We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Ryokan Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Pros:
1. There is a shuttle bus from the bus stop/main train station
2. It's quiet and tranquil. Good for relaxing
3. It was comfortable sleeping in Japanese style room. Huge.
4. Slippers and Yukata are provided for you to walk around the ryokan
5. Love the public bath...went there 3 times for 1 night stay
6. Good meals. The dinner was not small at all. It started with a starter and ends with dessert. Heavy breakfast too. I can sense that the meals are carefully 'designed'

Cons:
1. Not much things to do at night after dinner. Just watch tv. But I was already tired from the day's tour, so it's fine with me.
2. No internet connections. Luckily I have one mifi with me but the signal only available outside the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devil198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 158 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

We really enjoyed the experience. I agree with other travelers...it was hard to find and we were on foot from the bus stop.

All in all great experience. I loved the dinner. The breakfast is traditional japanese (fish! seaweed!)...It was cooked well, just important to remember this if you are not much of a fish-in-the-morning person.

The onsen was really nice and relaxing.

All in all a nice experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandMinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

DIRECTIONS TO HOTEL:
- The only problem we had with the Onsen Hotel was finding it. So if you are an English speaker staying at Yunohana, please read these directions!
- We bought Hakone "free passes" (not free in cost, but allow you to get on and off almost all transit in the area for the days it's valid, including ropeway, cable car, ferry boat, trains and most buses). We purchased our free passes from the Odawara (sp?) train station before we entered Hakone. When we got into the main town area of Hakone, we transfered to the free-pass bus line - Bus H, toward Hakone-machi.
- Get off of the H line at Ashinoya stop. Then use the pay phone to call the hotel (83-5111 is all you need to dial from the pay phone). They speak English enough to understand "we are at Ashinoya stop". They will send down a shuttle to pick you up. It took about 5-10 minutes for them to find us, and the same to drive back up the mountain to the hotel.

The directions given by the hotel were fine if you don't have the Free Pass (bus line Z? stops right at the onsen, but is not covered with the Free Pass). With the Free Pass, these should help!

The rest of our experience:
We stayed just one day in Hakone, and wished we had longer! This onsen hotel was large, but beautiful and inviting. The baths were simple but nice: each gender-separated side had an indoor and an outdoor bath. It was really cloudy while we were there, but I imagine that the outdoor bath had an amazing view of the mountain valley.

The staff was SO wonderful. They answered about a hundred questions we had about activities in the area, how to get around, and even helped us with our luggage storage and pick-up after a day of sight-seeing.

The best part for us was the food. We had about 15 courses at dinner, each just a small serving of a new taste. Beautiful and gave us a great introduction to Japanese cuisine. And they even had western-style seating, which was great for my parents, who were traveling with us.

I definitely recommend staying at an Onsen, and this one was great for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Loved it here was amazing experience, beautifully clean rooms. The onsen was very clean and the best ive been in. The food was amazing with a huge amount to choose from and you can eat as much as you like. I loved walking around in a kimono too!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munchy28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Bathtub is small but the quality of the hot spring is wonderful. (Milky Onsen) When the sky is clear you can observe beautiful stars. The room is a japanese style room with tatami. The quality of the room is average and you shouldn't inspect every corner of the room because it's obvious that the building is old. However the room has a large window and a view towards the mountains and Sagami bay, so if you're lucky with the weather you will have a beautiful view out of your window. No bed of course, a set of futon will be prepared while you are having the dinner.
We have booked a night with a dinner and a breakfast. Both meals were served in traditional Japanese style. (Kaiseki) It was beautifully decorated and delicately cooked. However the quantity of the meal is probably designed for the slender little Japanese people and not for anyone larger than that so if you are always-hungry person, consider to pack your emergency food in your luggage just in case.
If you are not a fan of Japanese food, this is not your hotel, you should better stay away.
By the way all decorations (flower arrangements, artificial flowers and traditional handcrafts which you find at every corner of the hotel) are done by a talented Okami-san. It's really worth taking a glance at it! All staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happymamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

It was a nice way to end a day of touring Mt Fuji by relaxing in a traditional onsen in Hakone. It was a must to change in a yukata provided by the hotel. Kaiseki dinner was served. After dinner we dipped in the onsen for a few minutes before heading back to our rooms that was already transformed into a bedroom. Futon beds were prepared making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 嚕嚕 黑
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#24 of 245 in Hakone-machi
259 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#36 of 245 in Hakone-machi
147 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#26 of 245 in Hakone-machi
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#10 of 245 in Hakone-machi
257 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Palace Hotel Hakone
Palace Hotel Hakone
#20 of 245 in Hakone-machi
300 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#15 of 245 in Hakone-machi
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel

Address: 93 Ashinoyu, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0523, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Ashinoyu Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 245 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $216 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing