We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The thing about Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel is that it has a great location and access from railway station (right opposite), business district and downtown. It's a basic business hotel and has served me well on my trips. Rooms are small but clean and some of them face the ocean and Minato Mirai side. Language can be bit of a challenge but I found them willing to help.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the ocean side for a nice view...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Arun_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Decided to spend the weekend in Yokohama with my daughter and booked this hotel on Expedia which had a buy 1 get 1 night free deal. If it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have booked this hotel for the outrageous weekend rate the hotel typically goes for on FRI & SAT nights.

With that said, we had a room with two twin beds and there was enough space for myself and my daughter for a comfortable stay. The hotel is located in a great location. Very close to the train station and walking distance to all the places to see in Minatomirai area. There are several bus stops right in front of the train station which makes it easy to hop on and go to other more local areas of Yokohama as well.

So, location is awesome. However, there are certainly better hotels in this area. If you are looking for a romantic stay with your significant other; do not go here. Your date will not be impressed. Their check-out is also set early at 10Am while other hotels in the area are usually 11AM or noon.

Also, one other thing about the room's thermostat. It automatically resets to 26C even when you adjust it lower so don't expect the AC to be working as well as you like. Might be too warm for some but still felt so much cooler than being outside in 35C heat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

By the name, i was thingking it's 5 stars hotel. When i came, it's different. Room size is too squeeze. But location is great. It's walking distance to the harbour, business area, and tourist spot.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent two nights and the stay was ok, nothing great about this hotel. Rooms are small and you need to pick up toiletries from the reception. The internet is wired and you have to ask for the cable but the internet speed is good. The restaurant has fabulous views of the city but the food options are limited especially for a vegetarian. You need to be patient with the hotel staff as they speak very less English. Train station is very close. Overall, it is a decent business hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed for 6 nights in mid June. This hotel is just across from the railway station. It was late in the evening when I arrived. Only took a few minutes to check in. My room was on the 13th floor. It was small but the bed was comfortable, the room had aircon and the bathroom was small but ok. The toilet was amusing as it was equipped with a function to shoot a jet of warm water up your......enough said. I detected no tobacco oder in the room.

No wifi in hotel. They offered me an Ethernet cable but I only had my iPad. To get online I went into the lobby of a fancier hotel that you can get to from the Quuen's Tower mall.

The breakfast was generous and did offer food acceptable to westerners, although Japanese guests slurping what looked like fish eyeball soup took a bit of getting used to.

All in all a decent hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel, it is very basic. That said, it is also very comfortable and clean, located within walking distance from most of Yokohama's attractions. Rooms are small, but so are most hotel rooms in Japan, and these were not the smallest. Bathroom was very clean, and so were all the other facilities.

IMPORTANT - there is wired internet in the rooms, but NO WIRELESS. Therefore, bring your own cable to attach your computer to the wall.

The rooms do slightly smell of cigarrette smoke, and it appears that you can smoke in them, as an ashtray is provided. Oddly, though, there is a smoke detector in the room, and you are warned not to alarm it by showering with the door open. The room window does not open, so it is unclear how anyone smokes in there, really...

Some of the staff speak very basic English, others not even that. I came across staff members that were not very helpfull, borderline rude in dissmissing you, due to the language barrier.

There is a selection of good restaurents in the building and in nearby buildings, but its importants to note that downtown Yokohama as well as the vibrant China-town, is just 5 minutes walk from this hotel, offering an almost endless selection of restaurants, bars and clubs. Also, don't miss the street performances in the square in front of Sakuragicho station, just outside the hotel, and live music in the clubs downtown.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has an ocean view, the other side faces an office building. I think there is a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Rooms were very small and smelled very much of cigarette smoke.

Check-in took almost an hour.

Restaurants close before 21.30.

Room Tip: there are much better hotels nearby apparently - royal park for example
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Yokohama Isezakicho Washington Hotel
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Tsurumi-ku
Best Western Yokohama
Best Western Yokohama
#24 of 114 in Yokohama
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel

Address: 1-101-1 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0062, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range: $66 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yokohama Sakuragi-Cho Washington Hotel stands at the entrance of "Minato Mirai 21", a large seaside urban area with a wealth of attractions, including Japan's tallest building as well as Pacifico Yokohama which is one of the largest convention centers in the world. Good location of being directly in front of Sakuragicho stations of JR and Yokohama City Metro Lines makes it a good choice for both leisure and business travelers, providing our guests with comfort and convenience. Yokohama Sakuragi-Cho Washington Hotel accommodates a 24-hour convenience store, a variety of 14 restaurants and cafes. Guests can enjoy panoramic and glamorous views of Minato Mirai from ocean side guestrooms or restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yokohama Sakuragicho Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing