We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value; convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value; convenient location”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The Intercontinental is a melon-shaped hotel anchoring the eastern edge of the ultra-modern Minato-Mirai harbor complex in Yokohama; thus it is extremely conveniently located, a 3 minute walk through walkways to the Minato-Mirai subway stop or a 10 minute walk (again through enclosed plazas to the Sakuragicho JR station; either way, one can get to the hotel door to door in literally <100 minutes from Narita. The second big plus is easy access to great food, dozens of restaurants in the adjoining Queens Place and Landmark Plaza complexes: tonkatsu, tempura, sushi, ramen, chinese, etc.... incredibly good food at very reasonable prices.
As for the hotel itself: as other reviews noted, somewhat tired decor; offset by very very generous sized rooms, (esp compared with the next door Royal), wonderful harbor views; biggest negative: liked Thursday, Friday; but, by weekend, was overrun with weddings and wedding guests. Free wireless worked well. Very reasonable rates: paid <$140/night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    703
    233
    69
    34
See reviews for
394
451
153
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indore
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Its a great experience and all business neads are covered during stay which is away from home. Also the staff did not feel uncomfortable even if some thing is asked at mid night.

  • Liked — Great View of the Pacific
  • Disliked — Drinking Water
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VinM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel a little over a year ago, but didn't post a review then. So I was a bit surprised at the reviews stating it was either old or outdated. I couldn't have disagreed more...then. This time was a bit different.

Last year, I was on the club floors (had to move mid way through stay as I had to extend my trip). The room was impressive, but not very colorful. Very large room and an excellent view of the harbor for the first week and the amusement park the rest of the stay. Bed(s) were soft and pillows very comfortable. Not a huge english TV selection, but enough of JSport(ESPN partly), CNN, BBC and at least one more channel that seemed to be a mix of WB/Fox shows and reruns. Lobby was huge and well arranged. Staff was extremely helpful. The young lady near the front desk insisted she take my luggage up to the room as we walked together. My bag was almost bigger than she was. (Really, I tried to take it at least twice, but she insisted, and I didn't to be rude. She had to be under 5' tall, and I'm 6'2", so it was a slightly embarrasing to let her take it...) They also let me borrow an umbrella for almost my entire stay this time (they same one they were selling at the hotel gift shop). Didn't even as for my room number.

Room service was quick and the food was above average. It, as well as the other restaurants on site, were expensive (breakfast buffet was around $30US). A lot of variety to choose from...French, Chinese, Italian, Japanese, Buffet style, so you can probably find something to keep you full during your stay. The mall across the walk has plenty of options, though, including local cuisine as well as a wide variety of "Western" establishments (Subway, McDonalds, Krispy Kreme...doesn't open until 10AM, Sizzler,etc.) and they were all reasonable, except for KK...over $10 for a dozen doughnuts!.

As some have mentioned, the weekends are full of events and lot of weddings. It was pretty cool to see many of the elegant wedding dresses as well as traditional Geisha/Kimono type look (sorry, not sure what else to call it).

Now to the difference, pretty much the room. Last time I was very impressed. Pant press, soft and comfy bed, large desk and sitting area, robe, etc. This time, the carpet was visably dirty (black traffic patterns) even in the elevator lobby and hallways, spotty internet service, hard bed and pillows, all beige decor, low lighting. Now this was not awful, but certainly not what I experienced on my first stay. I remember stopping on a few other floors going down and noticed the carpets in the lobby areas were vastly different (dirty/clean/new/old). I wonder if just certain floors are more updated than others. Even dirty trails from people touching the walls were evident on my floor this time (20th floor) and not there on others.

Very close to Subway and JREast lines and the mall was just huge. Plenty to do if you want ot stay within a mile of the hotel. There was a SPA on site, but didn't get to try it. I would have given the hotel a 5 last time and a 3 this time because of the room, so I'll give it a 4 overall. Paid 16,000 Yen per night this time, but I'm pretty sure it was 25,000 per night last time for the club floor.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsysana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

2 nights, with a 1 year old and in-laws on club floor.

The rooms are all nice and clean, but they're of mid 90s vintage. Large but dated. Stay in an ocean view room if possible. Stunning view of Yokohama bay. Club lounge is also dated, but the staff are very attentive and courteous. Not so other staff in the hotel, as per my note below.

Note that this is a wedding hotel. I wouldn't be surprised if that is where they make most of their money... The place is jammed on weekends, and wedding guests take up all the staff's attention. Dont be surprised to find drunk/passed out guests in the lobby. Stay on a weekday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This hotel meets my preference. It is one of the hotels where I can get the feeling `I am staying at a hotel', completely out of daily life. Not to mention the elegant outlook, room interiors are also graceful, mostly white, and have some antique feeling. I think the exceptional coziness of this hotel comes from the maturity, passing 18 years, I guess. Staff are well trained, friendly, and polite. Very convinient, even on rainy days, with a roof connecting from Pacifico Yokohama, Minato Mirai shops and restaurants.
This is exactly the one I imagined how a fantastic hotel would be in my childhood, reading romantic picture books.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Got a single room here (ex breakfast) for 11,000 Yen. Not too bad when the Euro bought more Yen but not a great deal now. The room was great, unusually big for Japan and well furnished but I spent most of my day out.

I am used to the 10% service charge in high end Hotel bars but a 1000Yen 'sit down' charge as well was pushing it. It gets a lot of conference business and that sort of thing. I think there was a large contingent of dentists around when I was there.

Fine hotel if you're on a company tab but not a hotel you really need to stay at if you are spending your own money !!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed for two nights in June 2009. One night was booked on points and the other was using the "Friends & Family" promotion. We made our way from Tokyo to Yokohama via JR and then changed to the local subway to get to the station closest to the hotel. In all, it was a very easy travel taking no more than an hour. The trains/subways are very easy to use in this area as all signs/machines also provide service in English.
We checked into the hotel and were initially given a room with two beds. After asking for a King bed we were moved from teh 16th floor to the 11th floor; however, the view from 11 was spectacular and faced away from Cosmo World.
The room was nice decorated in 90's Southern Florida style (think white wicker like on a lanai) with blue carpet. It was comfortable and in all was tastefully done. The bathroom was a good size with seperate shower (nice!) and jetted tub (also nice!). Oh, and I love the heated toilet seat and the little built in gizmos!
The mall next door is great for fast food (McD, KFC, Wendi's). I think there was also a Starbucks. We tried the American Restaurant one night but wouldn't go back again. Over the bridge, there is another mall with restaurants and a HUGE food court on teh 1st floor, complete with grocery store and bakery. Check this place out for OJ and breakfast pastries and you'll be golden. Note: the room has a fridge if you need to keep anything chilled.
Cosmo World is a huge Amusement type park with assorted rides, games and of course, a haunted house. We spent a bit of time watching the locasl play the games of chance!
The year is Yokohama's 150th Annivesary so there were lots of activities going on over the weekend. You can fo to the Expo but it is pricey at 2400 Yen per person to get in (day pass) or 1200 Yen per person after 6pm. When we saw the price we opted to come back that night but in the end didn't go as it had started to rain.
On a final note, keep in mind this is a very large hotel with a huge convention centre attached and there were also numerous weddings over the weekend. The staff were polite and efficient but as expected, there was little personalized service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West_Coast_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Noge
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Yokohama Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Yokohama Grand

Property: InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Address: 1-1-1 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku, Yokohama 220-8522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#11 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Yokohama Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minato Mirai area is the face of the cosmopolitan City of Yokohama in the 21st century. Opening in 1991, InterContinental Yokohama Grand is the first in Japan to be operated directly by the InterContinental Hotels Group chain. Since then, the hotel, with its majestic shape of a yacht's full sail, has become a proud symbol of Minato Mirai. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay in the hotel's elegant space surrounded by blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Rakuten, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Yokohama Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Yokohama Grand Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Yokohama
Yokohama Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing