We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My friend and I spent one night here in March. We decided to check in after exploring Hakone during the day. Unfortunately, after taking the ship across Lake Ashi, we could not find our way back to the guesthouse for several hours! We asked multiple people and no one seemed to know where it was. Finally, we took a bus back to one of our starting points and finally found the place from there. That aside, the guesthouse itself was very quaint and the girls at the front desk were very nice and gave us recommendations for restaurants in the area. The beds were extremely comfortable and each of us got to use the onsen, which was a nice experience. Breakfast was western style and pretty filling. Overall, very nice guesthouse, but I would probably recommend going straight there from the station and settling in, and only afterwards going to explore Hakone because doing it the other way around made it really difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rimma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    109
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
151
39
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

So thankful that a stay in this property was included with my tour of Japan! Our gracious guests were so wonderful, kind and friendly and made a point to introduce us to them and the facility. The chance to use both the indoor and outdoor hot springs was awesome, relaxing and soothing. The best part is getting into the super comfortable futon type mat with cozy blanket covering. It's also awesome to wear your kimono get into the spirit of the place. There is a lights out curfew at 11pm, but if you've been touring all day and running around you are ready to drop at this time. It's a great spot, good location to tour around and the service is awesome! The breakfast was decent as well, definitely continental, but there are hard boiled eggs, toast, yogurt and fruit, ,definitely enough to get you by. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We found this to be a convenient location. Their idea for the days circular route was good but doesn't include the open air museum which is a must see. Room 7 has nice views. Good info on local restaurants which were all tasty. It was fun to sleep on the floor. However, the people in this place seem to like money a bit much which always makes me feel uncomfortable. The same rooms seem to get sold as guesthouse or youth hostel at different prices depending on how busy they are.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FlashSean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent two weeks in Japan for our honeymoon. What an amazing country. We were lucky enough to spend two nights here at the Fuji-Hakone Guesthouse. What a lovely little place. The staff were wonderful. We had the room with the en-suite which had a small little windowed area to overlook the garden at the back. We were up at 7am enjoying the onsen outside. And then again in the evening after trekking around the area, the best medicine for sore feet. The onsen is amazing and after a few days dashing around Tokyo it was a welcome relaxing few nights. The staff at reception were more than accommodating, we got a map of the town and there was a folder showing all the local restaurants and where they were. The communal area is great, green tea for those that want it. Very cosy. breakfast was great, fresh fruit, yogurt, traditional Japanese food. One breakfast morning one of the members of staff was asking how we were enjoying our travels, she was lovely. When she realised we were on our honeymoon she came back with a little illustrated image of mount fuji she had drawn for us, covered in cherry blossom and wishing us a wonderful honeymoon, another lady met us on our way out and gave me a beautiful purse as a gift. I used it throughout the rest of the honeymoon, it brought a smile to my face every time I took it out of my bag. The people who own this little gem of a place are so accommodating and so nice. Of all the places we stayed in during our two week trip, this was my favourite. It was very traditional and very homely. Thank you very much to the staff who made it such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: If you are lucky to bag the room with the en-suite it is fab. However the communal toilet and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inkykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This guest house was one of the very best parts of my short trip to Japan.

We were first warmly welcomed by the lovely family that runs the guest house. They took time to introduce themselves, explain the ritual of bathing, and showed us to our rooms.

The rooms themselves were clean and quiet, with a small desk, a room heater, a closet, and the coziest tatami mats in the world. I could see it being very romantic with the right company!

The indoor bath is dimly lit, and made of stone. It has a big window at shoulder height that allows the natural light in and emphasizes the earthly feeling of the space. The outer bath is large and surrounded by a bamboo-wood wall, half covered by an awning, half shaded by a tree. Both are very peaceful and well maintained. While we could have fit a few people in at a time, we instead took solo dips (we were all feeling a bit modest!). It felt like heaven floating quietly in the warm mineral water, and I overstayed my time.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast with the other guests. They served coffee and tea with fruit and toasts.

In the neighbourhood there are a few great restaurants (we had dumplings at a little shop down the way) and there is a Lawson convenience store just up the street (so you can go out in your kimono for drunken midnight saki runs)

When I return to Japan I will be certain to stop in Hakone Guest House again. It was a wonderful experience and I wholeheartedly suggest you stay here if you have the choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,996 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,657 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This guest house is hard to find, it lies on the Hakoneura Hwy 138 north of Gora. Best accessed by bus from Odawara. It's in the town of Sengokuhara. I visited as part of an Intrepid tour and found it felt very like a family home. Rooms are traditional and there's a large communal lounge with computers, books about the local area and Koto demonstrations in the evening. Toilets are shared so you have to walk through the communal lounge if you need to go in the night.
Highlight are the onsens, one inside and one outside. You need to book these a day ahead because they are so popular. Sitting in a steaming hot bath when it is sub-zero around you is a great way to start the day. Finally you can't help seeing references to Evangelion. It is a series of futuristic anime movies set in around Hakone and Lake Ashi. They are promoting locations used as a source to get more tourists in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was my 2nd time stay in the same guest house, still felt the overwhelming hospitality and enjoy the convenience of the location. Would like to say "thank you" to all the staff who had helped us with the "police report" on our first day in Japan, though it was a very unpleasant experience, but we still enjoy the trip very much. BTW, the indoor hotspring is great! Will consider 3rd time stay if I am going to Hakone again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fangwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
469 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
940 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
262 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Onsen Guesthouse Hakone Tent
#2 of 30 in Hakone-machi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Property: Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing