We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay here”
Review of Sunroute Kawasaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunroute Kawasaki
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels / Ryokan in Kawasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've travelled to Tokyo several times but on business staying in expensive hotels. We chose this holiday for a short family break and were very happy with it.

We arrived at Haneda airport very early in the morning and had little trouble getting to the hotel on the Kenkyu line. Just remember exit 38 from the Azalea centre and you should find it easily. It's also very easy to get to the JR line station and only a few (13 I think) minutes away from Shinagawa. Very useful if you have one of those JR unlimited travel tickets as we did.

Breakfast is available from the Excelsior coffee shop next door but this doesn't open until 7am if you have an early start.

There's a 7/11 store nearby over the road.

We had a twin room, the single beds were quite wide and very comfortable. Opening window is a rare treat for some fresh air. Can't fault the facilities, clean and tidy, no plumbing problems.

The first train to Haneda for the journey home wasn't until 5am and so we had to get a taxi in order to be at the airport for our very early flight. Taxi fare was about 3,500 jpy (bear in mind there's almost no traffic at 4am).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 170 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This business hotel is very clean, has large, comfortable beds, windows that open and very convenient room arrangements (a headboard with an an alarm clock, tissues, and switches for all the room lights). It is associated with the Excelsior Coffee Shop for breakfast, which was a bit meager. The staff were very pleasant and those to whom I spoke had excellent English.
Kawasaki was convenient for a trip between Yokohama (Maritime Museum) and Kamakura.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamGNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is important to tell about Kawasaki at first. Tokyo, Yokohama and Kawasaki have been big cities traditionallly within Tokyo meropolitan area. So, railway system is very good to access to Tokyo and Yokohama. On other hand, in general, sleeping costs in Tokyo and Yokohama is expensive. The costs in Kawasaki are cheaper than them. There is only one gorgeous hotel in this city but reasonable business hotels. This is one of those.

To evaluate this hotel, cost performance is a big feature. The building is new and modern, practically simple, just like an office complex building. You can feel cleaness. Comparatively large lobby in receiption was impressive. Rooms are same taste with building. It is tiny but not too tiny if you think of costs and location. And two persons can stay in a room. - I am 180 centimeters tall but it was not stressful at all. Though there is a bath tub, plastic unit one and too tiny. Ordinary but good in comparison with costs. It is very closer to stations and inevitably to city center. But there is silence. At the same time, you can choose various restautants. Stuff's attitude is ordinary. It is the most cost effective "business hotel" I have ever exprienced.

About Stuffs' English ability, I can't explain. If you call in English, you will examine it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were planning a trip to Yokohama and possibly Tokyo. Wanting to avoid the high rates of those cities, we found this hotel. I loved Kawasaki. The hotel staff were very helpful with maps.
The location is in the shopping district which made it perfect for walking and finding wonderful food. Prices were reasonable.
There was a running path along the river which was close by and very usable.
The rooms were small by American standards but nice and comfortable. Bed was very firm and great for sleeping. I would definitely stay here again regardless of where I spent the days.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsdagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel is conveniently situated 5 minutes walk form the rail way station. The room size is small. PC in a room with free internet access is useful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrojr7yoKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Great hotel. Have stayed here many times this year. It is a 10min walk from the train station. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Friendly staff, some of whom actually speak English quite well. Rooms are ok for Tokyo but priced way below what you can find in any of the central areas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aultfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 4, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kawasaki hotels
Kawasaki Nikko Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kawasaki
712 reviews
Kawasaki Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kawasaki
Kawasaki Station
Hotel Mets Kawasaki
Hotel Mets Kawasaki
#6 of 47 in Kawasaki
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawasaki Station
Hotel Skycourt Kawasaki
Hotel Skycourt Kawasaki
#34 of 47 in Kawasaki
54 reviews
Kawasaki Station
Kawasaki Central Hotel
Kawasaki Central Hotel
#26 of 47 in Kawasaki
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunroute Kawasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Kawasaki

Address: 2-11-17 Isago, Kawasaki-ku, Kawasaki 210-0006, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Kawasaki > Kawasaki Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kawasaki
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunroute Kawasaki 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kawasaki is in a very convenient location with it being possible to get to either Shinagawa or Yokohama by one stop of the JR Tokaido Line. Kawasaki is a city overflowing with a variety of attractions, such as industrial research & development, entertainment, culture, sports, nature and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Sunroute Co., Ltd., JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunroute Kawasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Hotel Kawasaki
Kawasaki Sunroute Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing