We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Trip at the Hyatt Regency Hakone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip at the Hyatt Regency Hakone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed at Hyatt Regency Hakone two time on Nov 2008
First time stayed in twin room .Room was big side and Contemporary design
Bathroom was large and luxurious amenities, including a furnished balcony.
Second time stayed ,Hotel upgrade twin room to Mountain View Twin room.
We really like this room because beautiful and nice view.

Evening time , Hotel have complimentary evening cocktails at Living room hotel.
We used the lounge, which had waitress service in the evenings and free drinks from about 5pm until 7pm. This includes free champagne.

Dinner Time ,
First time stay, We had romance dinner at the French restaurant.
The food was excellent and delicious.
Second time stayed , We choose a la carte menu from room service.
Hotel have waitress service come to set up table and food in room.
The food was excellent and not too expensive for room service menu.

Morning Time ,
Hotel have Complimentary coffee and tea delivered to us room
as a Hyatt Platinum member (also coffee and tea in the room)
The continental breakfast in the dinning room was excellent.
The selection is not a large as many hotels in Japan,
But I thought the quality was very high.

Transportation,
From Gora Station ,Hotel have Complimentary shuttle service
between Gora Station and hotel. 11:00am - 5:30pm.

Anyway, We have a good memory at Hyatt Regency Hakone.
We plan will goback soon ^^

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaniyakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    263
    55
    21
    10
See reviews for
346
389
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Great experience - not just the hotel but the area as well. We decided to spend 2 nights here to get over out jetlag prior to a busy week in Tokyo. Took the Narita Express to Shinjuku and then transferred to the "Romance Car" train to Hakone. We also purchased a 3 day Hakone Freedom Pass, which gives you unrestricted travel in the area - well worth doing if you intend to go sightseeing. We got a taxi from Hakone Yamoto Station (about Jpy4000) to the hotel, but you could also transfer to a local train at Yamoto which takes you to Gora Station and you can call the Hotel to come and collect you. The Hotel is fabulous, carefully designed to blend into and to take maximum advantage of the surrondings. Service is exemplary and no one expects a tip. The room (deluxe double) was superb - very spacious, tastefully decorated and with a seperate dressing area and bathroom. There was also a dedicated seating area near the television with a Bose DVD player and sound system. The only criticism I would make of the room and of the hotel is that there was no free internet. We both used the Onsen (thermal baths) which was incredibly relaxing. My wife had a massage which she thoroughly enjoyed, but thought was expensive. We ate in both restaurants, but probably preferred the French (more International than French), although the Sushi restaurant was more theatrical. If you have time make sure you visit Lake Ashi. It's very accessable from the hotel - a short walk to the funicular and then on the cablecar, where ypu get a magnificent view of Mount Fuji. We had a great break here and can thoroughly recommend the region and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grantmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

when we first arrived it was very late and the taxi was busy - the night manager picked us up in his car from the train station. from there on it was perfect.. the staff went out of its way to accommodate us and even set up the japanese style beds in the tatami room for us to "sleep more authentic" - this was done when they knew we had arranged dinner in their restaurant. amazing views and tranquility... definitely try the little restaurant just downhill from the resort (next to a convenience store). authentic and excellent (didn't like the yakisoba though - too authentic?). the onsen - and i'm not a spa person - was one fo the most relaxing things i've ever done. we both got full body massages and walked aroudn all the time in our hotel provided kimonos... we thought it was going to be gimmicky but turns out that a) we were the only non japanese people there that weekend and b) most japanese people wore them around the hotel also!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at 11 different hotels/ryokans and this was our favorite. I will go even further by saying that it and the area it is in was one of the top five out of all the places our family has been to in Europe and Asia.

Why did we like it so much:

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel like we were expected royalty. The staff was very friendly and helpful and set a very high bar for all of our other hotels/ryokans to live up to.

The rooms were amazing. When I say amazing, I don't mean that a room has to have expensive gadgets and big screen t.v.'s. We had two rooms. The first room was a traditional room with a mountain view. It had windows on one entire wall that opened up completey allowing the fresh mountain air in. It also had a corner balcony and windows on the other wall. The second room had a huge bed and an area with a tatami mat and table, plus a balcony with table and chairs. The beds in both rooms and the futon on the tatami mat were very comfortable. Both rooms were very roomy. Large and small bottles of water, coffee and tea were provided in the rooms. Two kinds of slippers and robes with jackets were provided.

The food was also very good. We had room service once, and breakfast and dinner in the restaurant twice.

The area itself was very pretty. Although it was cloudy and rainy while we were there, we had so much fun exploring the area. We were given umbrellas when we went out. We only wished that we had given ourselves more time there.

What did we not like about it: Nothing. We would go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

It's been a long time since we stayed here but I just can't forget how great a place this was. This is such a beautiful hotel! Highly recommend it! Minimalist decor yet large luxurious room with the view of the mountains with the big 大. Lighting and interiors is perfect for taking photos ;).Happy hour at the living room at 5pm, complimentary drinks for everyone while lounging by the fireplace with a japanese garden view, is just so relaxing and great for chatting. Excellent food and one of the best room-service breakfasts ever. My most favorite thing about this hotel is the onsen though. Something about the waters made my skin so smooth, soft and glowing and lasted 3 days after I left! Beats a facial anytime! Tried to recreate it with the Pola products (the hotel amenities brand) with sadly no success. Will definitely stay here again and soon I hope!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank areyoumad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

After a week in fabulous Tokyo, we decided to go to Hakone and relax for a couple of days. We had heard that the Hyatt was nice, but were looking for a more traditional Japanese experience and booked a "ryokan", which we found after reading fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor. It turned out that this "ryokan" (called Lalaca - reviewed separately) was truly horrible. Thank goodness we were able to move to the Hyatt! And, amazingly, for the same price that the dump "ryokan" was charging, we stayed at the wonderful Hyatt.
The hotel is really lovely - we had a huge beautiful room, the onsen was very nice and well maintained, the common areas were very comfortable and we loved the complementary happy hour drinks by the fireplace. The free shuttle was great as well, but I wish they would extend the operating hours.
I am not giving the Hyatt five stars because the food and the service were not quite up to that standard.
On a side note, I would not go to Hakone again if in Japan. I simply didn't find it to be that special. I can understand people living in Tokyo going to Hakone for weekend trips, but I don't think it's worth going if you're a tourist in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

After reading all the reviews about Hyatt Regency Hakone and being a seasoned traveler, I was a bit skeptical about the lavish descriptions hailed upon this oasis. Boy was I wrong – everything was perfect from the check-in to the check-out and the room itself was huge and an outstanding view of the mountains!

The onsen was also great we enjoyed it a lot and service was impeccable. I couldn’t find any fault whatsoever. Expensive yes, but if you have Gold Passport points, this is one place to use them. I paid Yen 300 for my stay using points. I’ll be back surely!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirKanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Address: 1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing