We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We came to the Hyatt Regency Hakone after staying at the Park Hyatt Tokyo so we were not sure what to expect. The hotel was gorgeous, the staff were exceptionally welcoming and the room was large and comfortable. The hotel has a shuttle that picks up passengers at only two times from the local station. Call ahead to find out the times if you want to be picked up as reservations are suggested and space is limited. The trip is 45 minutes from the station so don't miss the shuttle. The only trouble with the hotel is that some of the front desk staff don's speak English very well. The hotel has a nice spa with the onsen baths free for guest. The hotel is very relaxing and is aimed at the spa crowd, there is not much to do besides relax at the spa, enjoy the view, or go take a hike through the local town.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view of Fuji
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The room and hotel were excellent however the air conditioning n our room did not work. You would expect for the price we payed that everything would be fully functional. We reported it however when someone came they said to just give it a while to cool down. It didn't. Also they say you have in room wifi which you pay a hefty price for to then discover that it only works in the lobby and lounge area. Apart from this we did enjoy our stay in the hotel, especially the complimentary drinks between 4 - 7.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Hyatt in the Hakone area of Japan, is a hotel type of onsen setting, but possibly one of the best of its type. It benefits from the Hyatt high standard of hotel environment, but in a very understated way, with a minimalist decor in restful neutrals. We had a beautiful corner suite with a partial view of Mt. Fuji. After spending the day hiking in the Hakone area, we'd return to the hotel for a soak in the indoor pool (segregated), fed by a natural hot spring. Then enjoy a cocktail hour in the lobby with complimentary wine. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Tokyo who was looking for a relaxing weekend of hiking and experiencing the Japanese onsens.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyD917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

You would think that going to Hakone is all about experiencing open bath. Unfortunately, this facility doesn't provide that. That would be the only thing I'd long for. The service, staff and food served in each restaurant is wonderful. Well situated in a quiet area in Gora area. I have visited nearly 4 times and I have enjoyed every bit of it. Make sure to try out some free cocktails and champagne in the evening in the lobby!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were there for one night (an overnighter from Tokyo) and were there to see the sights, not for a relaxing spa experience. On the plus side, the hotel is beautiful and well-integrated to its hillside setting. Its a 5 - 10 minute walk to the tram, which is convenient. We tended to use the shuttle (when it was operating) to head into Gora.
The gentleman who checked us in was fantastic. Really aimed to please, carried our bags to our room and gave us a nice overview of the resort and surrounding areas. He helped us several times during our stay, really top notch!
The room was excellent (upgraded room with a mountain view and an inside/outside balcony.
The cocktail hour (limited offerings, but that's fine) included absolutely nothing to nibble on, unless your purchased (e.g. small bowl of potato chips 650JPN, and prices go up from there.) I thought that was a bit inhospitable, because it made it clear that the complimentary cocktail hour was really a way to get people to order expensive appetizers from the restaurant. The wait staff was very focused on taking your food order while you sat. Having said that, the "living room" is fantastic.....high ceiling, great mixture of wood and stone, nice big fireplace. Great place to hang out and read a book.
guests were walking around in their spa - wear, so the place had a nice relaxed and casual feeling.
I think this would be a great place to go for a couple nights for spa treatments, relaxation and a first class experience. But the prices are over-the-top. If you are more into seeing all that this area has to offer, I would try to make a more convenient and more affordable choice, either in Gora or on Lake Ashi.

Overall, I would rather have stayed in a more reasonably-priced and better situated property

Room Tip: mountain view room, hopefully they will give you the complimentary upgrade.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Hyatt Regency Hakone is just a wonderful hotel. On first getting there it was impressive how quiet and relaxing the hotel was. Well-removed from any hustle and bustle, it is a very enjoyable place to stay after spending your day running around the Hakone area.

It is a few min walk off the Togendai-Gora Ropeway/Cablecar system. Get off at Kami-Gora Station from the Tozan cable car. I guess they have a shuttle bus that will pick you up from Gora station, but the Cable car is a lot more fun if you do not mind a few min walk (I did not mind such things). I saw no signs to the hotel from the cable car stop, but just walk down the hill and you cant miss it. Once you get to the hotel you are greeted by kind and helpful people who make check in easy and quick.

The rooms are very, very, very large by Japanese standards. I could see the top of Fuji from mine. The down side of being a little out of the way is that other than hotel restaurants there is nothing within walking distance. This is not a problem, as the hotel has high quality places to eat. I had dinner at their Japanese restaurant, which was very good.

The indoor onsen was wonderful. The hotel went out of its was to help westerners that may be unused to onsen etiquette feel comfortable. In my opinion it would be sad to come all the way to Hakone and not spend a little time in an onsen.

Having stayed at a lot of different hotels in Japan during my travels there, I can highly recommend this wonderful place. I just wish I had stayed longer than one night so I could enjoy it even more. As the only single traveler staying here it seemed (couples every where I looked), it also seems a wonderful place for a romantic trip. Oh well, maybe next time....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is our favorite hotel in Japan. We lived in Tokyo for many years and stayed here 11 times, it was our little getaway.
The staff are wonderful, the atmosphere is amazing and the free evening cocktails make for many a happy evening!
We have eaten in both restaurants but for value for money room service is probably the way forward.
I don't have anything negative to say about the hotel and can only recommend it as a relaxing place away from it all.

Room Tip: The normal double rooms have a 'glimpse view' of Fuji-san. The larger doubles have a view do...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veehopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
481 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#7 of 244 in Hakone-machi
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 244 in Hakone-machi
278 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#5 of 244 in Hakone-machi
153 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#4 of 244 in Hakone-machi
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa

Address: 1320 Gora, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#1 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $389 - $969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ikyu Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Hyatt Regency Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing