We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
218
193
52
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
193
52
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinugawa onsen western comforts japanese style room atrium spring gorge train river sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 481 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days at the end of a Japan tour.

If your on your own with no transport, just be aware you are a train, bus or taxi ride from everything .

The hotel food, rooms and staff are excellent.
Onsens, well the best we have ever used.

All in all top notch.

The central atrium and organ music are I our opinion great. Some think not.
Certainly makes for a most memorable stay .

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank steviewonder34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Wonderful experience with beautiful Japanese style room and bathroom fitted with running hot spring bathtub. They are also having two public hot spring pool, one in open area on 13th floor. We had private Japanese dinner and food was amazing..stayed for only one night but it will be remember for long...

Room tip: look for room with hot spring bathtub..
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbera1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

The first thing you need to know about this hotel is that it is not in or even near any of Nikko’s celebrity sites but a half hour drive to the north in the Kinugawa onsen district. Kinugawa’s salad days as a hot springs resort are long gone and whilst the Kinugawa River gorge provides a dramatic centrepiece, many of the tawdry developments that crowd its precipitous banks are either derelict or gracelessly heading that way.
Amid this architectural atrophy the Asaya Hotel stands like a stately citadel of opulence in exile.
To be sure, it’s all a bit last century, starting with the stadium-size porte cochère leading off to a grand operatic atrium complete with pipe organ and Charlie & the Chocolate Factory glass elevators, but cutting past the cruise-liner glitz this is a well maintained, well managed, comfortable and good value hotel. There are a few shortcomings that deprive it of excellence, but if you don’t mind the commute to Nikko you would be hard pressed to better what the tariff buys you here.

The good: the front door staff were ever helpful and efficient. Reception was polite and informative with passable English which follows throughout the hotel. Our non-smoking Hachibankan Japanese Style Room with twin beds (#601) was bright, clean, quiet, comfortable and very spacious – indeed the size of a modest suite (57 sq. metres). Everything expected was there and it mostly worked as expected. The décor is a tastefully modern iteration of traditional Japanese furnished with a few Western comforts – like sofas and proper beds.
Which beds were refreshingly comforting after a few weeks of futons. The bathroom ensemble was modern, roomy, well laid out and well finished in the best Japanese tradition. The included WiFi worked well on all our devices. Our room/suite opened to a balcony overlooking the river gorge but, for reasons already expounded, soft focus needs to be engaged there so the better views are within.
We opted for the breakfast and dinner package both of which are taken in the hotel’s expansive Asaya Garden restaurant. Both are buffet meals which were well serviced and of the finest quality.

The not so good: in such a superior bathroom suite it was disappointing that the shower head was tiny and the water pressure anaemic.

The disappointing: it’s held to be a traveller’s hotel but there is neither a laundry nor any laundry service offered. When asked, the hotel will steer you to a local laundromat a couple of kilometres away.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The hotel has many facilities, an excellent buffet and extremely friendly staff. The rooms were average but perhaps we would have found them better if we had upgraded to a higher category. The area is extremely run down with many closed down hotels and shops further up the valley. We were disappointed that the swimming pool was still not open in the second week of July. The season apparently starts on July 20th. The bar was nice but it didn't open in time for us to have a pre-dinner drink which was surprising. There is a massive organ playing in the lobby which we found a little strange,

Overall the situation was good for the sites we wanted to see and the food and staff made this hotel experience.

Room tip: Upgrade to a room other than the standard
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

The room is small for a westerner but normal for Japanese standards. This is a typical Japanese hot spring hotel. Very impressive inside and the cheapest of the high range in Japan.
The price is average or maybe a bit low for this kind of hotel in Japan but the dinner buffet is top. It has a massive choice of quality Japanese food (and non) and has the Atlantic giant crab (only that cost 100 usd in Japan)
We had so much to eat that we did not feel hungry until the next dinner that we re-booked....

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews