We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Yokosuka
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokosuka
Certificate of Excellence
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff was very polite and professional, but that really was the only highlight about the hotel. The rooms, although basic, were SMALL. I travelled with 3 pieces of luggage for my move to Japan and I had trouble navigating through my room jus because the bed took up 80% of the space. However, the hotel is located in an ideal location in Yokosuka - 5 minutes from the base, next to the Shioiri station, and across the street from Daiei mall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    117
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
36
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Rooms are clean and the hotel is quiet. Staff is courteous. However; breakfast needs help…How do you mess up a hard-boiled egg? How can a modern hotel not have an ATM machine? How can a large modern hotel not have an exercise room? HOw can a modern hotel that caters to Americans have only one or two english speaking TV channels? I found myself asking lots of questions during my stay…Overall this is a nice hotel, but it could be so much more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was very nice, we enjoyed the Beer Hall and restaurant views. The Beer Hall is a great value as the food is excellent and there were three concert musicians playing beautiful music on a piano, violin and flute, not what we expected for a Beer Hall! Also a good sign with lots of locals attending and eating there. The only negative was there is no business center, it was just a chair with one computer in the lobby that was being used by someone not staying at the hotel. The room was very nice and service excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floor level for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked "Privilege Double" room on the 17th floor. (It is called "Deluxe non smoking room" on the English Accor official website)

I am so happy to book this room. It was so great view and comfy bed. L'Occitane bath amenities, complimentary soft drink and late check out. Double room has only 172 sqft but very clean and I could relax very much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaoriSaoriSaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights, whilst I waited for my ship to return to Yokosuka on arriving at the hotel I needed to extend my stay, and I must say the staff seamed to go out their way to accommodate me as the web indicated that the hotel was full, the staff needed to spend some time shifting rooms, but throughout the process were friendly and helpful. Whilst the rooms are small, they are certainly comfortable and manageable, the double bed was comfortable enough and had enough room on both sides of the bed, unlike some Japanese hotels were you will find beds pushed in the corner. The bathroom is small but very clean and functional. The only thing I wouldn’t recommend is the breakfast buffet option as this seemed to be lacking range. All in all you don’t have many chooses to stay in Yokosuka, the rooms are fine, the staff speak English and this hotel is pretty well located, near the train station and the Naval base.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near the railway line so if you are a light sleeper, then ask for a room on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently for a business trip. Excellent location – close to train, food, Navy base, and shopping. Rooms were big (by local standards) and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was small, but featured a wonderful washlet Toto toilet… a must-have Japan experience. Breakfast was excellent – wide variety of Japanese and international foods: all sorts of seaweed, soups, and fish for the adventurous; bacon and eggs for the timid. Breakfast is served on the top floor with a STUNNING view of the harbor around you.

Only negative: They tried to place me in a smoking room and when I insisted that I want/need a nonsmoking room, they first said they were sold out, and then tried to charge me extra. When my travel agent called the hotel booking office the following day, the apologized, and insisted that there was a mix-up, and non-smoking rooms had been available the whole time. Not sure what caused a misunderstanding, but I did spent a good 15 minutes upon my arrival arguing and pleading for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Had stayed with my wife for 2days. The service provided by Ms Mika at the front desk was good. Had a good view from the room and the location of the hotel is good as is near to the shopping centre etc. Will stay again if visit Yokosuka again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnfieldYNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yokosuka
Hotel Harbour Yokosuka
#4 of 17 in Yokosuka
42 reviews
Central Hotel
#8 of 17 in Yokosuka
80 reviews
Kannonzaki Keikyu Hotel
#1 of 17 in Yokosuka
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa-ku
Yokohama Techno Tower Hotel
Yokohama Techno Tower Hotel
#54 of 113 in Yokohama
89 reviews
Kamakura Prince Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kamakura
283 reviews
Kamakura Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Kamakura
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Yokosuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Yokosuka

Property: Mercure Hotel Yokosuka
Address: 3-27 Honcho, Yokosuka 238-0041, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokosuka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokosuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Yokosuka 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the striking Bay Square Complex, which includes the Yokosuka Arts Theatre, Mercure Yokosuka is a prominent feature in the city skyline. With the largest ballroom in the area and abundant facilities, the hotel is ideal for meetings and features restaurant and lobby lounge, plus 160 rooms. Located minutes from the Yokosuka naval bases and one hour from central Tokyo by train, Mercure Yokosuka offers easy access to shopping and the Honcho entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Hotel Yokosuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing