We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Eat - Chanko Nabe”
Review of Karuta

Karuta
Ranked #75 of 483 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 12, 2018

Many restaurants near our hostel closes by 7pm and this was the only one within walking distance that opens past 7pm. They have a section of teppanyaki where the food is prepared in front of you. But we sat at the other side and ordered the chanko nabe (which is basically the food sumo wrestlers eat!). The thought of having hot piping soup on a cold day was the best decision we made. The nabe was super tasty and my husband who's not a fan of soup, drank every last drop. The service was a little slow coz the restaurant was full house but we didn't mind. The staff spoke decent english so we could communicate easily without worrying if we were misunderstood.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KULVINDERKAURK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2018

After a long day of hiking in Hakone we were in need of a good meal. We found this little spot online, luckily open late, which not a lot of places are in Hakone. Easy to miss, so be on the lookout. Wonderfully accommodating staff, nice atmosphere and delicious grub. The fresh cucumber and radish with savory chicken miso paste is possibly my favorite thing I've eaten in Japan. The Chanko Nabe hot bowl was a dream, vegetables, seafood, meat, delicious broth. We order the serving for one and it was more than enough for the two of us, and we came in hungry.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 535deanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We were told most places down in the town close about 7.00 and when we checked this small restaurant only opened at 6.00 pm. Suggest you ring and book if you would like to eat before 9.00. The restaurant had two options. Sit at the bar on stools or on the "floor" - traditionally Japanese.
The food was wonderful and fresh - cooked to order. Beer was cold and they had so me good Sake options. Try the mixed Yakitori. Very enjoyable with a nice atmosphere. If you are lucky the Master San will drop you back to you accommodation. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Basil781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Authentic local place, v reasonably priced, with strong family feel. Food is cooked right in front of customers which is cool and rapidly served. A must visit and one of my best meals in Hakone!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 243ayushk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

You can easily miss the hidden gem. Don't! The food is fantastic, the prices are very reasonable. The best meal of my Japan trip so far.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank monclinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karuta also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Karuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing