We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nikko is pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nikko Tokanso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nikko Tokanso
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nikko is pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Ryokans are expensive. Tokanso was a little over 200 a night for two people. Its a nice enough place, with decent size rooms and clean enough as well, but nothing to write home about. I can see tho how they can be expensive tho, breakfast and dinner are pretty filling with lots of food and a great variety and actually quite good. You get your moneys worth and its a good value. Also, I'd recommend taking breakfast and dinner at a ryokan as there's not many options in nikko. However I wish I would've spent more for a nicer place. Tokanso is old, lots of old outdated fixtures, lots of fluorescent lights as well.

The onsen is pretty good. There's a "family" room which can be reserved for private use if you'd like to soak with your better half. Soaking is a big part of staying at the ryokans in nikko and necessary after all the walking you do.

Thinking about it more tho, the location is awesome. No need to buy the expensive bus pass as Tokanso is right next to Toshogu and the national park. The area that Tokanso is in is also excellent for walking.

The staff is very nice and helpful. They do not speak much English but that doesnt matter much as you can always get along well enough.

In the end, if 200 a night for two people is all you got to spend. Its a good value. If you can spend more tho, do it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
64
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

What a gem! This is a wonderful ryokan experience that is reasonably priced. It is very close (5 minute walk) to the UNESCO World Heritage shrines and temples (albeit slightly hard to find -- it's set back slightly from the main road). The staff are helpful and kind. The rooms are very clean, and the futons are comfortable (plus they have spare futons and pillows in the room which you can add to tailor to your level of comfort). The furniture was only very slightly frayed at the edges (for example, one mirror was slightly chipped in one corner but was neatly taped over for safety), but it is clear the staff care for the rooms with detail. The private half bath is a plus. While the main bathtub/onsen is public (shared among hotel guests), you can reserve the private "family bath" for 50 minutes during your stay for no extra charge -- this is a great way to get a private onsen experience, plus the antechamber to the private onsen has a sink and blow dryer. The dinner (in a common dining room) is delicious, bountiful, and a great value and cultural experience. (The breakfast also sounded good, although we left too early to enjoy it). There is free coffee and tea in the lobby, as well as a public use computer with Internet. The ryokan is also very friendly to travelers from all over -- their hotel information packets (in the guest room) are translated into English, Mandarin Chinese, Korean, and Spanish. We had a wonderful experience at Nikko Tokanso, and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRHCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This Ryokan has very friendly and hospitable staff always willing to help. Its very close to all the temples and shrines in Nikko (5min walk), so its location is very handy. The rooms are comfortable if a little worse for wear, but clean. There is a private bathroom you can book if you don't like sharing your baths. We only had the breakfast menu, but the service and food we got was excellent. It does try to impart some of the Japanese culture on you through the staff's service, which is very welcome.

Note: I gave value 4 stars, but only if you use the hotel's website (www.tokanso.com) and not JAPANiCAN which is overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingeelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

At the end of our first day I crashed on ice and injured my hip badly. The staff at Nikko Tokanso immediately drove me to the hospital and waited while I was x-rayed, then drove me back. They moved us to a room on the ground floor, and helped my teenage son pack up our things. From then on all meals were brought to our room and beautifully served. It was such a pleasure. Without exception everyone was kind, concerned and caring, and the service was excellent. The onsen was wonderful for soaking away aches and pains, and the position of the ryokan couldn't be better. Nikko is very beautiful, and Tokanso is in the most beautiful part. You can walk to all the temples, just be careful of ice if you go in winter, and wear sensible shoes. We loved our time there, and are very grateful to the kind-hearted people we met who looked after us like royalty.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HipTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is a nice, average Ryokan. Bit run down around the edges but still a fun experience. Japanese ryokans all seem to be expensive and a bit tatty unless you are wiling to pay a bomb! Location though was fantastic, right by all the main sights of Nikko and the staff very friendly (hardly any English spoken though, so be warned you may need to practice your Nihon-go skills first!). Dinner though was a brilliant and totally Japanese experience - 17 separate little dishes each (not sure what they all were!). Breakfast was a bit weird - I ordered 'Western' style... and we always eat potato soup for breakfast, right!? Was fun to sleep on tatami mats and wear our yukata though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We spent one night here and although it's a bit pricey (as all ryokens are) it was pretty good.

The staff were great, the kaiseki was good (think we counted over 15 dishes each at dinner). The rooms were as we expected for a standard ryoken - a little tatty, but comfortable (and airconditioned). Didn't try the public bath. Have western breakfast as well if you don't fancy the Japanese breakfast - but you should try it.

The best thing about this ryoken is location - it's so close to the main shrine area and the bridge.

Free internet (in the lobby) and a courtesy bus back to the train station as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed one night to visit Nikko. Typical ryokan with tatami mat, paper screen and futon bed rooms. Definitely worth staying at a ryokan at least once in a trip to Japan. Not a very luxurious, high end ryokan but very clean with good views from a large room. A good value way to experience a traditional Japanese hotel. The private onsen bath was nice. Bear in mind you sleep on a futon matress on the floor which takes some getting used to! The highlight was the food. The Japanese dinner and breakfast is laid out beautifully and totally different to the restaurant food we had. The ryokan doesn't have an English sign outside so make sure you have a map before you arrive! Nikko makes a great overnight trip fromTokyo with temples, cedar trees and mountains.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Nikko Onsen
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
#29 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Tokanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Tokanso

Property: Nikko Tokanso
Address: 2335 Sannai, Nikko 321-1432, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikko Tokanso 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikko Tokanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing