We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold in the very small rooms.”
Review of Heiwa Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heiwa Plaza Hotel
Ranked #65 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mold in the very small rooms.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband I traveled to several Japanese cities before our last stop at the Heiwa Plaza Hotel. The room was small and dirty the bed is laughable for 2 to sleep in comfortably. After a second lousy night and another major allergy attack and further investigation of the room I noticed behind the bed a large amount of Black Mold. I reported to the front desk which then upgraded us to a larger room.
Why were we not offered that room in the beginning we will never know.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the top floor where the hotel was recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    54
    7
    12
See reviews for
20
10
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Takasaki, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As long as you don't have high expectations, it fits the bill!
We paid 8000 yen for room only, small double.
We got what we paid for; a small double so didn't get the best night sleeps
(I have stayed in several hotels in Japan and this was small even for Japan standards!) BUT...
great location, 15 mins walk - on the same road to harbour area and other attractions inc. Red Brick Warehouse (if you go there I reccomened chano-ma cafe on the 3rd floor, great place with beds to eat on and rest!)

Hotel Easy to find, exit 5 from Bashamichi station, walk up the steps, keep going, and its the 2nd/3rd block on the right, (just look down the street to find it on the right)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is only 8 minutes away from the Sakuragicho Station and a couple minutes walk from the Bashamichi Station. There are a lot of great restaurants and pubs within a 5 minute walking radius. The hotel itself is in the middle of a little block of side streets, but was easy to find. The hotel sign is made up of big neon rope lettering over the entrance of the building.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They spoke very good English. The hotel lobby had wireless internet, vending machines that offered drinks and instant noodles, a waiting area, shoe buffing machine, and pay phones.

The hotel room was your standard size Japanese room, small. I had a twin bedroom with two full-size beds. As you walked in, the bathroom was directly in front of you. (By the way, if you are over 6 feet tall, be careful of the walk in. The height of the door is literally only 6 feet tall.) The bathroom is oddly a slight step up from the room itself and a little small. The bathroom has a fancy toilet with a heated bidet for front and back wash. The bathroom comes with shampoo, conditioner, body wash, razor, and dental kit.

Directly to the left of the entrance is a small refrigerator with hot water boiler on top for complimentary tea. Next to this is the desk with a small monitor size tv. The desk comes with a lamp, mirror, wired internet connection (must get the wire from the front desk), and hair dryer. The tv has about a dozen or so stations, all of which are in Japanese. There are also pay-per-view movies with asian, western, and adult titles which you need to get vending tickets to view.

Behind the desk are the beds and nightstand. The beds are really small with enough space in between to walk through. The beds themselves were a little hard, but thats how most asian hotel beds seem to be. On top the beds were sleeping robes, bath towels, and hand towels for your use. At the very back corner of the room was a small deep recess where you put your luggage and hang your clothes. Against the back wall was the window with an a/c above.

One thing to note, if you are a non-smoker, be sure to get a non-smoking room because there are both types of room. Also, Japanese hotels are very strict about the amount of people in the room. So if your friend misses their last train home and wants to sleep over for the next morning train, the hotel will probably charge you extra. This was a little surprising for me considering in the U.S. we would have hotel parties where people would crash-out on the beds, couch, and ground. Just F.Y.I.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a conveniently located hotel that is comfortable and reasonably priced. The hotel and rooms were very clean. Like most of the hotels I stay at, this hotel would suite the solo, business, or friends type traveler. It would also suite couples if they are not expecting a lot in terms of hotel amenities. This hotel is more for recouping and getting up and out in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xbreadboyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a space to lay your head for an overnighter this is the hotel for you. The room was spartan and the amenities skimpy. Staff was courteous and knew English, a plus for an English speaker like me. The location was perfect with tourist spots within walking distance. The price was steep for the room I got.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mordecai U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yokohama hotels

1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

You get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and offered to change my towel and sheets when I stayed in my room for the whole day. Yakisoba was relatively cheap. Central location. Cleanliness was okay. Not the most spacious room. I was going to stay there again but surprised it had been booked out.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillo_da_kiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

"The worst hotel" would be a good explanation.
The rooms are small... OK, no problem... We are in Japan.
Anyways, the breakfast is really bad. Not many things to choose. The tea is bad and the rest is lowest standard at all. The breakfast room looks like it should be renovated about 10 years ago. Dust and dirt can be found in every corner.
The is in the rooms. The good thing is that the rooms are so small that there are not many corners for dust. Anyways, when entering the room, the dirt inside consisted of a wide combination. I found normal dust and hairs in the room and in the bathroom and I found moldt in the bathroom.
The temperature inside was at about 40 degrees celsius. The smell was disgusting, like old smoke and everything else that you don't want to smell. The corridor outside the room is not better of course.
Here is something to mention: In front of the emergency doors, some extra beds can be found, blocking the emergency doors.
The only good thing is the location, but close to it are other hotels, which are just little more expensive. One advice: Get another hotel and pay the extra amount!!!

I'm not a person who needs highest standards. In fact I was traveling in developing countries, staying in hostels. Any hostel I stood, was better than this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krylin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel check-in time is 1600hr which is very late. When we ask if the rooms are ready and was told to pay 2450JPY per person. We have 7 adults. The rooms was very small and very cold as there is no heater for winter.

Breakfast was ok only. We paid about the same price as our stay in Hilton Tokyo 5 star hotel !!!! This is a budget hotel and the check-in : 1600 check-out: 1000

We were glad that we stayed one night only.


Will never ever recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zippysin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Kannai
HOTEL EDIT YOKOHAMA
HOTEL EDIT YOKOHAMA
#8 of 113 in Yokohama
145 reviews
Gu
APA Hotel Yokohama Kannai
APA Hotel Yokohama Kannai
#95 of 113 in Yokohama
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Comfort Hotel Yokohama Kannai
Gu
Super Hotel Yokohama Kannai
Super Hotel Yokohama Kannai
#21 of 113 in Yokohama
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heiwa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heiwa Plaza Hotel

Property: Heiwa Plaza Hotel
Address: 5-65 Otamachi, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0011, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kannai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heiwa Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heiwa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heiwa Plaza Yokohama
Hotel Heiwa Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing