We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
10
31
18
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
31
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triple room bus stop outdoor onsen walking distance pajamas sleeping dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Hotel was quite far from the railway station and finding the right bus was a bit of a challenge. However, the bus takes you directly in front of the hotel.

Staff barely spoke English but luckily I can speak some Japanese. If I couldn't, it would have been very difficult to communicate with the staff.

Room was quite spacious but very old. Bed was not that good. The onsen was lovely! Two indoor baths and one cozy outdoor bath. I really enjoyed the onsen and even visited multiple times during the day.

Breakfast was an experience. Good food but not that filling. Hotel was in a walking distance from the sights and a good walking route went right past the hotel. No stores or restaurants are near the hotel so remember to eat well and bring snacks when arriving!

All in all, had a comfortable stay as we took the oldness of the building as an experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pallo900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2018

We stay at this hotel for 2 nights, the room consider big for Japan hotel. The hotel itself not consider new but quite decent and provide us with pyjamas. The location a bit far from the downtown, you need to catch a bus and get off at number 13 bus stop, and you will find the hotel right across the road.
The hotel also has an indoor and outdoor onsen but remind yourself this is not a free onsen, it cost you around 600 yen.
The only negative thing it's a bit hard to find a restaurant for breakfast or dinner, you either need to catch a bus back or walking approx. 45 min to downtown and the pillow quite thin however, you can ask the concierge for additional pillow so overall we quite happy to stay at this place.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Snupiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel through booking.com and it appeared to be nice with spacious rooms and well located in Nikko for the main attractions.

Firstly the hotel is quite a way from the centre of Nikko, check-in experience was not good, the man checking us in insisted on addressing my husband despite the booking etc being in my name. Both my husband and I found the experience hostile rather than welcoming. Maybe there is a language issue as it feels as though the hotel is better set up for non-western clientele. There is a lack of information available in English and there was very limited English during the check-in.

When we arrived at our room (305) we were dismayed to find it was tiny, smelly and excessively cramped, the bed was really uncomfortable and the pillows so thin they were virtually non existent. The bathroom was awful too - the shower closet was very old and dirty. Nothing had prepared us for the room, it was not in anyway like the large bedrooms posted to the website. This is not our first visit to Japan and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation with various budgets, we’ve never experienced accommodation of this low standard previously. There was also s very rigid attitude to meal times and catering - given it’s so far away from the main area it could serve its patrons much better by being more flexible.

We asked if it would be possible to have a larger room and were told no. As we are on our honeymoon we made the decision to seek alternative accommodation and write off the expense of this hotel. We were charged 34,000 Yen for 2 nights (approx £250). Given the (sub-)standard quality and location this was expensive. It’s certainly not a 3 star hotel, it’s in dire need of modernisation and some comforts.

Our recommendation would be to avoid this hotel at all costs, we checked into the Nikko Station Classic Hotel instead and for similar money got a much nicer room and much better service. Sadly in our haste to depart we didn’t take photos!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SEAsiaFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

All are great.
They have very approachable staff. The room is clean with all the amenities needed such as towels, toiletries and a sleeping pajamas!!
we availed for the breakfast and they served superb breakfast for 1080 per person. The dinner is a little expensive thou.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jordanmaryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

This hotel was quite spacious and serene. It was half way between both areas of Nikko that we wanted to visit which was great, but it does result in travelling one direction of the other each day to get to where you want to be. Having a car could be ideal, but if not, the buses are convenient until night time. They stop running early. The taxi was still an excellent option especially if you are traveling in a group of four as we were. It makes the price very affordable and not too much more than other options. I would recommend understanding some Japanese, or at least knowing the culture well so things don't seem too foreign. And the leaves in the fall... superb!!!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RBMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews