We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
68
48
16
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
48
16
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews authentic japanese experience very nice gift shop breakfast and dinner nikko station the river great ryokan sashimi world heritage courses mountains onsen english closet bowed sites bath bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 140 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2018

We visited this hotel at the end of September. The weather was wonderful! The hotel is easy to find. We took a little bus from the train station. It took us 5 minutes to arrive to the Ryokan. It is very cute! Outside is not impressive. Inside is just lovely place! I loved the rooms, the windows and the fact that is at one side of the river. The sound of the river was very relaxing!

I really like the place. It is very clean. The food is of excellent quality. It is a fixed menu of Japanese delicacies and breakfast and dinner were served at specific times. They will ask you which times you prefer. You have to wear a very nice yukuta and very nice Japanese shoes.

It could be difficult to sleep on the floor. The first night was tough. On the second night, we took many mattresses and we put them on top of of each other and we slept better. The mattresses were storage at the closet.

This is an authentic Japanese experience. It is memorable!

To reach the shrines is very easy. Just cross the street and you are there. We always stopped for ice cream after visiting the shrines at a lovely souvenir store that is across the street.

It is expensive. The price includes breakfast and dinner. It could be difficult to make reservations. You have to make the reservations in advance. Many Japanese stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerTrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

I don't know why so many of the reviews here criticise the venue for not having enough English-speaking staff. Nikko is a quiet town in the mountains and the vast majority of the staff at this amazing hotel were of the older generation. While we had an English-speaking member of staff assist us with check in, the staff at mealtimes spoke limited (almost no) English but happily mimed and warn us with "hot!" and beamed and bowed at us when we complimented the meal (oishi!!).

We stayed for three evenings and each meal was overwhelmingly generous and beautifully plated, with wonderful variety. Tempura, sukiyaki, shabu shabu, sashimi, and more! The half-board is a must. Breakfast is also huge and will fill you up well into the afternoon.

A room with a terrace bath is a wonderful luxury and well worth the price, but do keep in mind that the water that is pumped into the rooms isn't hot springs water. Head up to the rooftop bath for a full experience. The outdoor bath is superb on a chilly night after dinnertime.

Yes, the hotel is older and some people probably expect it to be more updated because of its cost, but it's wonderfully traditional and all part of the experience. We were there over a weekend and the hotel was full of visiting Japanese tourists - always a good indication.

I think all rooms are smoking rooms, but at my inquiry for a non-smoking room they said the room would be well-aired for our arrival. There was a little residual smell but it went away with an afternoon of the windows open.

The hotel does a complimentary pick up/drop off at Nikko Station upon request.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Perfect location to all of the World Heritage sites and a short stroll into the town centre.

Room tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better view!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityCat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

This Ryokan does not look much from the outside and is a little old but we had a really comfortable night stay here. The staff were extremely pleasant, cheerful and happy to assist especially at meal times. The food was Japanese options only but well presented and even though I didn't recognise some of what I was eating I made sure to try first. Usually a pleasant surprise. I have had better Japanese food and this was a little plain in comparison. The staff helped us through the course explaining in gestures on what we were to do on each course. I enjoyed the meal but was not overwhelmed.The rooms were comfortable and quiet if a little dated. There is a very nice gift shop in the hotel but check opening times. Punctuality is key when staying in a Japanese hotel so we were sure to be on time for both supper and breakfast.
The Nikko Toshogu Shrine is across the road. Just walk diagonally left when living the hotel cross the road and walk up the steps and you are there. Brilliant!
I have left separate review on this shrine but suffice to say it is so worth the visit and make sure you walk down to the mausoleum of Tokugawa Iemitsu. My favourite shrine of all. If you stay in a Ryokan and find that breakfast was a little challenging you can visit the small Museum at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine which has a fabulous modern coffee shop with scones, sandwiches, toasted ham and cheese and enormous cups of tasty coffee! Enjoy! Great stay for a true Japanese experience.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sassiecat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

$$$ for what you are getting. Our most expensive onsen stay on the trip but it was the least satisfying. The room is older than our other onsen stays. The private room onsen is not really outdoors, just window opening up. The dinner and breakfast are lower quality and smaller portions (e.g., 2 pieces of sashimi, that's all!!!). No kids meal or bedding even though we were charged a kids fee. No water bottles. No good amenities/products. No welcome anything. They give you the bare minimum. The only positive is location. 5 minutes walk to the bridge. Had to go to the family mart down the street to pick up more food. That's how bad it was!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This is one of the highest-rated hotels/ryokans in the area, and from appearances that seems justified. It's aesthetically attractive and its proximity to Nikko's major sights is hard to beat. However, it's also priced at a premium, and this doesn't always seem justified.

It isn't really designed for comfort and our room was a bit old and tired, aside from our private bath area which was fresher and very nice. Many of the Japanese staff actively avoid interacting with foreign guests, pushing the one Filipina staff member at us, and while she did her best it all felt rather odd. Information about the hotel was very sparse in English, eg we only found out there was an open-air bath on the roof when we were checking out, and the kaiseki dinner menu was printing in Japanese only. The dinner, which could and should have been excellent, was a bit of a farce as the staff clearly wanted to go home early and rushed us through the courses - the first three were all dropped on us at the same time, and this really detracted from what was meant to be a special experience (breakfast service was much better).

Perhaps the staff felt that as foreigners we would know no better, but I'm an experienced traveller in Japan and we know the difference. It isn't the first time I've stayed at a ryokan which is supposedly higher-end but doesn't really measure up. If I returned to the area I would look for something smaller and more low-key as those places are much better value and usually friendlier.

Room tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view and as noisy families may be on lower floors
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank unregisteredalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews