We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
A great place to visit on nice Autumn day!

This was the highlight of my day date with my GF in Yokosuka. The ship looks like she could head... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
4Miggy123
Interesting place to visit

Lots of interesting information and can pretty much access most of the ship. At only ¥600 (£~4) for... read more

Reviewed June 18, 2023
Littleone88
,
Brighton,England
Read all 368 reviews
  
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
172
163
31
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 368 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

The Mikasa is a fantastically preserved battleship and museum. It's really one of the best preserved naval exhibits that I have had the pleasure to visit, and it will also walk you through the quick tour of Japanese history. It's only 600 yen and well worth the time. Spend an hour or more, at your leisure.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank birdjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Did the tour of the Mikasa in 2015, so I was only visiting again to shoot some new photos with the sun at a different angle. The area around the ship still appears to have been kept very clean, and there quite a few families out and about, as well as photographers.

Nice enough for a short visit, and a quick trip through the gift shop, but nothing much different from my last review if not going aboard the Mikasa.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Khyron82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

The Kinenkan Mikasa is the actual ship itself, the park which others have reviewed refers to the greater area that surrounds the ship.

This ship would prove really interesting for those into Naval History and enjoy ships and associated military history. The ship is well preserved on dry land with gravel surrounding it and steps leading up to the main deck in the form of a gangway. Some basic Japanese language skills are essential to buying tickets and meeting and greeting and then you are left to your own to walk around in your own time following clear arrows. Much of the ship is open with limited English descriptions. It is very self explanatory as to what the rooms are.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Brisbane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Mikasa park is a quick walk from anywhere in downtown Yokosuka. This review will many speak about the Memorial Ship museum at the park.

The entrance fee was about 500-600 yen for an adult, which is quite a bargain. Many of the signs are in english, and most of the museum staff gave very clear directions in english.

The ship is famous for the Russo - Japanese war, but also shows the history of Japan's navy. As one of the last (maybe the last) pre-dreadnought ships around, it is truly a unique museum.

There is a 30 minute or a 1 hour guided tour. Pictures can be taken anywhere.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

This is a British built warship the Japanese used to defeat the Russian Navy a little over 100 years ago. On board there is a museum and plenty to interest you for an hour.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank 785nigeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews