We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nikko Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nikko Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty lodging in Nikko
Unknown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nikko Inn is located right next to Shimo-goshiro station. It's a quick hop down the tracks to all the tourist spots you want to see, but away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.

The host was very amicable and even drove me to local restaurant to eat, and later to the station when it was time to part. Perhaps in the busy fall season this is not an option for all customers, but it is less chilly then, so less necessary.

The winter has its own charm in the Nikko area if you can handle the cold weather. it snowed while I traveled there, and it was very beautiful. Another advantage is that the area around the Tōshō-gū Shrine is not so busy during winter, so your travels can be more private and most restaurants are not full.

Nikko Inn does not have "rooms" but rather three modernized versions of traditional Japanese houses. The houses open space concept adapts to changes in weather and seasons very well. In the summer you can let the cool breeze in and bask in the shade, in the winter you can seal off all doors and curl up warmly in one room.

One trade-off of the open concept idea is that it (in the house I stayed in) lacks strong walls to lean on. So if you want to sit up lazily, for example to watch a movie, it can be a little uncomfortable (though watching a flicks is hopefully not your purpose in a place like this). In order to watch a video, I leaned against a stanchion/beam, but there was no room for more than one person to do that.

In your house you will have a kitchen, and the host offers a shuttle to a local grocery store if you want to get food to make some yourself. They also has some supplies on-hand. Please be sure to let the host know ahead of time if you would like this service!

Overall, my visit was very positive, and I would stay there again to avoid going to sleep in the tourist-trap area that will cost you twice as much for the same or less accommodations. Don't be afraid of the trains! They're easy to navigate!

Come to The Nikko Inn!

Nikko Inn,, 一個很傳統的日式建築的民宿,簡簡單單的設計,讓人很放鬆,忘記旅途的疲憊感。房子裡充滿塌塌米的香味、良好的採光設計讓陽光不吝速地分享冬日的溫暖。

生活用品是印良品的簡單。開放式的空間讓人以為這就是自己在日本的家,沒有陌生感,只有溫馨。民宿主人的日本式熱情,在我們還沒出站就感受到,他的工作室就在小火車站對面,所以火車一到他就會出來迎接。很sweet!

Nikko Inn在離日光大約四站的距離,雖然不在日光,但是是很值得注在那邊,享受小鄉村的寧靜、再到日光去逛逛。一種不一樣的旅行!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

The house at Nikko Inn is by far my favourite place we stayed in Japan. As budget travellers, my boyfriend and I splashed out a little bit more than we usually would on accommodation, but not too much and it was worth every penny. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by the owner and offered green tea and sweets while we waited for the next train to Nikko.

Thee location is rural, and there is really only about 1 train every hour to Nikko so you have to take life a little slower and plan a bit more than we were used to having come from Tokyo where there is a train every ten seconds. I thought we might find the location a little inconvenient, but we didn't - it was idyllic. The only drawback of the 20 minute train journey was the 600yen it cost for a round trip, which was a bit steep, but as I said we are budget travellers (admittedly this is a little difficult in Japan).

After having a wander in Nikko we came back to Shimogoshiro to see our room. The owner explained that we had booked Sakura (the smallest house) but they had given us Ume (the biggest one) and is that ok? Was it? Of course it was, it was amazing. The house was beautifully simple, but massive. The owner had thought of everything. Particularly enjoyed the ipod with a choice of his tunes in it. Honestly, if you want a quiet getaway in a traditional Japanese setting this is for you. My boyfriend and I couldn't stop squealing over every new thing we discovered.

Our biggest concern was that we were going to be cold at night as there was snow on the ground but Japanese heaters are very efficient at heating a room up and it was actually very cosy at night in our futon.

Brilliant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinefstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

To put this into perspective, we're in our early 50s and backpacking around Japan. Partner has a back issue and if there's not enough support in a bed, he's in trouble. And we are in the middle of a heatwave, so it's hideously hot both night and day.

Positives - very clean and neat, great kitchen area which you need due its location, MP3 player and built-in speakers were most welcome, torch was useful, terrific loo, little fan, provided a cool drink & sweets on arrival, wireless internet (a lifesaver).
Negatives - location is not good if you're travelling on a JR Pass - you'll be forking out A$6pp each way to get into Nikko; poor lighting if you want to read or draw, close to train and crossing on one side, road on other - can be very noisy with bells at early hours; don't recommend a ryokan or minshuku if there's any suggestion of back or knee issues, was a feat of endurance to get through 3 nights there without air conditioning - we could hardly wait to leave; mosquitoes were bad and couldn't leave doors or windows open to get cooler night air (although two windows had screens); TV is a miniscule size (picture a large Kit Kat bar) so is actually useless, nowhere to sit the laptop so it's comfortable to type. Given reading has difficulties, no TV of value and probs typing on laptop, there's not a lot to do here at night. Nothing in the way of restaurants or shops. We'd buy stuff in Nikko and bring it back to eat in the sweltering heat.
Great experience for a ryokan but just be aware of the shortcomings. These things are expensive for what you get, so if owner provided some extras (little fold-up table and chairs?), it'd make it more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducktalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilimbergo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed only two nights at Nikko Inn and we really filled like at home.
A quiet and nice place where you can relax and experience the Japanese lifestyle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flevia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We arrived to Nikko after dark in a quiet train station the size of a Texas closet (or a NYC apartment, depending how you think about these things). From the platform, we could see Akira Kimura, the owner and designer of Nikko Inn, across the street in a small, two-room, traditional Japanese style building, which served as both his office and the "hotel lobby". He was standing in the doorway and as we crossed the gravel and dirt street, he greeted us and offered hot green tea and a place to sit at a small table. Looking around there was a can of spam, ramen noodles and boxes of tea, among other staple groceries for sale to cook in your room, as well as DVDs and books. His desk was constructed of map holders and a large slab of heavy wood. On finishing our tea, we followed him, flashlight in hand, through the overgrown, wild-looking flower gardens on a windy trail to the next road, crossed over the train tracks and walked up the road. After a bit we turned up a steep road and he showed us to our cottage, which he had rebuilt from a traditional Japanese home into a series of rooms in the traditional manner with modern conveniences. After walking through the locking, sliding etched glass doors and removing our shoes in the cement hallway, we walked up the step and through the sliding rice paper doors onto soft tatami mats. This was the bedroom. He showed us that the futons and pillows were in the closet, along with a small table and pillows to sit on. The room opened through another set of sliding paper and wood doors to the "living room" on one side, looking out past a small tree to the low mountains and furnished only with a hand sized TV built into the wall and outlets for your ipod, and on the other side to the kitchen, fully furnished with a deep sink, small stove, dishes, pans, linens and utensils, and the bathroom, complete of course, with bidee.

The whole town had built up the hill along the railroad track and so the whole town followed the train schedule, which ran from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. At the very least it made for a good alarm clock. Apart from the train, the Nikko Inn was peaceful and zenful with crisp mountain air.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimalAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Nikko Inn is beautiful. You can tell that it's been fitted out by designers with a deep feeling for traditional japanese housing: every detail is aesthetic and thoughtful. It was a beautiful place for my wife, 3 year old daughter, and I to stay for three cold nights in early winter.

The cabin:
Nikko Inn comprises three cabins; we stayed in Sakura. Sakura cottage is made up of two tatami rooms, plus a kitchen and bathroom. The rooms are in the traditional japanese style: no furniture. At night you take your futon and bedding out of the closet and lay them on the floors; in the day you put the beds away and bring out the small tabels and zabuton floor cushions. Our daughter loved transforming the room into a giant family bed. You can slide back the interior paper-screen walls and the external walls to open the rooms to the fresh, clean air of the small forest across the road. The two rooms gave us ample space: we used the second room for our bags. Although it was cold when we were there, with the temperature below zero at night, the electric radiators in every room, the propane heater, and the thick bedding kept us warm and cosy. In fact, the bedding kept us warm all night, even once we turned off the propane heater. My wife found the futon a bit too thin. The owners provided us with an ipod full of music, which we could plug in to the cabin's sound system; you could plug your own ipod in instead if you want. They also provided us with a basket of basic cooking provisions: cooking oil, soy sauce, sugar, dishwashing liquid, and so on: much appreciated.

The cabin is right next to the train tracks, and as other reviewers here have noted, the sound of the train crossing bells is pretty loud. But it didn't bother us. There is a convenient hot and cold drinks machine next to the tracks.

the area:
Nikko Inn is not in Nikko! It is in Shimogoshiro, a small rural village at the base of the mountains, on the train line between Tokyo and Nikko. We stayed there on our way back to Tokyo from Nikko; it took about 20 minutes by train from Nikko. Nikko Inn is very easy to find: the office (in an architects' office) is right across from the train station, and is clearly signposted in English. The owner, who speaks English, walked us from the office over to the cabin, after giving us tea and sweets and a map of the village. We spent three days exploring the village and the area. It's great to see a real, working, rural village: there is nothing touristy in Shirogoshimo, just a place going about its everyday business.

Following the map given to us by the owners, we walked through the rice and buckwheat fields, next to the famous avenue of cedars (note: the walking trail is just outside the actual avenue of trees, on the town side, don't try walking on the road itself which is narrow and busy), past numerous shrines, through domestic streets (there aren't many), and along the river. It was the end of autumn when we were there: sharp, clear, and sunny. There's a grocery store marked on the map (down near the other train station), and a fresh produce shop across from that. Unfortunately there does not seem to be an onsen in Shirogoshimo.

Although Shimogoshiro is small, we had two wonderful meals out: lunch at the sushi restaurant (also on the map, down near the other train station), and a special lunch at the noodle restaurant. The noodle restaurant is out in the middle of the fields of buckwheat from which they make the soba noodles on-site. It's set in a beautiful garden, which was glorious in autumn. There were a surprising number of people there, many of whom had clearly come from elsewhere to eat at the restaurant. Ask the Nikko Inn owner to point it out to you on the map. Traffic-wise, the roads were generally safe to walk on with our daughter, particularly the tiny roads criss-crossing the fields.

Nikko Inn has a good website, in English, which makes it easy to research, and easy to book. We paid by credit card.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CadboroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We arrived on a Thursday evening and were greeted with tea and Japanese candy. The house we stayed in was traditional Japanese - no furniture. There would be what I consider two rooms in the house separated by sliding doors. The floor had straw mats laid on the floor. No shoes are allowed inside to keep it clean. You sleep on the floor on thin futon mattresses. For eating there are short little tables to eat on and mats to sit on. There is a small kitchen should you choose to cook your own food. I found that it was just easier eating out but it was nice being able to have some breakfast in the mornings. You can play your ipod through a small stereo system in the house. That was a really nice touch. There is also free wireless internet. The only downside is that the house is really close to the train tracks so you can head the bells ringing at the crossing from about 530-6 AM until about 1030 PM. It didn't bother me too much though. The hotel is located about 30 minutes via train from Nikko which I didn't mind at all. Make sure you buy the All Nikko Pass for unlimited train rides and bus rides within the Nikko area (TOBU owned buses and trains only). It saved us a lot of money. I highly recommend seeing some of the waterfalls while in Nikko. They were the highlight of my trip. Oh - the innkeepers were super and ordered us sushi and it was delivered to our house. They were able to order cooked sushi (the tuna was AMAZING) for me and raw for my fiance! It was wonderful! Make sure you get some! All-in-all what a great stay at Nikko Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Nikko Onsen
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
#30 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Inn

Property: Nikko Inn
Address: 333 Koshiro, Nikko 321-1107, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty lodging in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikko Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NIKKO INN is traditional Japanese style accommodation located in a farm village. The buildings were designed by NIKKO DESIGN Ltd. Here you may find many small things to be very interesting things you might have overlooked in your daily life. While Japanese people love to import western culture, their own culture is magnificent and has always had a great influence on westerners. Nikko Inn would like to help Japanese people rediscover Japan and foreigners experience Japanese culture. Therefore, we want to provide many services to our guests with the keyword of "Hello, Japan". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikko Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing