We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good walk from town”

Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu
Book In Advance
More Info
$228.42*
and up
Custom Private Tour in Hakone with Optional Hot Springs Experience
More Info
$1,297.41*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Hakone from Tokyo
More Info
$1,297.41*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Hakone from Yokohama
Ranked #4 of 102 things to do in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A striking red gate along the water designates the entrance to this ancient shrine, perched atop Mt. Komagatake, and reachable by cable car or foot.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good walk from town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took our lunch and ventured up to Hakone Shrine. The walk was delightful and the views beautiful. A special little spot. Disliked the weather the day we were there...wanted so much to see Mt Fuji and it was covered in cloud.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindilu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    470
    131
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hakone Shrine”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had seen the red torii along Lake Ashi from the boat excursion several times on previous trips.
Last year in November, while staying at the Gora Kadan we took a private car to the shrine. The driver was able to drive all the way up to the top where the Hakone Shrine is located so that we would not have to climb up the many stairs. Buses are not allowed to drive up this road. What a beautiful view, both of the stairway, the lake, and the ancient shrine at the top. It was worth the ride. We highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terada1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited here in October 2010. Shrine was not as crowded as Nikko where I had previously visited. We saw a wedding ceremony while we were here. Beautifully situated on the banks of a serene lake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelers9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
1,037 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Shrine in the water”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the iconic Hakone Shrine where one of its landmarks are on the waters of Lake Ashi. It's a great picture opportunity to snap photos of it while on the other side of Motohakone's port.

The main portion of the shrine, however, is on land. If you've been to other Japanese shrines before, it's pretty standard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“从芦之湖观看也不错”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

就在芦之湖旁边,神社不晓得从那里进...所以没有去到!从船上看也不错,
很多人都说只有几棵树...但是建筑物可以看看神社里!
Just next to Lake Ashi, shrines do not know from where to go to feed ... so no! Also good to see from the boat,
Many people say that only a few trees ... but the building can see the shrine!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AhWee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing