We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Didn't find one single problem with this hotel. Awesome view of the harbor from the room and very close to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. The concierge team was very friendly and helpful - world class service from that team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redleg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great view from the room, but rooms are slightly dated. It was difficult to understand the room pricing where it appeared to jump to almost double when staying a weekend night. Would like to try again to see if more modern rooms are available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Simon L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to read some aspects did not meet your expectations. We are pleased you did enjoy the view. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice view from my room overlooking the Ferris wheel and river. Good wifi connection. Wide selection at the buffet breakfast. Walking distance to the convention site. Very near shopping mall with several connection

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredoljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

you can stay here without major regrets if you are ok with very soft beds.

This hotel is located right by the giant ferris wheel next to the convention center. It's certainly a good spot to be located in. The rooms however are straight out of the Reagan administration. scuffed up walls, shoddy carpet and a bed so soft I felt like drowning weren't highlights to me, thankfully the city view from the higher floors made up for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank krautland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear krautland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We truly regret to see that the firmness of the bed in the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We did appreciate the high score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay more successful, please do not hesitate to speak with a member of staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Located in the Pacifico Convention Center with conference halls and other large-scale meeting places, the InterContinental is also a very good choice for visiting Yokohama. It is in the scenic Minato Mirai district, which is about 30-40 minutes from Tokyo by train and 40-50 by car. In good weather, you can walk to many of the sights in Yokohama, and in bad weather, train or taxi will take to you Chinatown and Motomachi in ten minutes or so. This time it was pretty cold for walking. My room was "city view," which is usually uninteresting in a hotel near the ocean, but I was on a high floor, and the view was very impressive. The service was very good, and the room was large and sunny. It can get very crowded because of the convention center next door, and on weekends there are lots of wedding parties. This was my second stay, and perhaps I was lucky. There are also very good Chinese, French, Italian, and Japanese restaurants in the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and facing the ocean, but city view is also impressive day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtdorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you get a good deal, its a very decent place to stay... nicely located by the Queen's Mall, close to Sakuragicho and Minator Mirai stations.
it is a old school hotel, a more traditional holiday hotel, more a Western feeling in Japan-land.
Spacious rooms. Yes, compared to living in small business hotels, this was a beauty.
Great view of the Yokohama Bay.

But the hotel is getting old and it shows, yet it has its old school charm...

If you are paying $200+ for this room avoid, else its good....

Room Tip: higher floor, sea-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huzefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is really old and in need for renovation. If you booking this hotel it's a 3 star hotel nota 5 star hotel like it's supposed to be. The room was so old and the blanket smells so bad I had a hard time falling asleep. The room was not a double bed only twin beds that we asked to put together but they didn't quite fit, the room looked awful and the bed was uncomfortable. The food was poor, nothing special, just average. The staff at the reception were not helpful at all, and quite rude, made us wait for the check in cause they thought it was not 2pm yet but it was already past 2pm so it took a while for them to realise their mistake and just kept us waiting. Also not helpful of how to get around, where to go for tourism or anything else. It's quite expensive hotel but you still have to pay apart to use the swimming pool, gym, sauna. And it's very overpriced the use of those facilities. Overall it was a very bad experience of what once was a very good hotel, maybe some other rooms are renovated but for sure a good part (and unfortunately) the part we stayed was not. Also their rudeness made me very unhappy as this was trip was on my birthday.

Room Tip: maybe look for rooms that are renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear travellerfb,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 117 in Yokohama
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
#16 of 117 in Yokohama
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Yokohama Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Yokohama Grand

Address: 1-1-1 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku, Yokohama 220-8522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#10 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range: $117 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Yokohama Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minato Mirai area is the face of the cosmopolitan City of Yokohama in the 21st century. Opening in 1991, InterContinental Yokohama Grand is the first in Japan to be operated directly by the InterContinental Hotels Group chain. Since then, the hotel, with its majestic shape of a yacht's full sail, has become a proud symbol of Minato Mirai. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay in the hotel's elegant space surrounded by blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Yokohama Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Yokohama Grand Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Yokohama
Yokohama Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing