We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
25
80
42
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
80
42
9
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2015

This hotel dates from the bubble era and the wear and tear shows. We went as a couple and I couldn't wait to check out but I could see that the facilities and style were well suited to a young family.

Good points:
1) Clean
2) Quiet despite having about 240 rooms
3) Reasonably central to the town - we walked to the station area easily
4) everything was as promised
5) Lobby - they are making an effort to make the place cheerful
6) Large rooms

Other points:
1) The place needs closing down and renovating badly - it is shabby, tired and worn. For example, the air con is the push button kind with three settings only - low, medium and strong - and quite noisy.
2) The indoor bath - large but is completely separate from the outdoor one, so you have to get dressed to go from one to the other. There is also no washing area in the outdoor bath.
3) The wasn't a single power point in the bedroom - not one - the kettle was plugged in on the balcony with an extension cord and we had to charge our phones in the bathroom
4) All decoration had been removed from the room - there was a patch on one wall where a picture once hung - this made the room feel charmless
5) The fridge had all its shelves removed - so it was just a giant chill box

And last, but not least, the food - which my partner said was the highlight of the hotel. It was like eating in a highway service area or student dormitory. The buffet was full of all kinds of mediocre tasteless stuff that my partner described as, 'It is OK - I mean...erm...there is nothing wrong.'

Room tip: Go to a different hotel.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's good place for family Onsen, Room is quite old but huge space enough for a big family.
Buffet Dinning is great varieties of foods and desserts. Bath room is also old. But instead of bathing in the room you should straight to Onsen to fulfill your purpose of being here.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTopology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Kinugawa Gyoen was an inexpensive (About $70.00 per person) Japanese style hotel that was about a 10 minute walk from the Kinugawa Onsen station. The all you can eat buffet for dinner and breakfast was amazing. Their advertisment mentions over 70 different dishes for both meals. For dinner, they have a steak and tempura bar. And non alcoholic drinks are also unlimited. Crab legs, sushi, seasonal side dishes, chocolate fountain, desserts, etc. The list goes on and on. The food was of quality and very delicious. I would recommend this hotel if you just need an overnight place to stay and enjoy a buffet style setting. The front desk staff was very courteous. They also offer shuttle service in the morning and afternoon to or from the train station, and to various attractions such as Tobu World.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blujeansHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on a special deal for the off-season. The hotel is huge, though only a third of the building was in use while we were there. Our room was a spacious Japanese style river-view room. Both the main baths and the outside Rotenburo baths were well maintained and pleasant. The water here is not the smelly sulpur-type, yet is great for the skin. If you have itchy winter skin, this water will fix it (temporarily) after a single dip.
The food was served viking style in a huge dining room - there were some 80 different dishes to choose from. Everything from cooked-to-order steak to sushi.
The staff was friendly and helpful, meeting us at our car and carrying our bags to the hotel.
Kinugawa Onsen, as a town, is not much. One goes for the hotel and its attractions, so one night is plenty. There are some walks in the area, and the river gorge itself is pretty, though the ugly concrete buildings lining it take some getting used to. Still, I would highly recommend this hotel for a leisurely overnight.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TokyoScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019
Google Translation

Room tip: 何処のホテルでも同じですが、なるべく高階の部屋で、此処は川側が良いでしょう。
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews