We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Yokohama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good location. Clean rooms ... a bit outdated but still comfy beds. Very helpful and polite staffs. Perfect hotel room window view especially at night. Next to a mall with nice restos, shops and train stations! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ogijebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 2 nights before our cruise. Hotel very nice, a little apprehensive after reading reports but no need to have worried. Excellent room, clean and modern. All the staff were so helpful, and would help with any questions. They couldn't do enough for you - had a problem with luggage and the hotel manager fixed everything with minimum fuss and so kind. They made our first visit to Japan so special. Thank you to everyone

Room Tip: Brilliant views whether it be sea view or town view. Great big window seat/sill to sit on and admir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suziw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I spent one night here before taking a cruise. The Intercontinental was very nice, a lot nicer than some off the reviews suggest. The location is excellent, connected to the impressive Landmark Tower by an elevated walkway through a mall with lots of restaurant choices. There are nice walking trails along the bay from the hotel.

The concierge was great and explained exactly how to get to the impressive Sankeien gardens. The rooms were classically decorated and well-maintained and comfortable. The bathroom was large and luxurious, with both a shower and bathtub. The only problem was that although it was a non-smoking room, the room smelled of smoke. Best of all: the excellent advanced rate from the hotel website.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was one of the children who presented the scissors to cut the ribbon for this fabulous hotel. Fantastic experience, breakfast elaborate with a multitude of cuisine to choose from...Suite suitably decorated with practical amenities. Minato Mirai...the "Future City". Very exciting experience. Was very pleased to participate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnie_hop_skip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited Dec 2006 on the Christmas day.
As it was high season, we were only able to get the super expensive room, and was a shame that we only stayed there to sleep as we arrived late in the night.
The view was great and the service was great despite that we arrived late.
On the checkout, we were able to receive the discount through amex which was a great deal.

Will go back again if we needed to stay in Yokohama.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika-lux-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Disappointing room. Very old and tired, and the air conditioning is poor. We stayed here in summer during a heat wave, however we also stayed at InterContinental Osaka in the heat and there was no problem with the air conditioning there. We mentioned to the front desk that our room was not cool, they sent someone up to close the curtains! So we either had to sit in a dark cooler room or a hot room with a view. On the other hand the concierge were extremely helpful & polite in assisting us to get around and which trains to take on the subway to Tokyo as well as recommending excellent restaurants in Yokohama and Tokyo. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Alyson R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our concierge extremely helpful and polite. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by our air conditioning system. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stay here often as an Ambassador member. The advertise it on their front desk yet are so argumentative as you willmseemwith numerous posts on here, flyertalk and the IHG website. Youmwouldmthinkmthatnwhen you pay 200 dollars for a membership that they advertise you would not get the hassle. Every other country gives you an upgrade to the next category not just the next floor up. They scam you to say its a premium room even though you can't book it online. Club acess is denied and you still have to pay for fitness center. They always respond with nice remarks but nothing changes. Staying soon as Royal Ambassador but not expecting much. Such a shame for a nice hotel in nice location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Yokohama Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Stephen W,

Thank you for your valuable review. We value you as an IHG Rewards Club Royal Ambassador Member and your opinion matters. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered due to the level of service received. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 123 in Yokohama
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
#14 of 123 in Yokohama
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Yokohama Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Yokohama Grand

Address: 1-1-1 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku, Yokohama 220-8522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#10 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range: $116 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Yokohama Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minato Mirai area is the face of the cosmopolitan City of Yokohama in the 21st century. Opening in 1991, InterContinental Yokohama Grand is the first in Japan to be operated directly by the InterContinental Hotels Group chain. Since then, the hotel, with its majestic shape of a yacht's full sail, has become a proud symbol of Minato Mirai. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay in the hotel's elegant space surrounded by blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Yokohama Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Yokohama Grand Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Yokohama
Yokohama Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing