We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Tasty Surprise”
Review of Aquila Volans

Aquila Volans
Reserve a Table
Ranked #480 of 18,862 Restaurants in Yokohama
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Small but very busy and excellent restaurant next to the DaiwaRoynet Yokohama Koen. Buffet was a nice mix of japanese and western. The staff cleared tables quickly and the turn over was fast. The food was EXCELLENT especially the french toast with the different spreads. Loved it

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Hnl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2016

Great food, great and friendly staff. Have chat with the owner (he's from Italy). Lot's of fun. Highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Sjapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel above this restaurant (Daiwa Roynet Yokohama Koen, also a great hotel and I will review separately) and breakfast is served in this restaurant. So we figured we'd have dinner here too, as we'd had a big day of walking all over the city.
First of all it was a Monday night, so perhaps that's not a big night for eating out here, but it was quiet. For most of the night it was us and at most one other couple. By the time we left after a little over an hour there'd maybe been five tables of people total. That meant good, quick service from the staff, but we wondered how they cover costs!
The food is well priced, we had entrees and mains plus five cocktails (mixed spirits) and coffee for about ¥9500.
We had the shrimp and avocado salad (yum, with a great tangy dressing), mussels steamed in a white wine sauce ( also yum, my husband was scooping up the leftover sauce and eating it by itself), prosciutto pizza (Japan sometimes does odd pizza, but this was tasty, with a great thin but not chewy base and a tasty sauce) and steak and fries (meat was tender, fries were crispy).
I tried a cocktail of cinzano with a mixed fruit juice combo and it was delicious. The coffee was also nice, up to my husband's exacting standards (and if you've been to Japan you know a good coffee, not Starbucks crap, can be hard to find).
The staff were friendly and entertaining and my husband got a free mini pudding so we certainly felt taken care of. Also if you need this, the menu is is English (clear English, not confusing English which is sometimes the case).
Across the road from the stadium and near Chinatown, try this restaurant out if you don't fancy another meal of noodles or steamed dumplings!

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank JulieLee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquila Volans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing