We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be fool by Hotel website.....Not so near from Yumoto Station”
Review of Hotel Asuka

Hotel Asuka
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Asuka
Ranked #202 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night, book via agoda. From the hotel website, it stated within walking distance from Yumoto Station. When we reached Yomoto Station, it was heavy rain and we were not able to locate Asuka hotel. Checked with people around, not many knew exact location of this hotel. We were misled by 7 eleven shop.....though is the one near the Yomoyo Station but we were told there is'nt any Hotel Asuka around. Then, we visited Hakone Tourist Information Centre, the staff there is so helpful and help us to phone the hotel side. Then, we were asked to wait and hotel to send van to fetch us. Another suprised, the location is actually not near to Yomoto Station.
Then, we were informed by reception to pay extra for addtional 2 kids, eventhough no extra bed provided. Room is big and bed is comfortable. No Wifi......can access internet using lobby internet access.

After hotspring(onsen), we couldnt find any restaurant near this hotel and ended up got to settle our dinner at Hotel Restaurant. It serves buffer dinnere......good but not cheap.

We ended paid USD600++ in this hotel for just only ONE night. Our most expensive hotel stay in Japan. But, I must confess, staffs are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Asuka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

This hotel's service is v. good. The staff is very friendly. The buffet, especially dinner, is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HongKongAlexNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed here just one night (booked via japanhotel.net), whilst quickly visiting the Hokone area. The hotel is about an 8 minute walk from Hakone railway station, directly behind a Seven-Eleven Shop, so the location is convenient. It is a little dated - reminding us of many hotels in the Blue Mountains area near Sydney - but the room (twin beds) was clean and comfortable, had a view back to town (good, but not spectacular) ,and was a little bigger than other hotel rooms we experienced in Japan. The bathroom was small, but toilet and shower (lots of water) worked well. The staff were very friendly and helpful: we arrived early afternoon, and they were willing to look after our suitcases until the later opening time, and suggested where we might visit that afternoon; they also looked after our suitcases the next day, until we returned from the tourist circuit of the area (accurately described by Lonelly Planet as 'you're riding a conveyor belt' - but not-to-be missed); wonderful all-you-can eat buffet dinner and buffet breakfast was included in the price - we were the only non-Japanese, so the Manager looked after us (realising we were not overly familiar with Japanese food), ensuring we knew which soups/condiments/side dishes to eat with each main dish and when best during the meal to eat each dish. The choice included a reasonable number of western-style dishes. Didn't try the onsen in the basement, so can't comment on that. Would certainly stay here again, if revisiting Hakone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 60yoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Nice hotel in Yumoto-Hakone, would rate it a 3-stars hotel. 8 min. to walk from the railway station, getting a little steep at the end.

Very large rooms, the rate includes buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. The food quality was excellent, but not too much selection on the breakfast buffet for western taste.

We enjoyed the spa pool, both indoor and outdoor. Quiet location, friendly service. Not many options to go out in town in the evening, so it is a good thing to have dinner included at the hotel.

I can only recommend this place.

1  Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Misaki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oyakata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank 礼子 児
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel hakone Powell
Hotel hakone Powell
#176 of 244 in Hakone-machi
44 reviews
Oohiradai Onsen
Manten no Hoshi
Manten no Hoshi
#114 of 244 in Hakone-machi
103 reviews
Oohiradai Onsen
Kishunso
Kishunso
#208 of 244 in Hakone-machi
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Tounosawa Quatre Saisons
Tounosawa Quatre Saisons
#115 of 244 in Hakone-machi
69 reviews
Gora Onsen
Shukubo Suirinso
Shukubo Suirinso
#99 of 244 in Hakone-machi
76 reviews
Gora Onsen
Suikokan
Suikokan
#156 of 244 in Hakone-machi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asuka

Address: 341-1 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 244 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $97 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Asuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing