We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous lake cruise”

Lake Ashi (Ashinoko)
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.21*
and up
Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo
More Info
$141.62*
and up
Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo
More Info
$118.78*
and up
Mt Fuji Day Trip: Pirate Ship of Lake Ashi, Mt Fuji 5th Station and Gotemba...
Ranked #3 of 102 things to do in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Created 3,000 years ago by a volcanic eruption, this lake is cruised by boats year round and, from its southern edge, offers the view of Mt. Fuji often seen in tourist brochures.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,130 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lake cruise”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

From Owakudani (the still active volcanic area at 1044m high), my wife and I took the Hakone Ropeway's aerial cable car ride down to Lake Ashi where we boarded "Victory", a replica of a pirates ship. As the ship cruised slowly across Lake Ashi, we were enthralled by the rolling mountains around the lake.

It was windy and chilly when we set off on the late afternoon cruise. The topmost deck offered an all-round panoramic view. It was also the most windy and coldest, thanks to the cold spring weather in April. Save for the quiet rumbling from the ship's engines, our winter wear flapped with the cold wind. Couples were huddled together as they braved the cold and watched the scenery rolled by.

As the sun sets, the land mass and waters seemed to merge with one another, differentiated only by the shimmering waters where the sun's reflection hits the water. The lake turned more placid with the fading light while the mountains took on shades of darkening grey.

It was a lovely cruise. After we disembarked, we took a coach to the train station where we boarded a shinkansen back to Tokyo.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank JeffLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    816
    316
    35
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to go fishing”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Clear blue water with fresh air of Hakone can't be beat

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bit of fun”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of those places you have to go see. That said, the boat ride is about as 'touristy' as it comes. 'Pirate boat' packed with people. Don't get me wrong, it was a bit of fun and gave a nice view of the lake. But once is enough I think. Part of the 'Hakoe Free Pass'.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Lake (too tourist)”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Took the river cruise as part of our Hakone Free Pass, probably nothing spectacular from a boat perspective, over-crowded for my ride. The view was good but would not say spectacular but since we are tourist we had to do it right.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank h3hehaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Pirate Boat Ride”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The lake is beautiful - situated in a valley surrounded by wooded hillsides. The pirate boat ride across the lake is fun, but fairly ordinary.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Ashi (Ashinoko) also viewed

 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Lake Ashi (Ashinoko)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing