We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ikemen was the best.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinyokohama Ramen Museum

Shinyokohama Ramen Museum
Ranked #19 of 493 things to do in Yokohama
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We open 365days. Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum was founded on March 6th, 1994 as the world's first food-themed amusement park. From the start, our concept has been to be the one-stop place to enjoy the flavors of this national dish from renowned shops across Japan without stepping on a plane. To commemorate our 20th anniversary, we've expanded on the Japan-wide concept to being one that covers areas worldwide, delivering even more of the attraction and fascination of ramen to one and all. Our nine ramen shops are showcased in a street-scape replication from the year 1958, Japan. It was in this year that the world's first instant ramen was invented.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Viti Levu, Fiji
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ikemen was the best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We enjoyed performance and kids bought some balloon from the small sweet shop and they love it.
Hope parking fee gets much cheaper.
I went several shop to taste Ramen but over all, Ikemen was the best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank priscillafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    271
    161
    57
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great theme & decoration, but not really convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The first thing that impressed me is the whole theme & decoration of the place, really showing you how the city looks like decades ago, including all the staffs are dressing up and behaves like the people from that time, I can see big effort this place give for the "visual" aspects.
I came here with my family, and we're planning to have different ramen from different booths in there, they have the option of small portion of ramen, but turned out it's not really small. And what made us not really comfortable about it, that turned out there's this rule once you came in and ask around about the ramen, you MUST buy 1 ramen from that booth, well thankfully me & my family are all hungry, and we do want to give a taste of all of them, it's not really a problem for us. But for people who don't really wanna buy 1 on every booth they entered, that could cause quite a mood-dropper when you're forced to buy something you literally just ask around about. I mean, if this is a "museum" as it says, that shouldn't happen, right?
Anyway, all the ramen are delicious and has their own uniqueness. Oh, there's also some old toys and candy shop in it. If you're a fan of ramen, this museum worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ayu_Ranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time (and money) to come here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

You pay to enter this place and then you pay again to enjoy the ramen. There is no exhibit involved in this museum, this is essentially a food court of supposedly great ramen around Japan (and including one from the USA). Also as I was travelling with my partner, we can't each order from different stores to share as (1) there isn't a centralised dining area where you could do this (2) the smaller portions are not really small (3). there is a rule which state each person must buy at least 1 bowl once you enter the restaurant. In the end we only had 1 ramen from 1 single restaurant, but to the restaurant's credit, the ramen was good. This place COULD have been better if they did away with the individual dining areas at the restaurant and just have a central dining area, but until they do that, I won't be recommending this place or coming back. I can have a very good bowl of ramen in many places in Japan, without needing an admission fee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Visually interesting but not a Museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The admission charge (~$3 per adult) is likely for paying performers - which add to the entertainment value of the visit but completely unrelated to anything ramen. Great detail has been paid to the recreation of what a small city block looked like several decades ago. However, the cramped space filled with people leaves no opportunity to enjoy the décor in any details. As picture-worthy as this detailed recreation may seem, there is basically just one decent angle to photograph the "museum". Google this place and see for yourself in the Images tab.

It's cool that some visitors had a good time, and I actually did too (mildly). But being entertained is quite different than a legitimate museum experience of gaining a deeper connection and more profound understanding of ramen. The experience is not terrible at all, but it's quite misleading to name it a museum. The Cup Noodles Museum in Minato Mirai is, by contrast, a legitimate museum that also surpasses this place in entertainment value.

Moreover, there are more enjoyable (and centrally located) ways to timewarp back several decades. Both Yanaka and Ebisu Yokocho offer an authentic throwback experience. Even amongst throwback recreations, this place falls short of Daiba Icchome Shopping Street in Odaiba. All-in-all, unless you're transiting through Shin-Yokohama like I was, I recommend giving this place a miss.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Collection of Japan’s Best Ramen Shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This “Museum” is not about art or historical items displayed in cases, it is a place where you can experience ramen culture by eating samples from some of the most popular shops across the country.

The ground floor has a corner showing how the type of ramen differs across Japan’s regions, and a store where you can buy Ramen-related goods, such as instant ramen versions of the most popular items at some of the famous shops, ramen bowls, and actual staff T-Shirts.

But the main attraction (from my point of view) is in the basement. Go down the stairs, and you will be in a recreation of 1958 Japan, complete with sights and sounds from that era, where it is permanently evening and Ramen Shops on the narrow back streets near the train station are opening up. It’s like stepping into a movie set – a bit cheezy, but fun.

As you exit from the stairway, you can get a floor map in English listing the shops that are currently there – some of them seem to change from time to time. The same information is also on the Museum’s website.

You buy tickets for whatever you want to eat from the vending machine outside each shop including drinks and side dishes such as gyoza (dumplings) – you can choose mini-sizes of ramen, so that you can try several varieties from different restaurants. When you are seated, the waiter will take your tickets, then bring your order. The wait to get into a shop can be quite long, but once you are seated things move quickly. The most recent time I visited, I had the Miso broth ramen from Sumire, and the Soy broth ramen from Shinasobaya – both excellent.

I went once on a weekend and had to wait in some very long lines, but when I went back months later on a weekday I only had to wait a few minutes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martok_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinyokohama Ramen Museum also viewed

Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Shinyokohama Ramen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing