We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel JAL is a great hotel, with clean and quite rooms, good buffet breakfast, Clean modern hotel with all the facilities you expect from a modern business hotel. Rooms were good, bed was comfortable, very quiet on an evening, excellent a/c,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    489
    109
    23
    9
See reviews for
188
159
153
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

JAL city hotel or Nikko hotel is a really trusted name. Hotel is super clean. Seating in between China town and Nohonodori station, it is surrounded by heaps of restaurants. Nothing here is comprimised.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Yokohama, Jal Kannai

Located in a quiet side street with a very convenient tube line,Nihon-Odori, only 100 metres away. Chinatown, with over 150 restaurants, is about 150 metres away.
We stopped for 6 nights in a deluxe double on the 10th floor ( 1013). We booked 60 days ahead which meant the room (Yen9,000 per night average - nights vary or £75 for 2) was cheaper than the Corporate rate my ex- Japanese company could obtain. 
Although smaller than,say,UK deluxe rooms, the room was comfortable, very quiet on an evening, excellent a/c, and a VERY comfortable bed and pillow. Good facilities - fridge ( there is a convenience store on the next block for beers, milk for your own cereal,etc), Internet cable( don't forget your Ethernet to USB connector especially if you have an "Apple"- then you can use your Macair to send out wifi signals for your iPad, iPhone, etc), small desk, tv ( only Japanese tv) and a compact bathroom with shower over a typical deep but short bath. The room was modern and kept immaculate. We brought our own cereal and fruit, thereby saving the breakfast fee of Yen 1500 ( £12.50 at March 2012 rates )each. There is an Excelsior cafe about 200 metres to the right out of the hotel, 2 blocks away near Yamashita park. They do "breakfast sets" ( hot drink and various toasties) until 11am.
You are 2 stops away from the Landmark and Queens Gate shopping centre, or 6 mins away from Yokohama station. About 20 mins from Shin-Yokohama Shinkansen ( tube to Kikuna, change to JR one stop). Ishikawacho station is a 10 minute walk through Chinatown. Use Hyperdia.com for train times and connection planning, Kamakura is about 30 minutes via Ofuna from the latter station. On the way back through Ofuna go into the Tsukiji stand up sushi bar for best value sushi in the area. 
The Yokohama baseball sodium is a 5 minute walk from Jal Kannai.
Lunch is always excellent value in Japan, BUT you must be in the restaurant before 12 noon or go after 1 pm as the hordes of local office workers descend for their one hour lunch. A favourite is a Ten-don bar ( tempura over a savoury rice, plus miso, pickles etc) above the Sitar Indian restaurant about 100 metres away( left out of reception,first left and next block corner). Closed Monday I think. Or Takedai 2 blocks away opposite Shell garage ( downstairs).Or Lunchan Ave that serves 4 dish choice (pasta, curry,sandwich,salad) - on the corner opposite Post Office near Nihon-Odori tube. All around Yen 1,000 each for lunch. If you want to give Japanese food a miss one night then try "Visconti", a very small but lovely atmosphere pizza place between baseball stadium and Motomachi shopping street, about 10-15 minute walk. The latter street is excellent to wander with very nice shops as well as Excelsior,Pompadour and the wonderfully stocked Union supermarket. We often had sushi or sashimi from Union to eat in our room. 
You can reach Osambashi and the waterfront from the Jal Kannai in about 4-5 minutes.
Jal Kannai staff are professional and most of them can communicate in English. A good choice hotel for Yokohama.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room, away from lifts on a higher floor.For example we had room 1013. No great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

i recently stayed here in December to watch Barcelona in the World club Cup,

The hotel was clean in a great location only a few minutes walk to the main train station.

The breakfast was expensive for the selection of food.

Rooms where not the greatest in size but they were cleaned and well looked after and moden.

If i was to return to Japan i would defo go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollieboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
562 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked a half-double. We got much more than we expected. New or nearly new hotel, lots and lots of amenities, super comfy and decent size room. On a quiet street but right next to Chinatown and within walking distance (with subway stations along the way if you get tired) to shopping, seashore and other sites. We preferred a close-by McDonald's rather than the expensive breakfast buffet at the hotel. Mostly business suits, few tourists at the hotel in early November. Great rates available on Japan travel websites. Easily accessible by subway from Tokyo and much cheaper than staying at Kamakura.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Having just got back from a trip to Japan, in which we were in this hotel for 6nights, i thought i would give a write up whilst the trip is still fresh in the mind.
The reception is very modern and the people on reception very friendly, the levels of English were adequate, however they did make as much effort as possible in helping out when we needed their help.
The room despite being a premium twin was very small. It was just about big enough but when we have 2 big spaces and not anywhere to put it then its difficult. The room had all oft he normal amenities and a fridge to put stuff in. We were told there wasnt any Wi-Fi in the rooms, which was a sligth inconvenience but the amount of time spent in the room it was hardly an issue.
great location and close to the station which links to Yokohoma and Tokyo.
We ahd breakfast in the hotel 1 morning, and for the cost Y1500 it wasnt worth it, the breakfast wasnt great. However this was the only negative towards the hotel.
if I am ever in Yokohoma again, then I will definitley return to this hotel. The hotel has great public transport access and is within walking distance of ChinaTown and the fair in Yokohoma.

Room Tip: book a premium room, as even though this is small, it will still be far bigger than the Standard twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

As with most Japanese hotels the rooms are compact. However the level of decor and comfort are just as typically Japanese. Fridge, TV, Desk, Phone, Hairdryer etc as usual in Japanese hotels. This is a new hotel, or at least seems that way. Bathroom was spotless, bed very comfy, internet free and TV ok... but no English channels when we were there.
The hotel itself is just outside of Chinatown (5 mins walk), and just a 2 minute stroll from the Nihonodori station (Minato Mirai/Tokyu Line). This made travel to Yokohama centre, and JR lines to Shonan/Tokyo areas very easy, as well as allowing easy access to Minato Mirai (Landmark Tower area). If you are visiting offices in Yokohama or Minato Mirai, this would be a sensible option as you won't pay the premium of Yokohama Centre, or the Royal Park Hotel etc. Overall a very good option in the area if you are visiting Yokohama... you are also close to the baseball stadium, if that is your kind of thing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 113 in Yokohama
773 reviews
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama

Property: Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Address: 72 Yamashitacho Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0023, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jal City Kannai Hotel Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing