We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013. From our arrival to the train station all the way up until our departure, it was excellent. The service from the moment we walked in was top notch and the staff were very friendly and accommodated our every need. The room was stunning, the communal area and onsens were also great. The scenery nearby was incredible also.

The complimentary drinks were a nice feature that we were unaware of prior to our arrival and made for a nice relaxing early evening before having food at the hotel which was also very nice. The breakfast was also very nice and the complimentary coffee's and juices were also an added bonus. When we left, the hotel arranged a taxi for us, loaded up our luggage and the bellboy gave us a deep bow as we left the facility. It was great overall and the staff made us very welcome.

I would love to stay here again and if I was in the area, I definitely would even with the lofty price per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    265
    55
    21
    10
See reviews for
348
390
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

March 2012.
Visited here only because we were looking for the place where we can stay with our dog. My parents got the dog friendly room, which was more expensive than our normal rooms. As the dog friendly area was separated from the normal rooms, we had to travel back and forth a quite long walk to each other's room. I understand for lots of reasons but as dog friendly room has a open air corridor once you step outside your room, it was quite chilly in the winter time. Also as the dog friendly room had a stoned floor, we had to place our doggy blankets so that our dog could stay in the room without catching cold.

The attraction of this humongous hotel is that they have a free drink from 16:00 onwards. We enjoyed champagnes and beers for about 2 hrs till our dinner time within 6 of us and was a lot of fun. Dinner was at the Japanese restaurant and was partitioned with other table so had enjoyed our privacy. Taste was just normal.

Breakfast started with a slight hangover - but had a choice of japanese and western style. They were all fine.

Bath was clean given the number of guests in this hotel. Water quality was quite nice which was surprising to me as I had no expectation for hot springs in this hotel.

Overall, good cost performance (mainly the free drinks), but not recommended for the "couple's getaway" over the weekend. Good for a bigger group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erika-lux-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is only one Hyatt resort in Japan.
In this hotel, you can enjoy comfortable Japanese style hospitality, "omitenashi".
You can relax staying with wearing Japanese "yukata" (informal Japanese kimono).
There are nice hot spring public bath.
In happy hour, guests can enjoy wine, sake, champain, soft drinks in the lobby lounge.
In sushi bar, they provide high quality sushi.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy Japanese style, please try Tatami suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank デモン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed as a family of 2 adults + 2 kidsiin the western room with tatami lounge, which had a King bed and tatami lounge/enclosed balcony area (with two futons).

Likes:
1) Lovely design interior by Super Potato
2) Location, close to the cable car
3) Clean new and spacious rooms (but small bathroom)
4) Nice onsen
5) Has a reading lounge with English newspaper (IHT) & FT
6) Good restaurant
7) Excellent service

Dislikes:
1) No kids facilities

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank japanlover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night, and unfortunately were hit with torrential rain literally the entire time we were in Hakone. Was quite a disappointment since we came to visit the lake and take the cable cars, which weren't working because of the rain and wind.

So we took the advice of the hotel and stayed put and really enjoyed the happy hour. Probably enjoyed it a little too much, but all we had to do was stumble back to our room.

We were disappointed that we paid so much for this room (for some reason the night we stayed was much higher in cost than other nights) only to be stuck indoors because of the rain. But that's not the fault of the Hyatt. We had a wonderful time there, and the room was gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ok, so it’s usually cooler to say that you’ve stayed at a traditional ryokan, with its tatami mats and minimalist accoutrements, but when you’ve got a reputed brand name like the Hyatt offering all guests absolutely free champagne (the good stuff), wines, beers etc from 4-7pm every day, I’d give up the so-called authentic ryokan experience in a heartbeat!

Now I know this might make me sounds like a bit of a tipple-happy traveler but, believe me – when you’re at an area known for its amazing onsens (hot springs baths) and where it’s traditional to go the full monty in the onsens, having a bubbly or two in your system does wonders to loosen you up to give the naked strutting about a try. Hakone is home to several sulphuric hotsprings, known for their healing properties, and a visit to an onsen is a must. To be frank, we chose the Hyatt because of the loyalty programme, so we had a free night and a discounted night, otherwise we would have probably gone down the traditional ryokan route. At 1st we thought we may regret it, but once in, all the comfort and service of a top-notch hotel kicked in, and we were thrilled about our decision.

Getting to Hakone is a breeze from Tokyo’s Shinjuku station – just get on the “Romance Car”, a high-speed train that gets you to paradise in slightly more than an hour. Tip: it’s more value for money to take the Romance Car than the bullet train, and you get reserved seats and a direct trip to Odawara station, which is where the hotel’s shuttle bus will pick you up from.

Thereon, it’s about 45 minutes up and up the winding hills of Hakone (or were they mountains? Can’t tell, but they were really high) before reaching the Hyatt.
We were shown to a beautiful and big room, unfortunately it was cloudy throughout, which is common in summer it seems, so no views of Mt Fuji to be had, but a lovely room with a balcony and great bed too. In the room, you will find yukata (like a Japanese bathrobe) that you wear when you visit the onsen but amazingly, I saw many Japanese wearing the yukata during the happy hours at the lounge – quite fun to see them carrying around champagne flutes dressed in what looked like bathrobes! Of course, the 2nd day I was there, I had to do the same 

In fact, don’t be surprised to see them wearing this even at dinner or breakfast. Speaking of which, both nights we were there, we had the most amazing meals for dinner. 1st night was French, and it surpassed our expectations. My hubby ordered a quail for main, and an entire, plumptious quail appeared before him. 2nd night we tried the Japanese restaurant, and that was a fine-dining sushi experience, something like omakase style and we tried melt-in-your-mouth buttery soft slices of raw fish/seafood. Suffice to say, the hotel really has its dinner service perfected to an art. You must make reservations as soon as you check in though, as the hotel isn’t located in an area with other restaurants, your best bet is to dine in, and it’s really good stuff anyway.

I also managed to try the spa at the hotel – had a facial, just before we checked out, heading to the airport, and it was a good thing I did as a last indulgence in Hakone. You can take the “Romance Car” back to Shinjuku and from there, the Narita Express to the airport.

All in all, top marks for the Hyatt, a perfect getaway from the buzziness of Tokyo, keeping the Japanese charm and at the same time, providing all the expected comforts of a top hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YasmeenHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the mountains, with traditional Japanese rooms (which will come across as different for NA travellers)

Love the little touches such as complimentary coffee and tea in the morning in the library area and drinks in the evening (think happy hour). It is a beautiful central location off the lobby.

Service is up to Japanese standards. We were there with our sons and used it as a overnight as we explored the wonderful area, but I could see going back for a couples weekend to enjoy the spa, onsen and just relax (which it appeared that many people were doing)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWeening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#10 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Address: 1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing