We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Vio.com
$366
View deal
Agoda.com$366
StayForLong
Booking.com
Rakuten Travel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
274
90
28
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
274
90
28
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional experience baths japan hakone dishes spring
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 411 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in this ryokan for two nights in May. The first night we were in a riverside room that is one of two in that wing, having a shared toilet. The second night we had "Sakura 2" which has its own bathroom, toilet, and hot spring bath. The cost is around 40000jpy per night for a couple, with breakfast included. Dinner is another 5000 yen each.

The hotel itself is a registered cultural property so it is worth the money just for the experience. On top of that though the rooms are huge, with nice views (at least in the cases of the rooms we had which overlook the river).

There are two main Onsen, one has big pots and the other a grotto type with tiles which looks to me like a 1930s style. Both are nice. The water is good, not smelly. There is also a small private bath and then the bath in Sakura 2 which is excellent.

The food is very good, and served in your room. Portion sizes are good.

The staff are lovely and helpful, we really enjoyed their company.

Location wise, it is at Tonosawa which is a few hundred meters from Hakone Yumoto but essentially you could be a million miles away in terms of better ambiance. Really nice. A tip is to walk from Hakone Yumoto rather than getting off at Tonosawa, as it is about the same distance and easier with luggage. If you get off at Tonosawa you have to come down a steep hill pathway then cross a road to get to the ryokan.

It is isolated enough to be away from the touristy part of Hakone, you could be in Kurokawa Onsen for all that you would know, but with the advantage of a bustling town a few minutes away.

All told, an amazing experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

We are a family of 5 adults , 2
Of us are strict vegans. Fukuzumiro is a traditional ryokan with separate bathrooms and an Onsen. There are three bathing sectors, one that can be used privately and two others that alternate between men and women. All basic but clean and operates very well. It shows its age, You can see that some of the infrastructure and decor could benefit from repairs but this is really minor compared to the experience. I think every visitor to Japan should try this for a 2-3 nights , this really gives a better perspective on Japan and its cultural history. The staff (pretty large) is amazing. Beds (Futons on tatamis) are prepared with clean fresh sheets, new robes and towels every night.

There is a wonderful breakfast and I really recommend to take at least once the dinner. Chef is wonderful (Akita Sakamoto). Come early to the hotel that dinner day, take a good bath at the Onsen and prepare yourself to an artistic Japanese dinner served in a traditional way.

We were totally surprised and grateful to the hotel staff for understanding the meaning of being vegan and for taking care of the two vegan members in our party, instead of just shrugging shoulders and saying “no, we cannot” they said yes and prepared an amazing breakfast and dinner for them without any animal produce !!! Not trivial if you have been in Japan for a while.

So not only that this is a great place that works like clockwork with a devoted staff but they also are attentive and open minded with a great will to make the guest feel welcome and satisfied.

I warmly recommend !!! Great experience, great service, Vegan friendly

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Ori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Our family (5 adults and 1 nine year old) really enjoyed our one night at this ryokan. My nine-year old grandson was reluctant at first but loved the experience including the baths. It was fun immersing ourselves into the experience and we thought it was great. Set overlooking a river, it was one of the best night's sleep I had while in Japan.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jools3333Monterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

I have no idea how many stars to give it. The place is an old style traditional Japanese place. They ask you to change yo sleepers. The room is big - first has a small table for tea, then replaced to floor futons. Luckily there was air condition heaters since some cold wind enters through the windows. The modern aspect - free cell phone with hot spot connectivity. The onsen is VERY hot , but you can tolerate it after few minutes. Try it when visiting Japan. Memorable stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank ahva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

This place is over priced...
The place hasn’t been maintained since it opened....
It stinks of cigarettes EVEN when you ask for a none smoking room !!!

It’s old and needs to be knocked down...
Don’t kid yourself just use AirBnb...

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank simondS7959UN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews