We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A romantic delight!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Fuji Hakone Guest House and it was not enough!! We had a beautiful Japanese room in the building with the dining room and despite the thin wall to the next guest room, #8 was a wonderful and quiet room with a lovely and serene view. The staff is lovely and helpful, with great recommendations for dining in town (and speak quite good English). The onsens are nice, and private so you can bathe with your family. We thought breakfast was very nice, and worth the cost. We would absolutely stay at Fuji Hakone GH again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    110
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
151
39
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is located in Hakone where one plans to visit Mt Fiji and an Outlet. The hostel is located a distance away from the main train station but however, most of the map does reflect the location of this hostel. That will mean that people will have little difficulties to locate them. It comes with basic facilities similar to that of other hostel but in having a Japanese style room. We have a big room (at least the biggest we get when we were staying in Japan during our two weeks visit there) where the room come with sink. (Understand that there is only one or two rooms with sink in this hostel.) They have an indoor hot spring (free) and an outdoor hot spring (charges applied). Both required booking. (Should have no issue in booking as each room is given half an hour slot – you select you timing and place the room number on the board.) The room does come with television but not safe deposit box (if you need either of this or both). There is also a cupboard and a Japanese style table. The hotel does not require an elevator as they are all located on the same level. It has a quiet environment for a good night rest. There are a few convenience stores and eateries near to the hostel. (The hostel has a book which indicates the restaurant near to the hostel.) The hostel provides free wifi. They do not use normal electronic key card instead they uses the conversional way of using key with a big key chain. There is a common kitchen and area for the guest to prepare their food as well as a place to eat their meals. The only downside is the heater in the room not warm enough, however we have not tried to adjust it either.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room, as they come with sink and Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros:
- This is a small but a beautiful guest house overlooking a stream.
- The room was very clean
- The staff were very very friendly and helpful.

Cons:
The breakfast was so so
There are only 2 bath rooms for the entire place (7 rooms in total).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we (a coiple) stayed at this Japanese stype (Ryokan) gues house for one night, and wish we had stayed at least one more. located a minute walk from the nearest bus stop (although it takes about an hour for the bus to get from Odawara JR train staiton to the guest house), it a friendly, cosey guest hourse with attentive staff, ready to help with anything. the guest rooms are specious, and slipping on a futon was very relaxing. the onseb (spa) gets its water from the thermal springs in the area. there is indoor onsen (included) and outdoor onsen (extra charge). at night, when the temperature drop close to freezing, its an awesome feeling to bath outdoor in complete privacy.
keep in mind that as in all japanese ryokan, toilets and showers are shared.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. there are rooms in gound floor if you have trouble climbind stairs (only 2 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I hated it. My boyf liked it.

The good: A family run guesthouse with lovely, welcoming and helpful staff. A big room with reasonably comfortable futons. A good location to access and explore Hakone - with beautiful mountain hiking trails on your doorstep.

The bad: Shared loos and shower which you needed to pass the lounge area to access. I couldn't deal with this and it didn't feel hygienic/clean to me. My grotty boyf on the other hand didn't care - so ultimately down to personal preference. Our room was one of two that are situated right next to the lounge, whilst the lounge was never noisy (albeit the hotel wasn't at full occupancy during our stay) it just didn't feel private. The lounge itself was a bit tired and full of unnecessary clutter.

The ok: Breakfast was ok - all you can eat for 850 Yen - toast, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal etc.

This one is definitely down to personal preferences - I'd avoid, my boyf thinks its fine ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsamaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The Fuji Hakone Guest House is an excellent choice to stay while in the area. The family is so welcoming and helpful giving advice on what to see and on the various food options in the surrounding area. The rooms are warm and comfortable and the bath is hedonistic, a pleasure at the end of the day not to be missed!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Walkerstrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is my great honour and pleasure to have a very nice family-like Home stay at Fuji-Hakone Guest House for seven times indeed! Their wonderful professional service made me feel so warm and fabulous! Thanks a lot for your hospitality and kindness that inscribed in my mind a very good memory brimful of joy and happiness!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#13 of 243 in Hakone-machi
472 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#6 of 243 in Hakone-machi
949 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 243 in Hakone-machi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#5 of 243 in Hakone-machi
196 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 243 in Hakone-machi
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Property: Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing