We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
24
26
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
24
26
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet area walking distance stayed longer the bus private room dishes facilities dinner ryokan kaiseki onsen japan tobu yukata
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

Excellent hotel, traditional Japanese ones!!! We loved it! Staff were great, they tried their best to explain in English. Our booking including breakfast (it’s a very good idea) and was traditional Japanese meal. We loved it! Room was extremely clean and hotel has Onsen.... 25 minutes walk from Nikko train station and we did it couple of times.... 10 minutes on the bus ¥310 pp. Highly recommend to everyone if you like Japanese traditional stuff!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Acpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

The great service starts before you enter with a doorman waiting to greet you. This service ended up being the norm with extremely polite and attentive wait staff showing you rooms and preparing your meals, though be aware that most speak only Japanese. The food was delicious but the kaiseki experience can be overwhelming without some prior research. The onsen itself was serene and made for an amazing ryokan experience. I'd highly recommend Fuwari to anyone looking for the traditional Japanese ryokan experience at a more affordable price than is typical.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mash_mohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

This hotel was a real gem. We were treated with courtesy. My name was at the entrance, we received introductory tea, the hotel room had my name on it, there were tea and small pastries waiting for us in the japanese tatami-style room, along with yukatas and toiletries for each of us in a small bag. We felt like princes.
We are asked what time we would like to have dinner, the dinner was provided in a private room with low tables but space under the tables to put our feet under (so it looks like we are seating on the floor on cushions), the food is wonderful and plentiful, the service is impeccable with our waiter doing her best to explain the dishes in English.
Back to our hotel room, we were awed that our beds were made. The room had a view on a river and we could hear and almost see a waterfall through the foliage.
There also is an onsen available almost 24/24H, separate for men and women : clean, spacious, private. We went during the Fall Festival, but still managed to go when no other guests were there.

Excellent : value for money, staff, cleanliness, facilities
Satisfactory : location is slightly away from the city/temples center and up a small hill, but a bus stops at its foot.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

Dinner experience ruined this hotel for us. Hotel itself is OK and as expected with the Japanese style room. But the dinner experience was horrible and ruined everything. Not worth the price they charge $100 extra. In fact I would not pay more than $10 for it.
Waiter doesn’t speak a single word of English nor care about explaining anything. You order one Asahi beer and she brings Kirin. Out of 10 small dishes only 1 was descent. The experience was so bad that it ruined this hotel for me.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrazilianBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

The place is in a quiet location, a bit remote from the main road.
Traditional hotel with very nice service and excellent food.
A visit to the onsen is a must.
Walking distance from Nikko main site.
I warmly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank valerier106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews