We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good budget accommodation. Near shinkansen station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super Hotel Shinyokohama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super Hotel Shinyokohama
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Ware, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good budget accommodation. Near shinkansen station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Super Hotels are dotted all over Japan, and offer very reasonably priced hotel rooms (smoking and no-smoking, single, double, family). They are very clean. The rooms are small (not to say cramped) and not ideal for those wishing to do anything more than sleep in them. The bathroom is tiny, and the bath might be a challenge for some visitors. There are air-conditioing/heating units, and air circulators (for dust and allergen extraction), and of course a TV, hair dryer and kettle.
Please use the slippers provided when inside the room.
The breakfast is a combination of Japanese and Western food, with free coffee from an automat.
This one is about 5 minutes from the JR station and the shinkansen tracks. Please note: this one is NOT in Yokohama centre (although there is one there too, but we were a bit late booking, so ...)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - I could hear the gentleman next door to me snoring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
13
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 1 child. Stayed there for 2 nites. We arrived very late at nite and they were kind enough to wait for us after we called them beforehand to let them know. The reception spoke limited English. Location of the hotel is a street parallel to Shin Yokohama station, about 5 mins walk. Quite a few cheap local restaurants to eat and during lunchtime, the restaurants set up stalls outside to sell bento. The bento boxes were cheap ($5-$6USD) and freshly made. Hotel does not provide bottle water, so we had to buy from the local convenience store. Family room had a double bed with a single bed bunk bed. Make sure you pick your pillows early from the pigeon hole near reception otherwise the pillows provided in the room were really hard as it was filled with rice husks. The room was really small and crammed, we could hardly move around. There were too many things in the room but it was very clean. Breakfast was basic and the hours was 6:30-8:30am. It doesnt change much from day to day. Make sure you dont have any big luggages, as the lift to the rooms was very small. Also, there is no safe deposit in the room. We chose this hotel as it was near the station and was convenient to take the shinkansen (JR Pass) to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Dont have too many luggages especially large ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masterchefqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

On our trip to Tokyo, all the hotels I checked out in central Tokyo were EXPENSIVE! Then, my cousin recommended Super Hotel in Shin-Yokohama.

We paid about JPY30,000 for 3 nights, for a family room. The rooms were very small though very clean. We got a double bed linked to a single bunk bed. a simple breakfast was included at that price, you can have Japanese congee or croissants. The room is also cleaned daily, between 10am-3pm.

The hotel is a 7minute walk to the Shin-Yokohama railway station, from there you can take the Shinkansen to Tokyo station (where the metro station Tokyo is located). It's about JPY 1,400 per journey (one-way). Including the Shinkansen ticket, staying in this hotel saved us a lot of money on accommodation!

The hotel is also 2 minutes from a Starbucks, local restaurants, and 24 hr conveniece store.

The only slight disadvantage is that the hotel staff were unable to speak English, so if you have questions, you will not get as much help. Though, there is a chain hotel at the railway station and staff there speak English.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singapore_Gal_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I got stranded in Japan after my flight was cancelled and booked myself into the superhotel in Shin-Yokohama. Booking superhotels is so easy and they tend to be near railwaystations. I stayed 7 nights in total and had a great time. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and breakfast was good too. After 7 days it got a bit boring as it's the same all the time but still alright. Nothing amazing but for a budget traveller it was better than what I would usually have.

Free internet in the room if you bring your own notebook and there are 3 stations as well that can be used. Two coin laundromats and tumble driers are also available.

The rates are competitive and I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supergrobi-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Kohoku
Court Hotel Shinyokohama
Court Hotel Shinyokohama
#48 of 111 in Yokohama
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Kohoku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Shinyokohama
Kohoku
Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel
Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel
#31 of 111 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Super Hotel Yokohama Kannai
Super Hotel Yokohama Kannai
#21 of 111 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Kohoku
Shin-Yokohama Grace Hotel
Shin-Yokohama Grace Hotel
#22 of 111 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Kohoku
Lagunasuite
Lagunasuite
#37 of 111 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel Shinyokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Shinyokohama

Property: Super Hotel Shinyokohama
Address: 2-6-20 Shinyokohama Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kohoku , Shinyokohama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Super Hotel Shinyokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Hotel Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing