We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel Hakone
Reviewed May 15, 2013

its okey the hotel, they have petter rabbit all over the hotel and you can stay in the petter rabbit suit.
the only problem is the location is in the middle of nowhere the food is way over price a salad was $25 and it was super small.

enjoy the hotspring that was the best of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to mt fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathalieMaciasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 316 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

A wonderful lake view from our bedroom didn't really make up for the tired state of the room. It was certainly clean and comfortable but the bathroom was badly in need of a major facelift. We only had an overnight stay and were glad we had brought food for our evening meal as otherwise we would have been restricted to the hotel restaurant as it's location is remote if you have no transport. Breakfast was very limited consisting of a small glass of fruit juice, egg and one accompaniment and two slices of toast. The service was excellent and the egg freshly cooked but a very strange set breakfast and disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days with family - and had a great time. The hotel's hot spring was the best part of our stay. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area as well as other cities in Japan. The rooms were very spacious and the view of Mt Fuji from the 4th floor balcony was fantastic.

One big problem was that the restaurant prices were VERY high. Let start with coffee - 650 Yen! Unfortunately our options were very limited as we had to take a 10 minutes bus ride into town to get anything decent. We ended up spending more money (per person, per day) on food/beverages than lodging!

Room Tip: Pack some food with you or buy the Hakone free pass to travel to town as needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

stayed at the Palace Hotel Hakone in late November 2012 , the hotel is a short bus ride to Lake Ashi with its cruse boats and rope way terminal . The outdoor and indoor onsen was a great way to relax after a long day sightseeing . Restaurant was a bit expensive but there are places to eat a short bus ride away . We use our Hakone free pass ($50 ? ) for three days free travel on bus train cruse boats ropeway and cable cars in the area , plus discounts on entry to local attractions . The best of which was the Hakone open air museum , a hillside covered in the most amazing sculptures . The hotel had great views of Fuji and the rooms were well appointed and the staff friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobnrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

On our way from Hakone-Yumoto station to the hotel by bus, I was worried that this hotel was going to be too far from many things and we'd be stuck in one place with nothing to do. Not so. The hotel says that it's around 30 minutes by bus from the station, but in reality it's more like 45-50 minutes. However, this doesn't mean that there's nothing around.

10 minutes by bus is Togendai, the starting point for both the Hakone pirate ship lake cruise and the Hakone ropeway, meaning that some of the key attractions were extremely close. Going in the other direction to Sengoku and Senkyoro-mae, around 5-10 minutes will get you access to a lot of good restaurants, so don't feel like you're stuck at the hotel for food.

The hotel has old-school charm. It is a sprawling building, with natural hot springs and a few restaurants. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel, and it was worth the cost to get a solid meal in our bellies before heading out to do the sightseeing thing. Service was excellent, English was widely spoken, so people coming from abroad shouldn't have any issues. Mt Fuji is visible from the window on a clear day, and it is glorious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great hotel with spa ....in the thermal area of hakone, which includes Mt Fuji.
We had to catch local bus from Odawara station , which was a lot off fun, though time consuming.
Use the hot thermal spa/bath often as free, and really great. Great massages theree too. Local bus stops at hotel and goes all ovr er the area , including Lake Ashi where there are the pirate ships, and also sky gondola up to the volcanic crater.
I also caught the bus the otherw way where i visited the Venetian Glass Museum which was really spectacular and worth the visit.
We had a wonderful stay thee and were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Again, adk for NON smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The room is extra large although We stayed in standard room. It is very clean and tidy as well.

We love the "Onsen" a lot. It has indoor n outdoor and equipped with wonderful facilities.. Shampoos to leg massage machine.. Nice spa ;)

To travel around hakone best to buy Hakone free pass ..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spherezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#20 of 256 in Hakone-machi
276 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hotel Marroad Hakone
Hotel Marroad Hakone
#69 of 256 in Hakone-machi
132 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#33 of 256 in Hakone-machi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#23 of 256 in Hakone-machi
526 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#29 of 256 in Hakone-machi
347 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#8 of 256 in Hakone-machi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Hakone

Address: 1245 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#11 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $174 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palace Hotel Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Hakone Machi
Palace Onsen Hotel Hakone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing