We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kijitei Hoeiso
Nearby Hotels
Resort Pia Hakone(Hakone-machi)
$338
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ryuguden Hotel(Hakone-machi)
$483
$438
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Pax Yoshino(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
$377
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Aura Tachibana(Hakone-machi)
$489
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Hotel(Hakone-machi)
$233
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
$376
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Highland Hotel(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
$433
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Okada(Hakone-machi)
$445
$296
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenseien(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
$259
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gora Kadan(Hakone-machi)
$982
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
88
72
15
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
72
15
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor onsentraditional ryokanthe busstream flowingliving roomoutdoor hot springsashimijapanese speakerhakone yumoto stationopen airryokan staffprivate bathyukata providedryokan experiencedinner breakfastlake ashia wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 193 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at Hoeiso for one night during my trip to Japan with my boyfriend. We reserved the room through the Japaneseguesthouses website, so we were able to ask for two vegetarian meals with no fish and no meat - not very common in Japan.

The ryokan is a 10 mins bus ride from Hakone Yumoto train station.The bus has a display with the names of the stops in English. If I recall well, the name of the stop is Kuzuhara and it is right in front of the hotel. The bus ticket costs around 100 yen and it is included in the Hakone Free Pass if you have it. Check in is after 3 pm, so we did the Hakone Free Pass tour in the morning to late afternoon.

The main building looks old in some parts, but the room we had was very big, with a nice balcony overlooking the garden. A yukata and toiletries are provided. The futon was really confortable and we had no problem sleeping. The garden is beautiful, but could be improved.

We booked a private slot at the ladies outdoor onsen at 11 pm and it was great, so romantic with the onsen overlooking the river! I also visited the indoor ladies bath and it was nice, very clean and tidy.

The meals were ok, but we were disappointed to discover that the lovely lady who served us in our room could not speak a word of English, which honestly I do not think is acceptable for the price you pay to stay there. The meal could be more enjoyable if you knew what you are eating!

Overall a nice experience, which could be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived in Hoeiso after a week in hectic Tokyo, and boy did we need it! This was our first ryokan experience and it was fabulous from the get-go.

Our hosts were super warm and accommodating. The lady who was at our service could not speak a work in English, but was so sweet and immediately won us over.

The room was huge and gorgeously decorated. Balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. Spacious bathroom with every amenity needed.

Dinner & breakfast were good, although tad experimental for our Mediterranean palates...Presentation was spectacular.

We tried the outdoor onsen and it was amazing. Overlooking a river, warm mineral waters - fantastic and very romantic.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our first experience of a traditional Japanese hotel and the first time we've been in an onsen (hot spring).

The whole experience was sublime from start to finish:

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. While their English is limited, it's good by Japanese standards and sufficient to explain how the hotel/onsen works.

Our room was extremely spacious, with a balcony overlooking the garden + river and a separate sitting area. At night, beds were made for us in a part of the main room that can be partitioned off and sleeping on a Japanese-style bed was extremely comfortable.

The onsen was amazing, both when open to the public and during our 40 minute private slot which was bookable on arrival.

Last, but most definitely not least, the food served in our room was extremely varied, uniquely Japanese, beautifully served and very enjoyable.

A wonderful experience, all in all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our first time at a traditional Japanese hotspring and our experience was perfect. We are a couple from Canada who don't speak Japanese, but the hotel was very accommodating. We had a lovely English speaking staff member looking after us and serving our meals. The baths were great. We had about 40mins of private time together in the men's outdoor hotspring in the evening and it was straight out of an anime. The water was hot, the bath carved from natural stone and situated next to a peaceful stream. It was June and fireflies were out on the other side of the river. The whole experience was very romantic. The room was large and comfortable, very traditional ryokan style. The kaiseki dinner was delicious.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our first experience at a ryokan. Loved it. We were hesitant to use the onsen but decided it was part of the experience. Turned out we had the outdoor pools to ourselves so public nudity wasn't an issue. So everything was better than we could have hoped. The meals were incredible even when we didn't know what we were eating. And sleeping on a futon was more comfortable than expected. Can't think of anything we would change.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews