We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, lovely view, excellent beds, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, lovely view, excellent beds, but . . .”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are about as large as hotel rooms get in Japan, and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The hotel is shaped like a giant taco and we were fortunate to be in an outside-of-the-taco room looking over the bay. The breakfast buffet was outstanding.
As good as the room was, there were three problems with the hotel:
1. Fitness center was 5400 yen ($54) a visit. Working out is important to me, but I could not stomach this level of pricing and did not use it. The fitness center is run by a private company and is unusually well equipped, but I refused to pay the outrageously high fee.
2. The temperature control in the room was iffy, sometimes too cold, sometimes too warm, and impossible to get just right.
3. The Italian restaurant -- La Vera -- was a let-down, but one should assume responsibility for thinking that Italian food should be desirable in Japan with its excellent meals.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the convention rate for the hotel was reasonable. It was a good hotel, but with the choices in the area, one can do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biminip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    704
    233
    69
    34
See reviews for
395
451
153
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here due to a conference in the adjusting centre. The hotel is in a very good location close for a conference but away from the city centre. The hotel is a true 5 five, the staff and very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast has a great variety of all food and it was also fresh.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, housekeeping does a great job to maintain them but they are very tired and need a major renovation as does the entire hotel.
Overall, it was a very nice stay, the rooms is a good size for Japan and it was clean and had everything you need. There are lots of restaurants nearby and several good ones in the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe City View room, you are high up and have much more to see for your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank das1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Intercontinental is located on the Bay of Yokohama. Most rooms have a view over the bay towards Tokyo. If you are a club member, they take even more special care of you. Rooms are large and bathrooms very well equipped. The hotel offers a wide range of restaurants, however there are hundreds of restaurants and bars in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Beware: if there is an event in the nearby exhibition centre, you might wait up to one hour for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalOZtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel, because we traveled from the east coast of the U.S., close to 7,000 miles, to attend a wedding of a non family member. No, the wedding was not at the hotel, but we stayed there, because we are Ambassador Club members and expect a certain quality of service when we travel and where we stay. Also, our son, who lives in Nagoya, Japan, recommended the hotel. There is one suite on every floor, right in the peak of every floor and they charge a premium to stay there. We were first placed in the suite on the 27th floor. The suite was large, but it was very moldy and smelled foul. My wife started coughing hysterically from the mold, took an allergy pill and had to leave the room for a few hours. I opened all of the windows in the suite to ventilate the place, called house keeping to bring up an air purifier. When my wife returned she still could not enter the room, so I called and asked to switch to another suite. They placed us in the suite on the 28th floor, one floor above. That suite was also moldy, but it was not as bad as the suite on the 27th floor. Both suites smelled as if they had not been occupied in a long time. The beige carpeting on the floor in the suites had stains in several locations. Both suites, on the 27th and 28th floor appeared tired and in need of a major makeover. After several more hours of additional ventilation my wife decided to stay in the suite on the 28th floor, and we slept in the living room with the windows opened. This hotel may be rated as a 5 star hotel, but it is run like a 2 star joint. The views from the suite are absolutely beautiful from all angles, but that is meaningless if the room is not comfortable.

This hotel is very well located, right next to the Pacifico Convention Center and physically the hotel is impressive from the outside. The hotel is 30 years old or more and is in desperate need of an overhaul in management, a major makeover of the rooms and a change in the thinking of management as to how to best treat their Ambassador Club members properly. There were several outside consultants at the hotel evaluating different aspects of the management of the hotel. I met and asked the food and beverage consultant why the hotel did not offer their Ambassador Club Premium Guests a hot buffet in the evening, in the Club Room, like other hotel chains. He said that there is no kitchen in the Club Room; however, in the mornings they do serve a full breakfast. So, in reality there is no excuse. I said cook the food in the restaurants kitchen, and put a few cans of sterno under a server and the foods can be kept hot. I believe that someone is well aware that the management of this hotel is seriously lacking in multiple areas, and they may be attempting to find some solutions, because the problems are very obvious. In the meantime, we the Ambassador Club members, have to suffer or stay at another hotel.

All eight of us had lunch at the Italian restaurant at the hotel, and the food was decent. Nothing special about the food, except there was a good variety of choices.

I sincerely hope that the management of this hotel will fully address all of the areas where this hotel is lacking, sooner rather than later. We plan to return to Yokohama next year, since our son will be getting married, but we will not be staying at the Intercontinental Yokohama Grand.

I had to delay my review of this hotel experience by several weeks, because of medical reasons.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, go to another hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear travelace71,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nothing says "Welcome to Japan" like a warm bottom! But the heated toilet seat isn't the only thing that this Intercont has going for it. It sits right on the waterfront of Yokohama Bay and many of the rooms have great views over the bay. The lobby is as grand as the name suggests, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room we stayed in was large (though I think we got upgraded) and well appointed, and the bathroom was also large if a little dated.

The location is around 25 minutes from Haneda, but I guess you'd only come here if you were actually doing something in Yokohama so maybe that doesn't matter.

The hotel is very close to some good shopping malls and the underground, and breakfast is easy to come by if you prefer not to eat at the hotel. Starbucks is a 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the bay are very nice. We were in 2110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

IHG definitely got it right with this hotel!! By far exceeded our expectatons! Beautiful views, impeccable service and perfect location. Highly recommend for anyone traveling to the area. Very convenient to many attractions you will want to visit.

Room Tip: Definitely want to ask for a higher level room (we were on the 23rd floor), with a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Betautiful Hotel on the waterfront in downtown Yokohama. Easy to reach by subway..connected to queens shopping mall.
Our room was one of the smaller ones with great view of Yokohama waterfront and harbour bridge.
Outstanding service of staff. Great breakfast selection with European andJapanese cuisine BUT around $30 per person VERY expensive. The rooms are a bit old and look tired...spots on carpet flooring, AC not really very cold bathrooms ought to be updated considering the price you pay per night.
Otherwise ver pleasant!

Room Tip: Usage of pool extremely expensive because it does mot belong to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mannks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Noge
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Yokohama Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Yokohama Grand

Property: InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Address: 1-1-1 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku, Yokohama 220-8522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#11 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Yokohama Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minato Mirai area is the face of the cosmopolitan City of Yokohama in the 21st century. Opening in 1991, InterContinental Yokohama Grand is the first in Japan to be operated directly by the InterContinental Hotels Group chain. Since then, the hotel, with its majestic shape of a yacht's full sail, has become a proud symbol of Minato Mirai. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay in the hotel's elegant space surrounded by blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Yokohama Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Yokohama Grand Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Yokohama
Yokohama Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing