We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mountain resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Excellent mountain resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Hakone is a rare find in the entire region as it combines understated, sophisticated design with great service and nearly great facilities.

The rooms are very large by Japanese standards with huge bathrooms, conservatory and bedroom. They have the latest equipment and are nicely decorated. The cleaning of the bathroom could have been better.

The onsite, indoor onsen was great. Unfortunately, the property lacks a gym, which is a serious draw back for a hotel of this standing.

However, the lobby with a great fireplace (and complementary drinks including champagne in the evening) and the fantastic restaurants made up for the lack of better spa (i.e. sauna/steamroom) and gym facilities.

We chose the Japanese restaurant which served impeccably good food and had the highest standard of service I have come across.

Breakfast is also just fantastic.

Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    270
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
363
403
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our room was on the 4th floor, facing towards Mt Fuji. The room itself was huge and elegantly finished, and the bathroom is beautiful, though I never used it because the onsen facilities are great, with all the toiletries you could ask for and a nice big onsen bath to give you plenty of space to yourself. The showers around the edge are well thought out.
There are free soft drinks and coffee/tea in the morning, and free wine/champagne and soft drinks from 4-7pm in the evening. We made good use of these, as did many other guests, but there was plenty of room to sit in the lounge area so it never felt crowded. A waiter even came to inform us when the time was nearly up for a free drink, which was a real surprise. The service here is very good.
We ate dinner twice in the french restaurant as we enjoyed the Hakone beef to share so much. We also had lunch one day in the lounge and it was excellent.
One complaint: there is no free wifi in the room, which as always is annoying when you are paying this price for a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I loved this hotel. The hotel and area where my favorite in Japan. The area is artsy with loads of museums and natural beauty. Museums, hiking in the forest with Mt Fuji as a backdrop is a magnificent experience.

It is like being in an exclusive camp. Everyone walks around the hotel in matching robes. They are worn in the dining area and spa area. So much fun. The Onsen is beautiful and a great experience into this Japanese tradition.

I stayed for three days, but wished I had another day to devote to the area. Enough can't be said about the gracious staff. A perfect experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mt Fuji. Enjoy a massage and facial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
943 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Exceptional resort and a great starting point to our Hakone Loop. Indoor onsen is very clean and not crowded. One drawback is lack of outdoor onsen. We can see topmost part of Mt. Fuji from 5th level of West Wing. We loved the Deluxe Tatami room and will recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my favourite hotel, anywhere in the world. I've been here perhaps times, and long to go back. When living in Tokyo, this was our regular weekend getaway. Its just a 1.5 hour drive away, half of it through the mountains of Hakone, and I loved entering that driveway.
The service is always impeccable, from perfectly attentive staff (many with great English) to little little touches like the handwritten notes in our room always welcoming us back to our mountain home, alongside a local sweet or fresh fruits.
The rooms are beautiful. Tastefully decorated, nicely designed. The lounge area comfortable, and the giant fireplace is great in winter. The onsen is great, and the spa is first class.
The food is of a very high standard, though I would recommend a refresh of the menus. And Hakone itself is a beautiful part of the world.
The only complaint I have with the hotel itself is that the internet access is poor.

No longer living in Tokyo, we can't go as often as we'd like. We returned late 2012 for 4 nights, and at check in, the manager came, concerned that we had not been in about a year, and asking if there was anything he could do to make us happy. Amazing service. Its easy, but makes such a huge difference.

I love this place, and recommend it to everyone who asks me about places to go in Japan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lovely hotel tucked away in the hills of Gora. The rooms are very well equipped with an indoor balcony. The hotel has wonderful spa facilities to get you started with the Japanese Osen experience. Plus, every afternoon (4-7pm), the hotel offers complimentary wines, beers and champagne in the living room for you to enjoy. Bottomless drinks for you to enjoy. It acts as a perfect way to end an stressful day in the Japanese Osen. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Hakone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lohao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The free, one-hour shuttle ride from Odawara Station up the very steep and narrow mountain roads was in itself interesting. The white-gloved driver was very focused and careful. We could tell he took pride in his job! Driving up to the hotel was amazing. Check in was amazing. And the view from our room was past amazing. The room was huge. It had a beautiful sunroom where we enjoyed breakfast and some wonderful late-night desserts. The hotel's "living room" offered free wine, beer and fruit drinks from 5-7. We also enjoyed food from a "grill menu". We had a short BEAUTIFUL walk to the little cog train where we could catch the Ropeway or go down to catch a bus or other train for exploring. Two stops down was the fabulous Hakone Museum of Art, built by genius Okada Mokichi--this is a must-see! We also enjoyed massages in the wonderful spa (after enjoying the wonderful, natural hot spring Onsen). I've never had a massage quite like that. It was truly amazing. The hotel staff was marvelous. The restaurants (French and Japanese) fabulous. Beautiful kimonos were provided to wear around the hotel (many, many guests did such). This truly is a remarkable, quiet, serene, and hidden gem of a hotel. And the views....ah, the views...

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Address: 1320 Gora, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ikyu Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing