We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
22
49
23
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
49
23
8
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

I do not know if it was the hot springs, the old carpets or old tatami mats (smoking allowed at the Hotel) or our European noses, but this Hotel stinks! Hotel has plenty facilities, but is worn, like most other Ryokans/hotels in this area. But the smell is Everywhere! On the plus-side, staff was lovely, room spacious and spotlessly clean, one of the receptionists speak fluent English. The rest do their very best! Onsen is good-sized with 4-5 different «pools». We also tried some wonderful Japanese skin and haircare products we stacked up on to bring home from the shop at the Hotel. There is some entertainment , and if you want dinner, this must be booked latest in the morning. We had breakfast which had a lot of choices. If you opt out of dinner, there are several restaurants the reception-staff will suggest and get you a taxi to get you there and back. Across from Hotel is a ramen-shop with yummy soups/ramen. It opens at 19:15. Also a convenience store and pharmacy just next to the Hotel. 7/11 about 5min walk. Lovely view from hotel, and we did enjoy our stay very much once we got used to the smell, and we will always remember all the amazing Japanese people we met. (Not a westerner in sight). The location is close to Edo Wonderland, which is absolutely recommended to visit. We preferred Kinugawa to Nikko despite what I’ve seen other people say. The nature and friendlyness was amazing!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank I8383LSmarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

Pros; location, closed from the river and suspension bridge, beautiful view from the room, spacious room with unique tatami, buffet dinner is outstanding, and all staffs are friendly.
They also provide free shuttle to thw station, otherwise, you can take shuttle bus from station with fee.
Con; very hard pillow that made us very difficult to fall asleep.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cclombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Great location. Suspension bridge is near and convenient store just next to the hotel.
Spacious onsen.
Big room for the price with a nice view of Kinugawa river.
All you can eat dinner with variety of food and drink.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kritm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

We arrived for a three day weekend get away in Kinugawa/Nikko. The staff upon arrival was very polite and it was great that the front desk staff spoke English. We were a bit early so we could not check in, which was fine as we just went to one of the local sites. Upon check in we realized that this hotel really has no modern amenities. There is only wifi available in the lobby area, which really sucks when you have kids and don't want to watch Japanese TV. The hotel looks clean but once you take a closer look you realize that it is very worn and dated. The lobby furniture is in need of major repair or replacement. Our room is fantastic in terms of size but again everything about it is dated. My husband and I both remarked how the furniture reminded us of our grandparents houses when we were growing up. And again the room is worn out and in need of a good scrub. The carpet and walls are stained, but after 40 yrs of use with no upgrades I guess that's what you get. We haven't tried the buffet yet, but will likely have to as the town is pretty much dying and there are not many restaurants that appear to be open. The Onsen are on point. Can't really recommend this hotel, but if the rest of the accommodations are in town I guess you can't really do much better. I would actually avoid staying overnight and make it a long day trip

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank LexyP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

First time staying at a ryokan style - a traditional Japanese style room, sleeping on the floor instead on bed. Every room provides 'Yukata' for us to wear to onsen bath, dinner or breakfast. Awesome! Excellent buffet breakfast and dinner. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
2  Thank yfylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews