We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Sankeien Gardens

Sankeien Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.64*
and up
Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo
More Info
$431.06*
and up
Half Day Private Custom Chartered Taxi Tour of Yokohama
More Info
$797.92*
and up
Full-Day Private Custom Chartered Taxi Tour of Yokohama
Ranked #2 of 531 things to do in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I visited these gardens on the way to Hakone from Tokyo. They are just stunning, the walk around the lake is easy going, the staff are very helpful, you must visit the pagoda too. They are one of the collection of stunning gardens we visited whilst in Japan, and would recommend you call in for a visit, you will need approx 2 hours, but you can have a quick look in an hour if you are short of time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank letskeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    331
    63
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kensington CAUSA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We spent 4 hours here”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

But we like gardens. We also had a dinner reservation at Miwa in town so tied this visit with our special dinner. Be sure to see the inner garden. You go around a building where you can buy tea ceremony tea and cake. The inner garden also has a pond with pavilions and bridges. To get here to can take a bus from Yokohama JR station. We were there on a weekend so many brides in white and in colorful kimonos for picture taking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

A place I highly recommend people to go to. Very rich history in all the little houses build in it with beautiful couples dressed up in traditional kimono for bridal shoot. The pond has got cute ducklings swimming in it. Making the place look very peaceful and nice for photoshoot.
Did the tea ceremony in there. Surrounded by beautiful ponds and plants. A must go I would say.

Helpful?
Thank Junecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful garden not to be missed in Yokohama. Much beautiful during spring, sakura. Volunteer people are very nice and warm. The green tea is also a must try.

Helpful?
Thank Kulasa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Serenity discovered”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Yokohama centre, these gardens are an escape for a serene walk, with ancient architecture and breathtaking scenery. I felt like a Japanese princess in a fairytale land.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sankeien Gardens also viewed

Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Sankeien Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing