We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumoto fujiya hotel with own inhouse Hot Spring!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
SG
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yumoto fujiya hotel with own inhouse Hot Spring!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a 1st timer and there were so many hot spring resort/hotel in hakone - yumoto fujiya has the best location and good quality hotel of them all! And a lady from customer service bring me all the way to the hotel room! She forgotten to pass me something and she promptly called my room! Service is indeed top-notch! Has its own different indoor and outdoor hot spring free for its guests!! Totally impressed and has time to go twice for full trip - hakone free pass to try all rides/entrances/attractions! Note you can buy the hakone free passes at the ticketing to take train to hakone! I will definitely go for this hotel again. Great snow during trip! Alas due clouds, view of majestic was blocked! But I made it to top of hill and try famous black eggs!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    199
    68
    9
    1
See reviews for
138
122
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of my tour and after arriving in the early evening, hungry and wanting food, we found out that we had to book a table at their restaurants or wait more than an hour for a reservation. Why should I have to do this when I'm a guest? We also got scolded by the host in one of the restaurants for wearing slippers and got turned away which was embarrassing. The hotel was part of our tour package so we would not have known this earlier as well. It made my night a little stressful and ended up buying expensive biscuits in a gift shop to keep me going until we could eat dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

If you have a day to spare I would really recommend the Hakone loop. A Hakone free pass gets you access to all the ropeways (cablecars), buses, trains and even the pirate ship involved in completing the loop and on a clear day the views of Mount Fuji are awesome.
Yumoto is a good base for the loop and the Fujiya hotel is right next to the station. It is very very comfortable; huge room, 2 big beds, sofa, etc...Breakfast buffet was excellent, a extensive mix of japanese and western breakfasty things and you can go down to eat in your yucata (nice dressing gown provided in your room). The onsen is great; I'd never tried one before and this hotel makes it very easy even for a nervous first timer!
On the downside there are only a handful of restaurants in Yumoto; these do close early and on a Thursday evening we found most were closed even at 6pm. Also the hotel is seriously-not-cheap. I think this is because of the area; if you are going to visit Hakone it is probably best to plan in advance and hunt around on Agoda for a good deal as everything seems pricey.
So Fujiya is certainly recommended if you want a nice hotel and easy onsen experience, but are not working to a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerkyGirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

So convenient...just a few minutes from the Romance Car station. We arrived before noon and left our bags at the front desk as check in wasn't until 2. After doing our Hakone loop, we returned that night to a wonderful night of soaking in the baths...indoor and out. Our plan did not include dinner so we ate at the hotel's Chinese restaurant. We only did that because we could not find a single restaurant open in Yumoto after 6pm. There wasn't even a convenience store. So, take a hint, if you want a regular meal, take the plan that includes dinner. We did opt for the buffet breakfast and that certainly was worth it. We ate slowly and made it our "brunch." The hotel staff was efficient and considerate. The room was impeccable and even had a view of the rushing river. They even gave us coupons for the baths in case we wanted another dip before going back to the city after we checked out. What a deal! One night with breakfast and all the transportation in Hakone for two people was only 28,000 yen. Booked thru Odakyu Travel at Shinjuku.

Room Tip: Tower side is closer to lobby and restaurant, however, the annex has a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank werrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our group stayed in the hotel for a night only. It was a "japan" experience from the diner through the japan bath until the night. It was an experience because of the possibility how the Japanese clean up themselves - we tries it also just the same way and the combination with the hot water is a terrific. The men and women are separated, the basins are partly outside and the combination with chilly night is great. Also the japan dinner was a very fanny.
The hotel itself is very clean and our stay was totally smooth.
I only can recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in June whilst we did the 'Hakone Loop' and our stay was great from start to finish. Although we arrived before check in we left our luggage at the reception while we went on the hakone loop. When we arrived back at the hotel, the manager showed us to our room (which he had upgraded at no cost). We were given a Japanese/Western combo room with a very large balcony with excellent views of the mountains.

Our stay at the hotel was great with no complaints. There were a few restaurants in the hotel as well as a karaoke bar and hot baths which we used.

A great night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Kid_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We spent a month in Japan recently over Christmas in Japan This hotel was in a good location as it is close to the Station -just across the river however any convenience were quickly spoilt by the exceptionally rude desk manager who regarded westerners with obvious disdain and contempt . We had travelled down from Northern Japan, Hokkaido through to Tokyo station and on to the Hakone area and were very tired. The manager was appallingly rude to us and despite being told how far we had travelled that day he dragged out our booking, he banged our passports on the table, jeered at us, laughed at my statement concerning a mistake the Fujiya hotel, located further up the hill had made with our booking . He denied any knowledge of contact that afternoon from a Japanese travel agency at Odawarra station to find us a vacancy at the Yumoto Fujiya questioning my honesty on the price quoted. He asked how much we were told we were to pay for a room and then doubled it - claiming I was mistaken that the rate quoted to me was for a single stay - later i showed another manger an email which confirmed my quoted price. .If you have to make a choice stay at the Fujiya not the Yumoto Fujiya they are worlds apart in cleanliness service and in location. Ask the train driver which station to get out at as this hotel Fujiya is very well known and is only 5 minutes from the station 3 stops further up the mountain from hakone Machi email the hotel direct and get a $135 a night plus a tax charge rather than use Agoda etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ozadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#11 of 243 in Hakone-machi
472 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#21 of 243 in Hakone-machi
254 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#5 of 243 in Hakone-machi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 243 in Hakone-machi
320 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 243 in Hakone-machi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yumoto Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yumoto Fujiya Hotel

Property: Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Address: 256-1 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0392, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 243 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yumoto Fujiya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rich natural beauty of Hakone,the Yumoto Fujiya Hotel has been providing truly relaxing time to the guests.The hotel features not only fully equipped commodious convention halls,but also a wide variety of spa facilities with rich supply of hot spring water.Also recent facility renovation added more guest friendly affinities:inversing number of barrier-free rooms as well as non-smoking rooms and installing an elevator which provides easy access between Hakone-Yumoto station.and the hotel.The Yumoto Fujiya Hotel continues the best efforts to provide the most comfortable life in a leading Japanese resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yumoto Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing