We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have enjoyed my stay in Shin-Yokohama on a 5 day business trip to Japan. The hotel is very conveniently located above Shin-Yokohama train station with easy access anywhere you need to go in within great Tokyo area. Service is great, breakfast delicious, and it is always very quiet within the hotel even though it is next to train station. There is great selection of restaurants and department store next to the hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    124
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
35
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As my employer's Japanese branch is very nearby, I stay here regularly during business trips.
Conveniently located on top of JR Shinkansen station.
Western breakfast is OK and definetely better than in many 4-star hotels in Japan, with good coffee (self service espresso machine with decent cappuccino).
Small but clean rooms, as can be expected in this type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel Very conveniently just above the JR Railways – Shin Yokohama Station. So can save yen’s of taxi fare not like other cities-hotel.
Hotel is not a skyscraper as other City Hotel, But huge enough to cover all major shopping and eatery and convenient stores just nearby.
Just being above the railway station, I find Tokyo just closer
If you going to Narita or Haneda airport also have direct Airport Limo service just outside Hotel building, which you can book the ticket from reception as well.
First time when I entered this building, I was searching for a Hotel entrance (for your convenience I took picture), at last I found the small gate (comparing huge Station) after I go down from shinkasen.
This is common entrance for Hotel and BIC Camera store, so the last floor 10 is Hotel entrance. After check in will be other elevator for guest room.
Once you enter the guest floor make sure you remember the room (or right down in your palm), it’s a complete hollow square BOX floor, you find all identical. I had this trouble for first two days.
Room is Spacious, Toiletries and Bed are good. Personally I liked Foldable Comb and Bath Ball which usually not provided in other hotel (outside Japan).
I opted for Breakfast also as a package, but I find it’s not worth as not many choice, all day I had only Croissant and Coffee. Rest of the menu’s almost common and very less. My choice would be go down to JR complex and you have plenty of choice from Danish Cookies to Coco curry.
I stayed in this hotel almost 5 nights, I feel good stopover convenient business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayRangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Firstly lack of research meant that I was slightly disappointed by the location of the hotel in that it was in a pretty typical 'Business' area with little tourist attractions nearby. However, that was my own fault.
Location - it's great for getting around as downstairs there's the metro, Shinkansen and the normal trains - so you can get pretty much everywhere. There are also taxis and buses available as well as the aiport bus which stops just outside.

The staff were pretty helpful on the whole and very kindly brought me up a router when I couldn't get the wireless to work in my room. What did suprise me though was their lack of English. I am not someone who expects everyone to speak English (far from it) though I do expect a certain level of proficiency when working in a hotel and dealing with International clients. They were very helpful on the first night when my friend realised the car park closed at midnight and his car was still parked there (this was at 12.30ish), the staff did everything they could and luckily he was able to get his car and go home.


The room - a Moderate Double was an ok size (though possibly a bit cramped for 2). Bathroom was clean and nice (I am quite fussy about bathrooms) and the shower gel etc was rather nice. Tip - don't pack toiletries.

Restaurants/Food - breakfast was fine - there were the usual 'English breakfast' type things, some very nice pastries and Japanese style food. The rice became something I went for on most days. Ok, so a little more variety would be nice but nothing to complain about.
There are no actual restaurants in the hotel itself but the shopping centre does have a lot of eating places though all close relatively early (at around 10). Just outside though in a building containing karaoke and a casino we did find a fabulous restaurant that was open later.

Other things........ the lounge is open from 10am-10pm on a serve yourself basis - tea, coffee and fruit juice - could have done with some snacks but that's just me being greedy. The lifts can only be accessed with your key card - good for security but a pain at times. For those of you who smoke there is a smoking room on the 18th floor - not somewhere you'd want to spend any time - no seats or anything but better than nothing.
A very handy thing to have is the laundry room - couple of washing machines and driers which are cheap enough and much better than sending out your laundry.

Overall this is certainly somewhere I'd stay again and would recommend to others as long as they don't mind being away from the touristy bits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katscamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a great central location for a couple nights with business in the area. The rooms were excellent by Japan standards for a single room and meticulously clean. Also, the breakfast had a good variety and is in a nice setting. This hotel can be accessed by any form of transport. In my case, limo bus from Narita airport and then Shinkansen on the way out. If you need a central location or have business nearby, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrgt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My stay was 2012 from Nov 18 to Nov 28 for business reasons. I have chosen this hotel because it was close to my working place. The hotel from Narita airport can be directly reached by a shuttle bus. My room was a “moderate double suite”. I unfortunately have chosen the smoker variant. The room had a terrible smell of old cigarette smoke. It was hard to bear. The overall room area is 23 m². Because this includes bathroom, corridor and wardrobe, not much space is remaining for the room itself. Except the carpet everything was clean. There is water heater with complementary tea and water, but no instant coffee available. On TV you only have BBC and CNN with English language the other channels are Japanese only .The free WiFi access is limited in speed. For faster connection an extra fee has to be paid. The breakfast doesn’t offer a huge choice, but in general is ok for continental and Asian guests. If you pay attention to comfort and space it is recommended to choose another hotel. There is no fitness center available. The hotel itself is directly above the Shin-Yokohama railway station with access to Shinkansen high speed train as well. Within the same building there is also a small shopping mall with some restaurants as well. Close by there are also some other restaurants and stores. ATM’s are directly at the elevators to the hotel lobby. To Yokohama downtown or Tokyo city you can get by train easily. Don’t hesitate to use the public transport system. It is not cheap but cheaper than a taxi and you can reach all places within moderate time. Japan in general is not a place for shopping because everything is more expensive than in any other country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Second stay at the Shin Yokohama and am always happy with the hotel. For those business travellers coming in from Narita, its an extra connection in central Tokyo which can be a pain with bags compared to the normal Narita Express heading to Musashi Kosugi but all in all its quite easy. Very well located and with plenty of food options around. My suggestion is to try the food courts downstairs in the main building which offer much more than the dining options outside the foyer of the restaurant. Only negative was the limited facilities so any spare time is idle but other than that a good quality hotel convenient for work trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel
#13 of 112 in Yokohama
3.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#3 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama

Property: Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Address: 2-100-45 Shin Yokohama, Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kohoku , Shinyokohama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#6 Business Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama is perfectly positioned. Located immediately above Shin-Yokohama station, it provides easy and direct access to Tokyo, Yokohama, Nagoya, and Osaka. It only takes 17 minutes to Tokyo station and 10 minutes to Shinagawa Station by bullet train, and 35 minutes to Haneda Airport by direct buss. All the rooms have high-speed Internet access. At the 24-hour front desk, they provide dry cleaning services and currency exchange. They also offer massage services at your room. At the spacious Brasserie La Classe, you can enjoy Western or Japanese buffet breakfast. They offer a lounge for staying guests where you can relax with a variety of drinks. There is the Cubic Plaza below the hotel where you can enjoy a variety of restaurants and shopping, such as Bic Camera and Uniqlo. For those who would like to enjoy activities, there is Yokohama Arena and Ramen Museum within a 10-minute walk and 5-minute taxi ride to Nissan Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Associa Shin Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing