We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night with the "Ladies Plan." The plan included a 60 minute massage (you can select body or feet), 1200 check out (regularly 1100), and they gave us a little box of incense when we checked out. The staff were very polite and the rooms were clean. I liked the outfits that were provided as "room wear." You can wear them around the hotel, even when you go to the restaurant. There were little cupcakes in the room and some chilled jello in the fridge for snacks. The massage was so relaxing.
The DINNER!!! Now that was awesome!! We selected the Japanese/Western course and it started off with beautifully arranged appetizers, then followed by an array of delicate and delicious foods on beautiful dishes. The presentation of each dish was awesome. They brought a dessert tray around where you can select what you'd like to have. The breakfast was a buffet with endless choices from fish to bacon with a made to order eggs.
The hot spring baths were relaxing and it also had a sauna. The changing area included soaps, shampoo, face cleanser, toner, moisturizer, brushes, cotton, and toothbrushes. You really don't need to bring anything with you. If I ever go back to Hakone I will definitely stay at this hotel.
It's close to the Hakone-Yumoto Train Station. There is a shuttle bus that takes you up there for 100 yen. You need to tell the driver the name of your hotel and he will announce the hotel before he makes the stop.l This hotel is the first stop. When you get off, you cross the road and there is a sign on the corner. Just start walking down hill on the road and it's on the right side. After we checked out, we walked to the train station because it was all down hill. It took about 10 mins from the hotel.
I really recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Hakone!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaileinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

We arrived from the skyscrapers of Tokyo and this was very different. Most of the guests were Japanese. The room was clean but the decor was a little tired. We had a bedroom and a lounge with a table and tatami mats- and a wooden bath. Our rate included breakfast and dinner. The dinner was spectacular, course after course. (at least 7) there was a personal menu printed with our name on it, which I hope to get translated. Breakfast was the best spread I have seen anywhere, both Japanese and European- dimsum, tempura, sashimi, barbecued fish trolley as well as all the western stuff- and other things too numerous to mention. They provide "loungewear" (cotton pyjamas, Yukata, gold waistcoat thing and slippers) which they tell you you can wear within the hotel. We didn't but most of the Japanese guests did and we wish we had. It would have added to the experience but we were a little unsure of what was expected
It was an easy walk to the station without luggage but a taxi would be better for anything bigger than overnight cases.
So a great contrast with the international hotels in Tokyo and a chef who takes great pride in his job with spectacular results. I felt we had an authentic Japanese experience and would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Its a lil bit out-dated and pricey, but everything else was over the top. First, we'r so glad that we picked Hakone Yumoto for the location, instead of Gora or Lake Ashi, for all the luggages that we had to drag around.
There's a mini bus shuttle, cost 100JPY, with limited space for the luggage, or you can always take taxi.
We booked the cheapest room (western standard style for 3 people, cost around $250/person/night) for only 1 night. The dinner was mind blowing, and the breakfast buffet was superb, much better than what i expected, and im a picky one. The onsen was clean and big. I would recommend to stay 2 nights if money is not the problem. I did not give 5 stars for the lack of information from this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank m1ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, thanks to the helpful staff. We booked in for three days, so on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room. The meals were stunning. We were allocated a waiter with very good English. One of our best Japanese stays.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Duo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My Wife and I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel is located in a quiet area, you can get there with a shuttle bus JPY 100 per person.
The room was slacious with a 2 beds bedroom and a 8-tatami room. There was a large bathroom with a wooden bath and a very nice view. The room was spacious, very clean with all types of amenities and small desserts free of charge.
The meals were included in the room charge and were very nice with lots of dishes albeit not too heavy.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

loves the hotel , the dinner was really great , romantic and delicious too. recommended for couples or going out with girl friends. defeniatly not a place for a bunch of guys since the place have a romantic feel to it but i think a bunch of girls will defeniatly love it. the service was really great even though we are late ( we call first ) but we can still have dinner and also our bags are deliver to our room. the jacuzzi is great the outdoor onsen are spectacular. the breakfast also great . the only think that i don't like is my room bed spread is not as clean as i like( there's one big brown spots in them , i know is clean and i think the spots can't be wash out but i think they should just trow it way and change it to new one next time ) . but everything else is great . the best thing for this hotel i think is the service, the serve cakes in the room fridge and they deliver our bags and the dinner and breakfast is one of the best i got from hotel up till now. if i go back to hakone again i will go here again and stay at the japanese room with a hope that it have better cleanness on the bed spread.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Located about ten minutes' walk from central Hakone-Yumoto, the Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu is a quiet, relaxing onsen/hotel. The rooms alone are unimpressive, but the personalized service we received at the restaurant is why I highly recommend this hotel.

I had a standard Western-style room, which was very mediocre with a weak bed, blah decor, and slightly soiled carpets. The view was nonexistent--blocked by a bamboo fence built around the back of the hotel. The room was small, and we had difficulty finding space for our luggage around the two double beds, tea table, two chairs, and dresser with TV. Bathrooms were clean, though not the most modern.

There is a small gift shop in the lobby. The hotel did not have Internet access in guest rooms. But, they have an excellent and thorough web site, in both English and Japanese.

The onsen is large (no worry of overcrowding), well-lit, and sparkling clean. Very relaxing! There are both indoor and outdoor baths, separate for men and women. Soaking in the tub is a MUST during your stay!!!

But the real highlight of my stay at Maille Coeur was the restaurant, where breakfast and dinner are served (included in room rate). Breakfasts are excellent, with a huge spread of Japanese and Western dishes. Try the aloe--very refreshing and energizing in the morning.

Dinners are artful, creative, and impeccably prepared with the freshest, highest-quality local ingredients. On our first night, a lot of seafood was served, which my sister did not enjoy much. The restaurant manager, Ishida Manabu, picked up on it, and had the chef create a special menu--just for our family--on the second night of our stay. The second night, we got different dishes than other guests that were more suited to my sister's tastes. I was amazed at how accommodating they were. A special menu just for our family is about as personalized as service can get!

Mr. Ishida really enhanced our stay at Maille Coeur, and for his thoughtfulness, I highly recommend Maille Coeur to anyone visiting Hakone!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
481 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#20 of 244 in Hakone-machi
173 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Kajikaso
Hotel Kajikaso
#42 of 244 in Hakone-machi
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#9 of 244 in Hakone-machi
397 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
#41 of 244 in Hakone-machi
92 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Suimeisou
Hakone Suimeisou
#61 of 244 in Hakone-machi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu

Address: 468-1 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $216 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hotellerie Maille Coeur Shougetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing