We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
11
17
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
17
11
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

15mins walk from Kinugawa Onsen station. They have a private onsen for hire for 3100 yen or they can shuttle you back and forth to their sister hotel for public onsen for 500 yen (very basic onsen). Nice big clean rooms (if you don't mind the smell of smoke).

But as we didn't speak much Japanese, asking reception for anything was difficult. No English and no smiles at this place unfortunately.

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank JayYayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

The hotel looks like a well-maintained old hotel. It's a Japanese-style hotel (with tatami and futon inside the room), spacious room but lacks the standard service of a normal hotel. The receptionist doesn't speak English, and although not being rude but I believe they could've been nicer (at least smiling would be nice). They do have private onsen inside that we can book for 3100 yen for 50 minutes (ideally fit for 2 persons only). They do have a restaurant but during my stay there we didn't try it because of the expensive dinner and breakfast price. Oh yeah the room fee doesn't include breakfast. So if you don't mind walking 15 mins from the station (I know for those coming from a country whose people is not used to walking everywhere, it will be a bit tough), this is an acceptable hotel. The price is not that cheap but at least it can be shared up to 3 people in my experience without additional cost. But if you look for the full-service hotel with good hospitality from the staffs, I don't think this is the choice.

Room tip: Good onsen
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Room was large and clean. Beds were very firm mattresses on the floor. There was no tidying of the rooms while we were there e.g removing rubbish making beds etc. But it was a very inexpensive stopover.
It was ok for a cheap stopover but I don't think we would return as it is at least two train rides from the shrines of Nikko and there is no where really to eat nearby. We just bought some snacks from the nearby 7/11 for the evening.
It is a quirky unusual place but average in the whole scheme of things. Nikko itself is a huge place and I'm glad we have been here but there are far better places to visit in Japan then here.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Could only stay one night in Nikko (which is worth a two night visit). This hotel was quite serviceable.

The good:
- Onsen
- Reasonable sized rooms.
- Large comfortable lobby

The OK:
- A 1-2 km walk for places to eat for dinner (if you do not eat here, which was full and seemed quite pricey). A bus stop if close but Nikko bus service is not too frequent
Wifi is only available in the lobby (but is free).
- Service is OK, good by Western standards but not as good as normally high Japanese standards.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DKA255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

 お風呂は別館へ車で数分移動。車は無料で出してくれるが別館での入浴に500円かかる。ホテルに備えの風呂は貸切風呂で別料金。50分で3000円程度。朝食、夕食とも別料金。夕食はビュッフェ形式1人3000円程度。ビールを中ジョッキ900円で売っているところから食事内容も推し量ることができるだろう。
 You have to go to another hotel to enjoy hot spring and need to pay 500yen for it, of course you can use hot spring in the hotel but in this case you must rent a hot spring room and have to pay 3000yen/h for that. Breakfast and dinner is not included in the fare(depending on the plan)
這個飯店溫泉有是有,但必須借溫泉室要3000塊日幣,吃晚餐要3000塊日幣,啤酒一杯900日幣。早餐也要付早餐費。你要理解住房費不包含這些費用。

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FarAway804562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews