We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of Mount Fuji”
Review of Hakone Ropeway

Hakone Ropeway
Book In Advance
More Info
$520.03*
and up
2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 102 things to do in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glide through the skies in the world’s second-longest cable car, whose 13-passenger gondolas offer breathtaking panoramic views.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great View of Mount Fuji”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ropeway is slightly misnamed, since you are transported in gondola cars holding about 15 people, smoothly riding on a double cable arrangement. You cross over a working sulfur mine on the way to the top. Once on top, there is shopping and places to eat, but the main draw is a commanding view of Fuji, which is magnificent when clear.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    711
    223
    33
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Don't miss this ride”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Included in you Hakone Free Pass it is great value. The views should be spectacular but it was raining and misty when we went but we will certainly come again to do the ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A clear view of Mount Fuji”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am scare of high but I must try this cable car ride. I didn't reject because on the day we took the ride to Owakudani we had a clear view of Mt Fuji.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view of Lake Ashi”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I liked using Hakone 2 days pass. It was a great experience to ride ropeway, mountain bus, mountain train, boat in same day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiromi_weir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The ropeway gives you great all around views of the entire Hakone region. I wish the ride was a little longer, it seems to finish too soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baiju_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Ropeway also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing