We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kawasaki Nikko Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Kawasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived 2 hrs early for ckin but they held our luggage so we can walk around. Checkin was quick and our room were near the elevator. the amenities were awesome. Cables for LAN hookup, no wifi, but I knew that before arriving so brought netbook instead of tablet. Pants presser in the room. Heated toilet seat/ bidet. The room air cleaner was fantastic. The bed was a bit hard but it's the same in Europe or other part of Asia. Bathroom and room were clean. Only English CNN only in the morning. That's fine, I didn't go to Japan to watch TV. We did get newspaper every morning. No safe in the room.
The guest rooms are located on floor 15-20, the rest are commercial use (restaurants, banquet halls, etc). It's not mall/ retail business so I felt quite safe.
The hotel is located very close to stores,restaurants , underground shop arcade. There's an convenience store right next door to pick up water etc.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes, their English may not be fluent but they tried their best and we understood them. They gave us maps, directions etc. We return back to the hotel after a few days in Kyoto. They held one of our luggage for us so we didn't have to drag it around. Didn't do their breakfast, Starbucks was right next door. Yes, I would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Kawasaki Nikko Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 692 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel was very clean. I did think that the room and certainly the bathroom were on the small side. My room was fine for just one person but would have been a squeeze for two. Although the staff were friendly when I checked in no one spoke English and the hotel is an international chain.
Wi Fi would have been welcomed but not available, again something that I would have expected with an organisation of this size.

Room Tip: If there is the possibility, choose a room that does not have a bed pushed against a wall which then...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is very efficient but a little bit pricey. I have stayed here several times spanning a few weeks each time. I understand that it is a typical Japanese business hotel. That takes a little bit getting used to for non-Japanese.

What that means is rooms are just about enough size, the breakfast buffet is just enough to keep you fueled through the day (don't expect variety or fancy options), there are no amenities (like a gym or reception or business center), there are no additional services like city tour, spa etc. There is no free wifi. You need to pay 300 Yen / night for a personal wifi router.

A note on room size. Be sure to check the area of the room before you book. The single room comes in a couple of different variations. Some of them have barely enough room to stand. If I remember right, the area options are 14 or 16 sq.m. For people from outside Japan 16 sq.m. is small enough. For tall people 6ft+, the beds may not be sufficiently long.

The hotel is conveniently located. It is 5 mins walking distance from the JR train station, bus station and several eat out options. It is close to a good mall called Lazona. All this reduces the problems with food options, entertainment, access and commute time.

When you book online, you tend to better rates (even though the online system is not the best I have seen and is also prone to dropping reservations at times)

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that face the JR station. It may get quite noisy in the early mornings. The highe...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The room was relatively small but it was typical of Japanes business hotels. It was clean and eveyrthing worked well. The internet had good signals. The breakfast was basic Western and Japanese and the food was tasty. The coffee was very good. Arrived there past midnight but, being that the hotel was next to the Kawasaki JR station, there were several restaurants a couple of blocks away that were still open. During the day there were lots of shops and stores nearby, all within walking distance.

Note that the Kawasaki station is only one stop away from the Shinagawa station on the Tokaido line. Keihin Touhoku line also works but there are 2 or 3 extra stops. I mentioned Shinagawa because it is a major stop from Tokyo's Narita or Haneda airport as well as a key stop on the Yamanote line (Green) so access to the hotel is easy.

Note that you can also get to Kawasaki directly from Haneda but I did not try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Flew into Narita, which absolutely was not the best idea... transportation via shuttle and taxi took well over an hour. hotel was conveniently located for all that i needed to manage. also central to shopping and dining. hotel staff was for the most part responsive. room was a bit small but well kept. rate was not bad for the time of year. if i had to absolutely return to this part of Japan, I would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldW1de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very utilitarian room, clean, friendly staff, great location. The hotel is located in the middle of a big shopping area and train station so there is constant traffic great for people watching or getting the feel for the area. Room is very small by USA standards. I would stay again for a one-night transit stopover.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briansdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at Kawasaki Nikko Hotel for the first time. The location was almost perfect. It would have been completely perfect if the Narita Airport Limousine Bus could stop there. The transportation options from the hotel is very good otherwise. The hotel is very close to the JR Kawasaki station. It is just one station away from Shinagawa and Yokohama stations on the Tokaido Line. Transfer to Shinkansen is very easy at Shinagawa station. Train access to various Tokyo sights is very easy. The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are not huge, but that is the norm in Japan. There are A LOT of dining and shopping options nearby. The front desk people are very helpful. We highly recommend this place for moderately priced alternative to expensive hotels in Tokyo or Yokohama.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kawasaki hotels
Kawasaki Station
Sunroute Kawasaki
Sunroute Kawasaki
#4 of 44 in Kawasaki
164 reviews
Kawasaki Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kawasaki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawasaki Station
Hotel Mets Kawasaki
Hotel Mets Kawasaki
#6 of 44 in Kawasaki
87 reviews
Kawasaki Station
Hotel Skycourt Kawasaki
Hotel Skycourt Kawasaki
#32 of 44 in Kawasaki
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawasaki Nikko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawasaki Nikko Hotel

Address: 1 Nisshincho, Kawasaki-ku, Kawasaki 210-0024, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Kawasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kawasaki
Price Range: $86 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kawasaki Nikko Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kawasaki Nikko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Kawasaki
Kawasaki Nikko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing