We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
27
42
9
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
42
9
4
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2015

We've stayed at many ryokan/minshuku-like hotels in Japan and this place was solid. We booked through Japanican for $250 for one night/two people with dinner and breakfast (we did not book early enough to get the early-bird discount). The staff was excellent, though only a few spoke English. As it was our honeymoon, the Manager gave us a set of Japanese tea cups and advised that a happy marriage is one where we drink tea together every day.

The food was quite decent, but since we had booked through Japanican we could not opt for the higher meal plan in the tatami room overlooking the Japanese garden. Instead we were served traditional Japanese-style meals (not buffet) in the western-decored 'Fantasy Room'.

The public onsens were also solid and had both indoor and outdoor baths. The water temperature was quite comfortable for gaijin. We also reserved a private onsen for 50 minutes which featured an indoor tub with sliding glass doors that could be opened to view a private garden and enjoy the combination of warm water and cool night air. The private onsen was heated to Japanese temperature so we had to run the cool water tap for most of the 50 minutes.

The room was very nice. It had a large tatami portion separated by half-shoji doors from another area where they laid out the futons. There were additional futons in the closet, which presumably would have been laid out in the tatami room if there were more than 2 of us. The room could comfortably fit 4 and would be perfect for a group.

We were the only gaijin, and the other Japanese guests seemed to be couples or groups of friends. Given the noise from the Karaoke room, many were having a great time well into the night. If we still lived in Tokyo, this would be a great place for a weekend trip with friends for soaking, eating, drinking, and possibly seeing the nearby sites in Nikko.

Wifi is only available in the lobby.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jandro144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

The baths are incredible and the service is amazing. My family stayed four nights in heaven here. Very convenient to Nikko by train or bus. Make sure to explore the local delicacies that the inhouse chef and staff prepare daily.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Most expensive in the Kinugawa area ($400/night after tax for 2 people with breakfast) but the suite could easily sleep 6. Very nice hot spring with 2 outdoor tubs for enjoying the hot water on a cool night. Japanese-style breakfast was great in beautiful traditional setting. 40 minutes by local train from Nikko so you might want to eat early before a day of sightseeing. Only 2 hours from Tokyo if you book an express train.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank U4378FUkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is a bit old and there is a slope at the hotel entrance.
There is nothing outside the hotel , no onsen town, no shops.

However, the onsen is nice.Please take note, the onsen will close during 8-8.30pm for cleaning.
The male and female onsen will switch after cleaning.
The Colour Yukata wearing experience is great, and it only cost 560JPY. Strongly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yszydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is my first time to have a trip to Nikko and went to the Hot Spring there.
Kinugawa Grand Hotel Yume no Toki, is japanse traditional style mixed with the modern style. They have Japanese style rooms which we all like it. The rooms is big, clean and nice.You can choose to sleep at a modern bed or Japanese traditional Tatami Bed.

And also, the service there is very nice. They give us a best welcome and best service when we were there. The meals at there is simple but beautiful.

That day we were trying the private room hot spring at night.
The Private Room maximum can fix in 3 pax but for us that was huge, and i believe can fix in 4 pax as well. From the room, we can see outside the view. At night it was beautiful!

And also we have a chance to try the formal Yutaka which they will arrange professional staff to assist us to wear it. This was an unforgettable experience which we was at there.

Again, I believe that if i want to go to Japan again and i will go this hotel to enjoy my onsen again!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shin0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews