We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Save
Yokohama Custom Full Day Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$204.62
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Shinyokohama Ramen Museum
from $204.62
More Info
from $143.23
More Info
from $1,091.30
More Info
from $95.49
More Info
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveler rating
244
422
246
85
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
244
422
246
85
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramen noodles bowl downstairs shop japan restaurants stalls varieties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2019

If you love ramen, and have a thing for Showa-era Japan, then you MUST visit! We went in the evening on a weekday, which I highly recommend. It was pretty empty and we were able to wander around and choose where to eat without worrying about lines. My only regret is that my stomach isn't large enough to eat every single bowl this place had to offer!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank iysabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been to the Shinyokohama Ramen Museum 3-4 times over the years. My wife only went the last time a few weeks ago.

Since my previous visit, they improved the “museum” aspect on ground level with a demo counter. The gift shop seemed smaller. Downstairs is unchanged - and good for that! The decor is the facades from 1958 Japan and it’s awesome. You have branches of the best ramen shops around Japan and a guest shop from abroad. You will get a guide (available in several languages) that describes the style of each place and signature dish. They are rated on type of noodle, richness of broth, etc. Lines will form and there are a couple of status boards showing estimates of the wait time. Some of the most popular things will have waits of 45 minutes or more at times. They are all great. Go early to get into a popular one quickly for a small bowl, then go to another with a shorter line.

Tips: there is an old-time candy shop, a bar, and a lounge as well. You will need Japanese yen cash, you order food by buying tickets from machines as in many small Japanese restaurants. There are English menus. Most shops do have a vegetarian or vegan broth in addition to pork or whatever is their standard. The cost of entry is worth it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 435williamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Museum is very small. We taught after paying some entrance fee, the price of Ramen will be cheaper but you can get better taste around Tokyo or Yokahama with same price. If you have extra money and time to burn, then talking some nice photo might worth for the fee.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank waihong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

The museum surrounding ramen and its history is very interesting and informative. The downstairs eating area looks fantastic and the restaurants give very large servings but the area is very cramped.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank middlemisswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

As most other reviewers already mentioned, most come for the unique ambiance. There are quite a few ramen houses inside although I wouldn’t say it’s the cheapest. Most of the prices are on par with what you would pay outside on top of the entrance fee 310¥. The benefit is having all types of ramen available under 1 roof. I won’t repeat what other posts have already mentioned. The biggest and most convenient part of the experience was that every shop has their menu translated into multiple languages, with English being one of them. It’s usually hanging in the side of the payment machine outside the shop. This alone made the experience more enjoyable. My guess is that the museum prints out the menus for every restaurant so they do the translations for them.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank HOD0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews