We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the pictures and description from YHV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan)
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Don't believe the pictures and description from YHV”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Based on the description from YHV, we booked the LB flat as Asia Room was already occupied. The room is freakishly small. It cannot be called a flat. Having traveled Japan extensively, LB flat is certainly the smallest little shoe box ever. It definitely cannot host two people. One has to make a bed on the floor halfway in the corridor and halfway under the kitchen cabinet. There simply is not enough space for two people and luggage. The flat was not clean when we checked in yet we were told to clean it on check-out. There are no cleaning products. We had to purchase these ourselves. Also, the flat does not have any toiletries (something that is always provided in even the cheapest of Japanese lodging) or towels. The room also had a terrible urine-like smell. At the price one should expect more. It is also not so centrally located as the owners believe it to be. Without a rail pass, travel to and from the area can become pricey during longer stays. The area also seem a bit seedy with plenty of homeless people hanging around. That said, I never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Try other lodging
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    5
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
6
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I fully agree with some of the opinions given here. The Hostel Village is a place I wouldn't recommend easily. I think this is the last option you should choose if you are travelling around Yokohama. I previouly stayed at a business hotel in Yokohama with insuite and nice beds which was cheaper than this one.

Positive
- Staff speaking English.
- You can use this hostel as a base if you intend to study japanese and need a cheap place.
- There was a water machine with free purified water.
- Wifi.

Negative
- The rooms were in the 5th floor (no lift and non air-conditioning in the corridors).
- There were only 2 bathrooms for a 5 floors building (you had to pay when using one of the showers).
- The room was VERY small. We were two people and it was imposible to put the futons for 2 people on the floor. It was also difficult to move around and to store our bags too.
- The kitchens were very old-fashioned, I would even say it was a bit dangerous to use one of them.
- The neighbourhood is not brilliant, but we didnt feel unsecured.

In conclusion, I feel that taking into account the price and the small size of the rooms, its not an interesting option.

Room Tip: If you are two people, you better get two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yokohama hotels

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been staying at YHV for a week now and it keeps getting better. It's close to everything you need and the staff is amazing. Friendly, helpfull people who can all speak good English and Japanese. The room I'm staying in is small but more then enough space to store my luggage and sleep. Also it comes with a fridge, airo, TV and bookshelf. For 3000 Yen a night this is a really good deal, price will go down if you book for more then a week.
There's also a kitchen you can use, a roof terras with plants and free WiFi. Best of all is that there is no curfew. They let you go your own way if you want to and can socialise if your up for that.
I can highly recommend this place for backpackers, exchange students.
I've read in other reviews that it's unsafe, while it is a back neighberhood with a lot of old people who roam the streets, it's very safe even in the middle of the night. Japanese woman also walk around here alone, anytime in the day or night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankZ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My experience in Yokohama has been very good to say the least. The city is so beautiful and there us much to see and learn here in Yokohama. I stayed at this hostel for 17 nights and I found it to be very convineint. I could go sightseeing and also come back to the hostel with no problems. It is fairly close to Ishikawa cho station and although the neighborhood isn't the best in Yokohama, it is not too bad.
The hostel has no elevators but the staff was more than willing to help me get my luggage to my room.
The rooms may be a bit small but if you want to stay in your room while on vacation in Japan then maybe a regular hotel would be in your best interests.
There is a shower there and you need to use the white board to reserve your time to use the shower.
The staff is very helpful and most can speak some english.
Free breakfast on Sunday was also great !! Nothing like free food !!
If your looking for something in central Yokohama and looking for a ggreat price than this is your place !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggystyle045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here two of the nights we were in Yokohama in a twin bunk bed room.

Pro's
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Reasonably priced bicycle hire

Con's
- Horrendously small room, barely even enough room to get dressed
- 5 Floors but no lift
- Wifi only available in the stairwell
- Damp room
- Uncomfortable, squeaky bunk beds that are nearly falling apart
- Loud construction work starting outside the room at 9am
- Only 2 showers to serve a 5 story building
- 250 yen charge to hire a towel (usually 70-100yen on average in Japan)
- 100 yen charge to use the shower for 6 mins
- Not particularly well located and a fair walk from the city centre
- May seem slightly cheaper than other places, but not really if you want a shower and don't have your own towel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCURTIS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hostel room was extremely small, so if you are claustrophobic it is highly not recommended. Probably enough space for 1 person per room with a small luggage.

There was only 1 private shower room to cater to everyone staying on that floor. That left me waiting for 1 hour and 45 mins to get into the shower, even though i have "booked" the shower on the white board for "shower room booking". Amenities are charged as you use.

The cleanliness of the room, shower room, and common kitchen was questionable.

There were no lifts in the hostel, so if you have luggage, it's not very convenient.

Also, the hostel is located in a gloomy area where it does not feel safe at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

the room for 2 is smaller than my double bed. there are no lifts, rooms are situated on the 4th and 5th floors. pretty much nothing is provided except for the 1 shower room which is shared across the entire floor and a small tv/fridge/foldable table in the room. the hostel itself is a good 15-20 min walk from the station and in an extremely dodgy part of town. the streets are filled with drunkards and homeless people at night. the staff are friendly but the atmosphere is pretty dead. i will never stay here again. it's worth paying extra for a better place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Tsurumi-ku
Best Western Yokohama
Best Western Yokohama
#24 of 114 in Yokohama
148 reviews
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Gu
Hotel MyStays Yokohama
Hotel MyStays Yokohama
#36 of 114 in Yokohama
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
782 reviews
Hotel Livemax Yokohama Kannai
#82 of 114 in Yokohama
43 reviews
Gu
Yokohama Isezakicho Washington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan)

Property: Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan)
Address: 3-11-2 Matsukage-cho, Naka-ku | 5 mins from JR Ishikawacho station, close to Chinatown, Yokohama 231-0025, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty lodging in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan) 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Tokyo,Kamakura,Hakone and Shinkansen station!!Cheap,Clean & Friendly accommodation bear Tokyo !Tourists around the world & Japanese young people come to enjoy our hostel & make new friends!! 1 person private 3100yen/day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Yokohama Hostel Village (Hayashi Kaikan) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing