We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
A great place to visit on nice Autumn day!

This was the highlight of my day date with my GF in Yokosuka. The ship looks like she could head... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
4Miggy123
Interesting place to visit

Lots of interesting information and can pretty much access most of the ship. At only ¥600 (£~4) for... read more

Reviewed June 18, 2023
Littleone88
,
Brighton,England
Read all 368 reviews
  
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 368 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

i like the ship but i love the waterfalls and the musical fountains and view of the bay. They even have music in the park on occasions

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DrTacomaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

It was relative cheap at 600 yen per adult (roughly 5.50 USD at the time of writing) and it was cool to see how a ship from the late 1800s looked on the side and on the outside, plus they had a nifty (and lightly buggy due to the current tech) VR experience of the battle of the Sea of Japan

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Fusion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

If you like naval or war history or just like looking at boats this is well worth the effort.

Easily accessible by train from Shinagawa station.

Yokosuka is a nice clean port area, plenty to see. You can do a habour cruise.

The pre dreadnought ship is quite well preserved considering it is over 100 years old.

You can walk through most of the ship, a lot of steep steps however.

It is surprising how small the dreadnoughts were 15,000 tonnes.

There are plenty of guns which can be manourvered.

Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 952cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

For battleship fans, there are several US battleships built just before or during World War II around the country, the 1916 vintage "superdreadnaught" USS Texas near La Porte Texas, but this ship is the last of the pre-dreadnaughts. This was Admiral Togo's flagship in the famous 1905 victory over the Russian fleet.
It is hard to assess just how much of the original ship is on display, as there is no access to the engineering spaces, nor is their access to the turrets.
It is interesting to note how small predreadnaught battleships were when compared to later developments of these warships. Today's Arleigh Burke class destroyers are larger in size than the Mikasa.
Just take the train to Yokosukachuo train station. Mikasa Park is within about a 15 minute walk. Yokosuka is a pleasant town to stroll through, so this is a very enjoyable way to get to the park; no taxi or bus is required.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

The Mikasa was the flagship of the Japanese navy in the Russo Japanese war and is the last surviving pre dreadnought battleship in the world. If you are interested in naval warfare this pretty much makes her a must see. A easy walk from the station, in a small park facing on the ocean.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dinadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews