan a bit more than we were used to having come from Tokyo where there is a train every ten seconds. I thought we might find the location a little inconvenient, but we didn't - it was idyllic. The only drawback of the 20 minute train journey was the 600yen it cost for a round trip, which was a bit steep, but as I said we are budget travellers (admittedly this is a little difficult in Japan).

After having a wander in Nikko we came back to Shimogoshiro to see our room. The owner explained that we had booked Sakura (the smallest house) but they had given us Ume (the biggest one) and is that ok? Was it? Of course it was, it was amazing. The house was beautifully simple, but massive. The owner had thought of everything. Particularly enjoyed the ipod with a choice of his tunes in it. Honestly, if you want a quiet getaway in a traditional Japanese setting this is for you. My boyfriend and I couldn't stop squealing over every new thing we discovered.

Our biggest concern was that we were going to be cold at night as there was snow on the ground but Japanese heaters are very efficient at heating a room up and it was actually very cosy at night in our futon.

Brilliant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinefstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

To put this into perspective, we're in our early 50s and backpacking around Japan. Partner has a back issue and if there's not enough support in a bed, he's in trouble. And we are in the middle of a heatwave, so it's hideously hot both night and day.

Positives - very clean and neat, great kitchen area which you need due its location, MP3 player and built-in speakers were most welcome, torch was useful, terrific loo, little fan, provided a cool drink & sweets on arrival, wireless internet (a lifesaver).
Negatives - location is not good if you're travelling on a JR Pass - you'll be forking out A$6pp each way to get into Nikko; poor lighting if you want to read or draw, close to train and crossing on one side, road on other - can be very noisy with bells at early hours; don't recommend a ryokan or minshuku if there's any suggestion of back or knee issues, was a feat of endurance to get through 3 nights there without air conditioning - we could hardly wait to leave; mosquitoes were bad and couldn't leave doors or windows open to get cooler night air (although two windows had screens); TV is a miniscule size (picture a large Kit Kat bar) so is actually useless, nowhere to sit the laptop so it's comfortable to type. Given reading has difficulties, no TV of value and probs typing on laptop, there's not a lot to do here at night. Nothing in the way of restaurants or shops. We'd buy stuff in Nikko and bring it back to eat in the sweltering heat.
Great experience for a ryokan but just be aware of the shortcomings. These things are expensive for what you get, so if owner provided some extras (little fold-up table and chairs?), it'd make it more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducktalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilimbergo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed only two nights at Nikko Inn and we really filled like at home.
A quiet and nice place where you can relax and experience the Japanese lifestyle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flevia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We arrived to Nikko after dark in a quiet train station the size of a Texas closet (or a NYC apartment, depending how you think about these things). From the platform, we could see Akira Kimura, the owner and designer of Nikko Inn, across the street in a small, two-room, traditional Japanese style building, which served as both his office and the "hotel lobby". He was standing in the doorway and as we crossed the gravel and dirt street, he greeted us and offered hot green tea and a place to sit at a small table. Looking around there was a can of spam, ramen noodles and boxes of tea, among other staple groceries for sale to cook in your room, as well as DVDs and books. His desk was constructed of map holders and a large slab of heavy wood. On finishing our tea, we followed him, flashlight in hand, through the overgrown, wild-looking flower gardens on a windy trail to the next road, crossed over the train tracks and walked up the road. After a bit we turned up a steep road and he showed us to our cottage, which he had rebuilt from a traditional Japanese home into a series of rooms in the traditional manner with modern conveniences. After walking through the locking, sliding etched glass doors and removing our shoes in the cement hallway, we walked up the step and through the sliding rice paper doors onto soft tatami mats. This was the bedroom. He showed us that the futons and pillows were in the closet, along with a small table and pillows to sit on. The room opened through another set of sliding paper and wood doors to the "living room" on one side, looking out past a small tree to the low mountains and furnished only with a hand sized TV built into the wall and outlets for your ipod, and on the other side to the kitchen, fully furnished with a deep sink, small stove, dishes, pans, linens and utensils, and the bathroom, complete of course, with bidee.

The whole town had built up the hill along the railroad track and so the whole town followed the train schedule, which ran from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. At the very least it made for a good alarm clock. Apart from the train, the Nikko Inn was peaceful and zenful with crisp mountain air.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimalAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 149 in Nikko
154 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
#7 of 149 in Nikko
284 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#5 of 149 in Nikko
308 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Kinugawa Onsen
Asaya
Asaya
#2 of 149 in Nikko
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Inn

Property: Nikko Inn
Address: 333 Koshiro, Nikko 321-1107, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty lodging in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikko Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NIKKO INN is traditional Japanese style accommodation located in a farm village. The buildings were designed by NIKKO DESIGN Ltd. Here you may find many small things to be very interesting things you might have overlooked in your daily life. While Japanese people love to import western culture, their own culture is magnificent and has always had a great influence on westerners. Nikko Inn would like to help Japanese people rediscover Japan and foreigners experience Japanese culture. Therefore, we want to provide many services to our guests with the keyword of "Hello, Japan". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nikko Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing