We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
27
107
39
13
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
107
39
13
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 188 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2014

Even though we have visited Japan more than 6 times, this was our first onsen experience. My cousin lives just down the road from this hotel and made a reservation for a 50 minute private onsen for us to experience. It was fabulous. Now I know why onsen is so popular. The room had a seating area for four, large vanity and sink and separate toilet. The shower area had many spa-like soaps to choose from with both an indoor onsen and an outdoor onsen with a view of the Kinugawa River.
Hot onsen and cool autumn breeze plus koyo and the sound of the running river.... priceless.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Botchan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked a non smoking two bedroom western / Japanese room. We got a one room smoke wrenched room. All great with views and a nice inane, but when you as a non smoker have to sleep in this stench it is terrible.
My wife, who is Japanese, checked with reception, but they were not very helpful. We got an air purifier which after hours of operation made no difference. When I complained we got offered another room, but by the. The kids were fast asleep.

I'd say this this place is over its glory and as they have only smoking rooms throughout the hotel, lack English speaking staff and in general are less helpful than I find is otherwise the standard in Japan, I would not recommend a booking here unless you smoke.

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HotelDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I am an American, been in Japan for the past 15 years; so I've seen my share of onsens and onsen hotels. This was by far one of the best I've stayed at. Upon arrival, we immediately got a glimpse of the snow monkeys that were wild and hanging out by the hotel--this place really takes you to a new level of relaxation. The outside needs a little work (hence the 4/5) but the inside is gorgeous, immacuately clean, and they have all the amentities you'll need. The onsen is wonderful and they offer in room massages/facials/foot work starting at 2500 yen. Within the onsen for women, there was the main bathing room with awesome shampoo/conditioner (seriously the best) and nice facial peeling gel, collagen cream, foot cream, hairdryer, etc. There's four more different tubs that have water from different places, these are considered the "outside" tubs. There's even 'private' onsen you can rent out with indoor and outdoor baths. They have an all you can eat buffet for breakfast and dinner (comes with your room) and the parking is free (valet style). The buffet consists of Japanese food along with western. There was huge crab legs, salmon, sushi, fried chicken, fries, tempura, salad bar, drink bar, all-you-can-drink option for 90 mins...for breakfast they had more 'traditional' foods along with eggs, pastries, bacon, sushi etc (I'm really not doing it justice, they had a little of everything) Everything was delicious. They also have a coffee cafe in the lobby along with a store and convience store. The bars are open until late hours and they have kareoke available. Also, on the onsen level they have ping pong rooms and an arcade.

In the room, they'll come in and make your bed of futons if you'd like or you can adhere to the western style twin beds. The room easily sleeps 6 adults with a nice deep bathtub if you aren't the onsen type. We got a river view room (6th floor) and the balcony gave us gorgeous views of the river and mountains across the way. The room offers two yukatas (size M) but every floor has a shelf of yukatas (differing sizes) right by the elevators. We wore ours to dinner/breakfast and around the hotel. It was such a relaxing time to 'get away' and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was great, the area was perfect, and there really wasn't anything to complain about.

Room tip: River view rooms are a must! But only 9th floor has chairs on the balcony
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I am an American, long term resident of Japan. I stayed at this hotel for one night with my Japanese wife and 17 year old son. We made a reservation through calling directly and were given a per person rate a few hundred yen below the internet rates I was able to find, essentially for the least expensive option with the all-you-can-eat dinner and breakfast. included, as opposed to the eat-in-your room option which would have been catered and a little less expensive. When we arrived we found we had been up-graded to a river-view 9th floor room, really among the very best they have . The room was VIP gorgeous and could have easily accommodated 6 people comfortably, with two beds and 4 futon. The balcony had two chairs, which is the case only for the 9th floor, the top floor. The balconies are the same size on the other floors, but no chairs. The view was extraordinary. The room had its own deep bathtub, but we preferred to wear the yukata and go to the hotel onsen. There were several baths in both the male and female sections, and they were great. The soap in the washing sections was so nice that we purchased some from the hotel shop before we left. The steak was a bit tough, but other than that the food was terrific, and with an enormous variety, including huge crabs, for example. Even the pasta option was delicious. Ditto for the breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel for any family. It is a cultural experience in itself. Most of the guests wear their yukata everywhere, even outside. I have vowed no longer to complain about the per person expense of staying at such a place. I would request a 9th floor room if at all possible, and if not that, certainly a river view room. We liked it so much that we wanted to make another reservation for a few months down the line, but they wouldn't guarantee the same rate for the same room, so we postponed our decision. The other floors are probably fine, too, though. Just bring your own portable chairs for the balcony, and leave your computers at home!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room tip: フロントで渓流側の部屋をリクエストすれば良いと思います。
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews