We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
A great place to visit on nice Autumn day!

This was the highlight of my day date with my GF in Yokosuka. The ship looks like she could head... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
4Miggy123
Interesting place to visit

Lots of interesting information and can pretty much access most of the ship. At only ¥600 (£~4) for... read more

Reviewed June 18, 2023
Littleone88
,
Brighton,England
Read all 368 reviews
  
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 368 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2019

I'd actually visited the MIKASA back in 2004 but decided to check it out again and I'm so glad that I did. Unlike so many stale museums, the MIKASA is right along with the times. There are virtual reality and hands-on exhibits making use of technology in addition to the standard fare which has been around for a long time. I'd highly recommend visiting early as crowds - to include school children - can swarm the place. It's really not too bad to visit even when the ship is crowded thought it's harder to get access to the high-tech exhibits.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank JSTrip_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

As a resident of a large port, I can not pass by the Museum ships. Moreover, as in the case of Mikasa, I can go there specifically for this purpose. Mikasa was the missing element in my collection of the Galleon "Vase" (Stockholm), aircraft carrier "Intrepid" (new York), aircraft carrier "Kiev" (now in China), cruisers "Aurora" (St. Petersburg), "Mikhail Kutuzov" (Novorossiysk), "Moscow" (in formation, Sevastopol), nuclear icebreakers "Lenin" and "Yamal" (Murmansk), submarine K-21 (Severomorsk). Mikasa is the last remaining battleship of the pre-dreadnought era in the world. Like all 6 battleships of the Imperial fleet, who participated in the Russian-Japanese war , it was built not in Japan, but in Britain by the famous company "Vickers". Unlike other battleships built in British shipyards, Mikasa was not English, and a more solid German Popovsky fight. Maybe that's why the Admiral of Togo, whose monument stands nearby, kept his flag on it in the two main battles of the war - in the Yellow sea and the Tsushima Strait. The irony was that Mikasa, who survived both battles, exploded and sank a month after the war in September 1905. The Japanese picked it up and put it into operation. Mikas was introduced into a specially dug pit in Yokosuka, covered with earth on the waterline in 1926. Thus, this ship is not afloat, unlike the cruiser "Aurora" in St. Petersburg, the second surviving participant of the battle of Tsushima. Mikasa is interesting as a Museum. For 600 yen you get not only familiarity with the exterior and interior of the battleship, but also with a beautiful collection of models, maps, uniforms, marine navigation devices. The Japanese could not do without innovation and installed virtual reality helmets. Unfortunately, there is no access to the engine room, without which familiarity with the ship can not be considered comprehensive.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank VadimM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This is an amazing display of history. Recommended this for anyone interested in naval history. Well done displays

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

I spent about 1 hour 20minutes to see the well displayed exhibits and rooms. They even have a virtual reality game of Japan Sea fights between Russia and Japan which
you can play. very informative.
Highly recommendable.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Keizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

i like the ship but i love the waterfalls and the musical fountains and view of the bay. They even have music in the park on occasions

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DrTacomaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews